We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but seen better.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Snowmass

Snowmass
130 Kearns Rd, P.O. Box 5566, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
1-800-766-9627
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Hiking, Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A favorite with families, this year-round Aspen resort means biking and hiking in the summer, and downhill and cross-country skiing in the winter.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good but seen better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I have been to a number of resorts in Colorado and this one was good, but not great. The grooming on the mountain seemed to be on a 3 day rotation and the staff at the mountain seemed to be a bit bored and not very helpful. That said, there is a great deal of skiable acreage here & very short lines. Great scenery as well. I think that the owners here need to get lessons from Vail in customer service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    60
    9
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We LOVE Snowmass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We love the skiing at Snowmass. Over 3000 acres of skiing. There is always a part of the mountain that has exceptional snow. Runs are wide and not crowded. Lots of slopeside lodging available for ski-in ski-out convenience. We have come to Snowmass annually for over 15 years and every couple of years go over to Aspen to remind ourselves why we love Snowmass so much.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Nice skiing on the upper mountains, inconvenient logistics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

If staying in Aspen, it's a long bus ride. Add onto that the fact that all the ski rental shops are at the Snowmass Village Mall, not at the Snowmass Base Village, and the day started out extremely confusing logistically for the kids to he to their lessons.

Skking down from the to of the Elk Camp Gondola was pretty boring, but going to the top of Elk Camp is spectacular. Both the vistas and the skiing.

The food, at least at the restaurant at the mid station of the Elk Camp Gondola is massively overpriced and crappy.

It's a large mountain, but certainly not my favorite. Not worth all the hassles.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Such a varied terrain and massive hill for skiers of every ability. Had a great time. Plus, its close enough to three other ski areas if you want to take some time at someplace else. We stayed here for five days and skied Aspen Highlands bowl another day. That was nice too, but we prefer Snowmass.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“City for Ski only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Place exclusive for Ski lover or to recess. All expensive (food, drinks, restaurants, clothes, etc). Good restaurants arround the village and Aspen too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snowmass also viewed

 

Been to Snowmass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snowmass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.