We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining on Snowmass Slopes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gwyn's High Alpine Restaurant

Gwyn's High Alpine Restaurant
100 Alpine Springs Lift, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
+1 970-923-5188
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: An on-mountain family tradition for 34 yearsGwyn's High Alpine has consistently been voted North America's best on-mountain restaurant by Ski, Skiing, and Powder Magazine. Vanity Fair writes that Gwyn's is not to be missed when you visit Aspen and Snowmass. For the past 34 years, visitors and locals alike have returned to experience the creative cuisine, with menu items from the Alps to the Pacific Rim. Kick back on the deck with an Angus burger, enjoy a steaming bowl of Brunswick chicken stew in our cafe, or welcome the opportunity to take off your boots, slip on some slippers, and tempt your palate with a three-course meal at Gwyn's. No meal is complete without a bottle of wine from Gwyn and George's wine cellar, which boasts an impressive collection accumulated over the past three decades. No matter which of our many options you choose, we promise exceptional food and service at our family restaurant.The dining room opens at 9 a.m. for breakfast. Lunch seating begins at 11:30 a.m. and ends at 2:30 p.m. Get George's "No Bull" Snow Report and daily specials every morning at 7:30 a.m. on Facebook.
Nyon, Switzerland
1 review
“Fine Dining on Snowmass Slopes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

If you ski in Aspen Snowmass and fancy a special lunch, go to Gwyn's High Alpine Restaurant which offers two eating experiences: self-service and fine dining. The self-service is pretty good: fast and cheerful (our teen daughter and her ski class ate there several times) but the fine dining restaurant is truly on a par with some of the great Zermatt restaurants we had been used to for 30 years. Home-made bread, grilled game or poultry, blackened ahi, yummy pies (and perfectly manageable portions ... not your usual mega super duper "put you off your food" size dishes). Gwyn and her staff are very friendly. You can also kick off your ski boots and slip into a pair of Crocks to relax in while you eat. Great selection of US wines.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    21
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
aspen
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent food for an on-mountain restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

It's a little campy and old fashioned and crowded...but the food is amazing. Esp. the curry bowls and soup. You won't be disappointed. but it does get crowded. when you can sit outside it is best.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing view. Relying on past glories.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Didn't go there this year for the first time in a long time. Always made it a point to stop in for lunch sometime during the ski week. For the last two years, the food has been unimaginative, muddy flavors, lukewarm. Had a hair in one of my dishes, and the server offered nothing. I just stopped eating. Did not think I wanted it replaced from the same pot that had the first hair.

It's a fun location, with great views. But I won't go back. There are too many other places in the area with better food.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best on mountain food anywhere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Expensive lunch but well worth it. Great not having to wait in lines, carry a tray and fight the crowds

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Cafeteria is better place for lunch....wish they still served breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I like the rice bowls, veggies, fruit cups and healthy food they serve. The food is high quality and well prepared, unlike most mountain facilities of burgers, fries or pizza.

I only wish they would do eggs, bacon, toast, etc. like they used to. They would take your order as you went through the line, and the order would be ready by the time you got to the griddle next to check-out. Sometimes you want a quick meal, or have a large group of kids and grandkids, and do not want to go in the fancy sit-down restaurant that is adjoining.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gwyn's High Alpine Restaurant also viewed

Snowmass Village, CO
Snowmass Village, CO
 
Snowmass Village, CO
 

Been to Gwyn's High Alpine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gwyn's High Alpine Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.