We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service & facilities but AVOID NONREFURBISHED units” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aspenwood Condominiums

Save Saved
You added Aspenwood Condominiums to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aspenwood Condominiums
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   600 Carriage Way, Snowmass Village, CO 81615   |  
Hotel amenities
New york, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great service & facilities but AVOID NONREFURBISHED units”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2007

When we arrived we were put in a dingy, moldy studio with shag carpeting & cabinetry that appeared to have been installed in 1970. Very run down. I called to complain, & the next day the Silvertree switched us into a great refurbished unit. Our kitchen was well stocked, it had a clean bathroom, & the bed was extra comfy. My parents were also in a refurbished unit & theirs was very nice as well.

The bellboys, receptionists, concierges, etc. go out of their way to help & get an A+ for service. The hot tub & pool are clean & pretty (they've built them in rock formations), & the slopeside location can't be beat. Just make sure you don't stay in an older unit.

  • Liked — Refurbished units are great, slopeside location, great bellboys & reception
  • Disliked — Maid service is sporadic - they don't come every day & when they do they only change towels...
  • Stayed December 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    3
    6
    0
See reviews for
4
3
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

There is nothing in the information and booking agent does not mention there is no air conditioning. It can get warm and although it cools down at night, some nights it was not that cool. Unit was clean and well furnished.

  • Liked — free wireless internet, size of room, near hiking
  • Disliked — uncomfortably hot some nights and pillows like a rock
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2007

My husband, four year old daughter and myself just returned from a stay here. We had a studio condo on the ground floor in the "L" section, there was no terrace. The condo was a bit larger than I had expected. The decor was nothing to write home about but wasn't horrible either. The kitchen was well equipped and I didn't lack for anything while we were there. Maid service was every other day and they did a fine job. The pool and jacuzzi area were very nice.

The location was fine for us. It wasn't quite a ski in and out but we left our equipment everyday at the mountain and so the walk up from the slopes did not bother us. It was very convenient to the Snowmass Village Mall where we had dinner every evening. The food there isn't anything that will make the next issue of Gourmet, and usually we are foodies, but this was a trade off for us, after a day of skiing and not having to drive we could indulge in another glass of wine, or two, and just walk back to the room.

All in all I would definitely stay here again. If you are just looking for a clean place to crash at night, have a bowl of cereal in the AM and conveniently walk to the slopes for the rest of the day-it's perfect. If you want luxury and a gourmet kitchen to cook in, I might look elsewhere.

  • Liked — Proximity to the slopes
  • Disliked — Difficult internet access
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Place, WA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2006

I'd like to give a rating of 1.5, but that's not an option. We stayed in K4. Lower level on the corner. Right next to construction all week. This did not bother us that much; they are improving things, right? They gave us the wrong keys for the unit at check in. Back to the Silvertree to get a new set of keys. These worked. No parking at the unit. You must unload while parked in a travel lane, then move your car to a series of parking lots that are also for the hotel, convention center and mall. There were about 360 parking spots for all of that. Upper lots 8-13 if you are looking at a map of the area. We initially parked in a spot near our unit. On our 3rd day we were greeted with a bright orange sticker on the car informing us that we were illegally parked. Not seeing a private parking area sign like the ones that are right across the driveway, I was very surprised. Not only this, but the sticker did not come off like a vinyl sticker would. It was a paper sticker and the residue had to be removed with a razor blade. Nitpicky, aren't I? We got our luggage into the unit and it's small, but plenty for us two. A small couch and a regular loveseat in the living room area. A full size Hammond organ is there along with a Brother word processor. Yeah, that's what I thought. I was not informed of any internet access. Dialup is always an option for those who have minutes to burn waiting for pages to load. Aspen is a local call for that. The couch and loveseat were both wornout and dented. Watching a movie one night made my back a little sore from lack of support. The main bed was a queen murphy and the box spring was VERY dirty. The mattress itself was softer than a melted marshmallow. I could not sleep on my back or stomach without waking up sore. Lots of (what appeared to be) clean blankets. Good pillows. Lots of towels in the unit. Three (???) toaster ovens, a regular oven and an older microwave with decent power. Plenty of dishes, but the cookware was old and needed replaced. Nothing nonstick that would be good for scrambled eggs, for example. Dishwasher was noisy, but functional. Soap was provided. An older stereo with large 70's style headphones was in one corner. The TV was of good quality. A combo VCR/DVD player was under the TV. I wish I had known so I could have brought some movies. The cable plugged into the TV did not work until I fiddled with it. The bathroom was tiny. Separate shower/toilet and sink areas. You could not close the door while on the toilet. Bathroom celiings were at about 7 feet tall. Shower head was barely at 5.5 feet. I'm 6'5", so this was a problem. Horrid water pressure because of the low flow shower head. With the water coming out of the main spigot, the drain could not keep up, so the pressure is there. It's just being choked by the low dollar shower head. Overall, a bad experience for lodging. Most of the mall closes at 5 pm during the summer (winter too?). The Village Steakhouse closes for the summer (bummer). The Italian joint was good. Moderate pricing. I paid $26 for grilled swordfish. $6.50 for soup. The Brother's Grille was good. Again, moderately priced. Excellent freshly baked bread and chilled butter. My 12 oz. prime rib was $28.00 which inlcuded a salad with a very good blue cheese dressing. She had lamb and was not impressed. We won't be back to Snowmass unless we can guarantee lodging and see pics of that lodging beforehand.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2006

We had a great stay at the Aspenwood. Our studio and loft condo was furnished in excellent taste and amenities. Clean as a whistle and wonderful service from the management company. We loved the new additions, extra space and new exteriors. Can't wait until next year for ski season again at the Aspenwood. Great Value too!!

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2006

I chose the Aspenwood because I had read that the units were recently renovated. Mine was not. Everything was very dated from the Harvest Gold fridge to the plaid sofas. Also, the bathroom ceiling is barely 7 feet and the shower head is hung at 5 feet. OK if you're a kid but I'd rather not do squats while trying to shower. The 19 inch TV (without DVD player) displays the channel in large letters across the top of the screen and no amount of fiddling would hide the display; the love seat was dented in the middle like a worn-out bed; the fire extinguisher hadn't been checked since summer 2004; and the advertised pool/hot tub is really across the street at a different hotel. Also, getting to the slopes involves quite a hike or a bus. All in all the Aspenwood isn't worth the price.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2004

Just returned from staying at the Aspenwood Condos in Snowmass. On the down side, the condo was dark, very dated, did not feel clean, threadbare sheets, etc. On the plus side, the front desk staff was very friendly and pleasant, offered free internet use and movies to check-out. This place is just really in need of renovations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspenwood Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspenwood Condominiums

Address: 600 Carriage Way, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
Location: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspenwood Condominiums 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ski In Ski Out Deluxe Condos in Snowmass Village. All units personally owned with professional management on site. Come experience the Best in the West. Location Location Location. Our units are located in the very first condo complex above the mall and have easy access to everything. Convenience is ideal for slopeside skiing, shopping, dining, rental shops, and great apres ski as well.We welcome short and long term rentals at discount pricing.The four seasons are all equally enjoyable in Snowmass Village. Sherra and Michael, the owners of six units of varying sizes, will personally welcome you to their homes and will do everything to make your sure your stay is most enjoyable. All units are beautifully furnished, updated and the deluxe ratings are well deserved. No other condos can offer the amenities we do at the most competitive pricing in all of Snowmass. Come enjoy the lifestyle...and join the hundreds of guests who rave about our condos. We want to make you part of our family of satisfied guests, and look forward to seeing you back on many occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Aspenwood Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspenwood Condominiums Hotel Snowmass Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspenwood Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.