We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian in Aspen Snowmass” 4 of 5 stars
Review of IL Poggio

IL Poggio
57 Elbert Ln, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
970-923-4292
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Aspen Snowmass”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Always the best Italian in the area of Aspen and Snowmass...... and service is excellent. We come here every trip to the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    80
    19
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant in Snowmass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Adrian the bartender is the friendliest guy in town and the food and wine is outstanding! They have a great Italian wine list with some out of the ordinary picks. I had the chicken sausage pasta, it was fresh and full of great flavors.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We arrived for dinner without a reservation, and the staff while hesitant at first were able to squeeze us a table. We sat at the bar for a little while at first, order some drinks and appetizers. We had the shrimp appetizer which was delicious. They also gave us some bread which was very good as well. My other half had the special for the evening, Swordfish and absolutely loved it. I had the chicken, it was okay, not the greatest. We also had the cheesecake for dessert. That was amazing! We also had a bottle of wine which was pretty decent as well. The waiter was incredibly nice and definitely knew his stuff. He was very helpful in making our choices. Definitely a must to eat at in Snowmass.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Predictably the best Italian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Regardless of the season, Il Poggio has consistently enjoyable Italian cuisine, a great wine list and a comfortable atmosphere all conveniently located in Snowmass Village. There is no need to go to Aspen and pay much more for pretense, crowds and questionable service. While our pasta entrées were superb and the salads were fresh and delightful, admittedly the mushroom soup could have been a bit more flavorful. Otherwise, our meal was unhurried and delicious. Had we been hungrier, the brick oven baked pizzas looked enticing. Snowmass is an annual destination and we always look forward to dining at Il Poggio.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Best we ate at in area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

In Snowmass for 6 nights. Ate here first and last night. Rarely go back but this restaurant was worth it. Nice setting, friendly people and outstanding food. Fresh, well prepared, decent sized servings. From soups to salads to main dishes, all excellent. Deserts also first class. Steps from Westin and well worth visiting.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL Poggio also viewed

 
Snowmass Village, CO
 

Been to IL Poggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IL Poggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.