We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOV needs to better manage large ski groups” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Top of the Village Condominiums by Destination Resorts Snowmass

Save Saved
You added Top of the Village Condominiums by Destination Resorts Snowmass to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Top of the Village Condominiums by Destination Resorts Snowmass
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   855 Carriageway, Snowmass Village, CO 81615   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“TOV needs to better manage large ski groups”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were part of a large ski group staying there ourselves and TOV allowed us to use their clubhouse for our group dinner. We respected the right of other groups and individuals to continue using the right side of the lobby, which included the reception and amenities station area.

Another group a minority group posted a sign demanding that folks not use the lobby area and then posted several guards to block folks from other ethnic groups, from using the lobby area. For me this meant that after I used the pool and sauna I simply couldn't get a refreshment upstairs.

This happened in full view of TOV staffers who did nothing to stop this practice.

When I brought this up to TOV staffers they simply shrugged me off.

Ski groups provide a significant source of revenues to these resorts, but it's incumbent that they also provide clear explanations to groups, including ours, as to what our duties and responsibilities are to others so that we can all act respectfully towards one another.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wshoesmith, General Manager at Top of the Village Condominiums by Destination Resorts Snowmass, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Dissapointed820,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback .We welcome guests and groups from all corners of the globe and our nation during the winter season and there are times when these groups overlap. We strive to provide unmatched service without prejudice at all times and when I took your comments to my operational management team they were shocked that this had happened. We will review your comments and our procedures to ensure that we are doing everything that we can to ensure we meet and exceed our guests expectations. I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you and your ski group back personally next winter and should you have any further comments please feel free to reach out to me personally.

Dave Spence
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    23
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

During a family ski holiday in Aspen we decided to book a gold level condo in this complex and were not disappointed. Whilst the location is a tad out of the action as far as shops etc goes it is more than compensated by the easy ski in ski out locale - perfect for keen skiers. Our condo was a 3 bedder with beautiful appointments in the kitchen, bedrooms and bathrooms. Fabulous open fire and great dining room it became our "home away from home". As a privately owned property it had books, games and lovely personal touches like a guest book to make it oh so friendly in its appeal. Our two teenage boys totally loved it - even the friendly fox that came to peek in each night!

Room Tip: Spend the extra on a gold level condo if you can as our friends who opted for the cheaper rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We skied Snowmass for march break and loved it. The mountain is amazing and the access from the condo was perfect.

The free shuttle within Snowmass and to Aspen made travel easy.

The condo was nicely furnished and well kept. Kitchen supplies were a bit limited and would check that next time.

The hot tub was an easy walk and set in beautiful surroundings although needs a bit of updating.

Another perk was a snowshoe trail right beside our door. A nice walk when not skiing.

Will return to Snowmass and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timonium, Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed at the Top of the Village condos on a group ski trip. The condos are up to date and well furnished. They are ski in-ski out as advertised. Snowmass is a great mountain and they are in a good location. The staff is generally helpful and they run an effective shuttle service to the other Snowmass area places such as the mall, restaurants and shops. The kitchen was well equipped. The housekeeping service was adequate. There are two hot tubs and a heated outdoor pool. The one complaint I would have is that they were pretty strict about a 9AM checkout time. When questioned, the staff stated that Snowmass has a 9AM check out time. In my opinion, this does not meet industry standards. I am well traveled and have never encountered a 9AM checkout. When asked, the staff pointed to paperwork requiring this checkout, although they would make an exception if the owner of the condo (each is privately owned) or other guests were not coming. In any case, large hotels with 4PM check in times (that is the condo’s check in) manage to complete housekeeping with more generous check outs. Our group supplied 40+ costumers and we should have been granted an industry standard checkout.

Room Tip: First floor rooms will make a big difference. They are truly ski in - ski out. If you stay on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a week with our daughter, son-in-law and their 4 & 2 yr olds. First ski trip for the little ones. We are from the East Coast. Our family vacation has been a ski trip to the Rockies for 30+ years. TOV ranks among the best properties we have stayed including many at Vail. The staff is top notch. Destination Resorts clearly spends plenty of time on training their staff on customer service. Their free shuttle around the village is great, especially if you have small children. Our 2 br condo had clearly been updated to a high standard. As the saying goes, all of this and true ski in/ski out = PRICELESS. Snowmass ski area is very child friendly, especially the recently added Treehouse facility. One caveat, save yourself a lot of grief and fly into Eagle/Vail. Colorado Mountain Express has first class vans and drivers to ferry you to Snowmass. ASE closes fairly often due to weather plus ypu are on smaller jets which can get cramped on longer flights

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our family stayed at the Top of the Village Condominium over this past spring break for a ski trip. This is a true ski in ski out While my understanding is some rooms are nicer than others, we had rented a "silver" (as opposed to a "gold") three bedroom unit, and we were more than satisfied. The master bedroom had a kind sized bed, with twin beds in the other two rooms (perfect for our four kids), and the common areas were spacious enough and were nice. There was a fire place, and tv's in every room. We ate all of our meals in the unit, and the kitchen had everything we needed, plus there was also a outdoor grill that we used one night. TOV offers a free shuttle that will take you around Snowmass (but not to Aspen or the Airport-an airport shuttle run would be nice, though I can understand a policy of not driving people into Aspen). There are free buses to and from Aspen out of Snowmass, and a cab ride to and from the airport was a little under $40 before tip. The last day our flight was not until 2 pm, as we had booked the trip planning to ski the last morning. TOV's policy is a 9 am check out time (which really is too early), but Dave the manager very nicely worked with our schedule so that we could check out later in the day, and still ski that morning. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnsboro, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the upper trails during our spring break ski trip and loved our unit...the shuttle service made the location...you can ski in and out of your condo and go eat anywhere in Snowmass within five minutes...We stayed in a silver unit and it was well appointed...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Top of the Village Condominiums by Destination Resorts Snowmass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top of the Village Condominiums by Destination Resorts Snowmass

Address: 855 Carriageway, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
Location: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty lodging in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Top of the Village Condominiums by Destination Resorts Snowmass 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering ski in/out convenience and impeccable slopeside views, top of The Village provides the ultimate accommodations for a winter vacation. Located at the top of Snowmass Village and surrounded on three sides by forests and mountains, Top of the Village condominiums reigns as one of the most prestigious ski-in, ski-out lodging options in Aspen/Snowmass. Top of the Village offers some of the largest accommodations in Snowmass with many of the amenities of a fine Colorado resort hotel, including full-service front desk with concierge services, over-night ski tuning and pre-arrival luggage storage. With an extensive network of trails directly outside your door, you can literally ski right onto the slopes in the winter and hike and bike the same trails all summer long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Amex, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Top of the Village Condominiums by Destination Resorts Snowmass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Of The Village Condominiums Hotel Snowmass Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top of the Village Condominiums by Destination Resorts Snowmass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.