We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of IL Poggio

IL Poggio
57 Elbert Ln, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
970-923-4292
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

A good Italian restaurant in Snowmass. Cousy place and good service. Everything we ordered was good: salad, pasta, duck, fish and red meat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    82
    75
    17
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland Ohio
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Stick with the basics and you'll be happy here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We got lucky and were given a table without a reservation. There is a room out front that has a open feel with a small view of the Snowmass Mall. I prefer this setting over the rooms in the back that feel gloomy to me. The front room is more causal and more appropriate for a ski town mall. This is a typical resort location restaurant. You go in with tempered expectations. We loved our dinners and really enjoyed Lilly who was our waitress.. She was very busy but a delight. I wouldn't try anything exotic just simple italian food and I think you'll be satisfied. For dinner we ordered a couple pizzas and gnocchi with veal. Everything was excellent. The homemade gnocchi served with tender veal tips. yum.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very much needed this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I had our flight cancelled and we ended up spending another night in Snowmass. We were happy to be there, but had already mentally "checked out" to go home. We had wanted to try this restaurant, but other commitments had kept us away. So, the night we were "snowed in" we went... and WOW! Amazing service, food, atmosphere (although is was a little loud) and wine! We even found one of our favorites from the Frank Family vineyard! I would definitely recommend this wonderful Italian place! But, make reservations early!!! They book up fast! And save room for dessert!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEVON
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Reservations a must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The food and service were excellent. Sat by a window overlooking Snowmass village. Place was packed after 6:30 PM. If you are a large party make your reservation days in advance.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Trying to be something it's not.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Il Poggio tries to be a high end place, but it would further ahead to just be what it is, a nice place in the Snowmass Mountain Mall.

Atmosphere: The place was packed, almost bordering on uncomfortable.

Service: They are understaffed. The manager paces around like a cat in room full of rocking chairs. Our server was overwhelmed. My water only got refilled once during the whole meal. One of our beer orders was wrong. We weren't even offered coffee at dessert.

Food: The food is just average given the price.

Drinks: Good selection of alcohol, beer, wine, and liquor

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL Poggio also viewed

Snowmass Village, CO
Snowmass Village, CO
 

Been to IL Poggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IL Poggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.