We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful for family ski trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Snowmass

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Viceroy Snowmass to your Saves list
Viceroy Snowmass
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   130 Wood Road, Snowmass Village, CO 81615   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer $100 Resort Credit
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful for family ski trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Loved this place. Excellent skiing right to the hotel on small lift run off main lift.
Kids could ski to the door valets helped take off gear and nice bar for a hot choc right there.
Rooms were everything you want for a family, adjoining to kids room, nice lounge area , excellent bathrooms and small kitchen for a quick breakfast or dinner in if sick of eating out every meal. Also loved the heated ski gear cupboard so gear wasn't draped all over the apartment to dry.
Staff were helpful and friendly (especially drivers) although the ski valets got a bit mixed up with gear at times. Need personal numbered lockable ski holders.
Ski shop had very good quality rental gear.
Would definitely go back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your family ski vacation at the Viceroy Snowmass. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your enjoyment of the hotel amenities and ski-in, ski-out access. We trust that you will have a wonderful new year and will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Happy New Year!

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    80
    40
    16
    11
See reviews for
147
195
16
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Viceroy is an absolutely great place to stay when visiting Snowmass. The rooms offer all comfort you need and are stylish furnished, so you can really feel at home. The hotel is ski in - ski out which is realy great if you can just step out of the hotel and your skies ar waiting for you on the slope side. A ski rental is also located in the hotel, so you can directly rent your skies there.
The hotel offers a real great service, starting from transport services around snowmass (e.g. Mall, shopping, village, lifts) and the usual 5 star services like in-room dining, turn-down service, etc.
The hotel offers also a great heated outdoor pool and hot tub and a fantastic spa - I had one of the best massages of my life there.
There's nothing to miss at the Viceroy - we really appriciate the stylish surrounding and the great service - although we experienced decreasing service level when the hotel filled up with guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us here at the Viceroy Snowmass. I am so happy to hear that you were able to experience all the amenities we have to offer here as well as the treatment you received in the spa. Very pleased to hear that the massage you received was one of the best ever! Have a wonderful 2014.

Warmest Regards,

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our Christmas week stay at the Viceroy was terrific exceeding expectations. We stayed in a 3BR suite for 7nights of very high quality. Well constructed, high end materials and furnishings and quiet. Katrina and Joe at concierge, Dillon at the door, the Four Mountains ski equipment rental team all superb and very serviced minded. Justin and Hugo at the bar great too. Shuttles from the hotel are plentiful...no waiting and free. It is a wildly convenient place to stay and ski with a staff making it hassle free. Snowmass is also phenomenal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
It brings me great pride to hear about your exceptional stay with us over the Christmas holiday and that we exceeded your expectations at the Viceroy Snowmass. Our mission is to create lifelong memories for you and your family and by the sounds of it, my fantastic staff has done just that. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon. Happy New Year!

All the Best,

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We spent Xmas week at the Viceroy and loved Snowmass and this hotel. 5 star all the way. Very friendly staff and excellent service. The room (a one bedroom residence) was nice and had a modern feel, and the kitchenette is a nice amenity. The room comfortably slept four, as the den had a sofa bed and had space for a separate cot.
The hotel is smaller than other places we have stayed on ski trips, which was a positive. Just steps off the elevator to your room, the ski valet, dining etc. And the hotel never felt crowded, though I understand it was at full capacity.
Just a very nice and comfortable hotel.
And we were really impressed with the skiing at Snowmass. In addition to great variety of terrain for all skill levels (particularly intermediate skiers), once you get away from the base there are no crowds. This was the busiest time of year and we came across very few people skiing down most runs. And we never waited more than a few minutes for a chair lift.
The Viceroy has a great ski in/out location just a few hundred feet above a chair lift. And the hotel's ski valet is very convenient and hassle free. Even at peak morning and afternoon times it never felt too crowded or required any waiting.
Already planning our trip back next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We are ecstatic to hear that you chose to spend your Christmas with us here at the Viceroy Snowmass and that you enjoyed your stay so much! You have truly uncovered a secret here with Snowmass ski area and the versatile terrain and lack of lift lines, even over Christmas! We look forward to welcoming you back next year and continuing to create life long memories for you and your family.

Happy New Year!

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The overall quality of this hotels is good. Rooms are clean and nice, restaurants serve fine food, the location is great. However, the following issues spoil the whole stay experience:

1. There is no free self-parking option. You actually have to pay an additional $15/night parking fee if you stay in this hotel. The price is outrageous for a village location: Snowmass Village is no Manhattan! Most importantly, you have no other choice but to give the keys to some valet-stranger... Also, every time you need to get something from your car, you have to wait for a valet to bring the car down and then tip the valet. Even the historic Stanley Hotel in Estes Park, CO provides the option of free self-parking.
2. Staff at the reception desk is just useless. Not only they could not answer basic questions about the hotel amenities (a manager, BTW a nice guy, had to stay behind them and help out), but also they screwed up my receipt making my business-trip reimbursement a pain in the neck (I admit, though, that I was stupid enough not to check if it was correct before coming back home).
3. Minor: all the maids should speak at least basic English. We are not in Spain.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience and to share your constructive feedback regarding your visit to the Viceroy Snowmass. I completely understand your frustrations with the parking situation here in Snowmass Village; unfortunately, we have no other option than to offer our guests valet parking per city ordinance. I appreciate your further feedback as such input enables us to improve the satisfaction of our guests. I trust that we will have another opportunity to create new memories moving forward in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This review is long, but touches on (almost) every aspect of the hotel.

First off, fantastic location, the ski-in element was fantastic! It's run by four mountain sports, they were affordable, knowledgeable, and super-friendly. you come down in the morning and they put your ski boots on, and then you walk right out the door and you're right there on the slope, how convenient!!

Just a 10 minute ride from the airport also, and about 15-20 mins from Aspen

You can tell that management wants the viceroy to be nice, but it falls short due to some of the staff and nickel-and-diming practices in place as well as the lack of amenities and public space.

The hotel bar near the lobby had THE WORST service. EXAMPLE: with only three other people at the bar, I sat down for an evening drink and was waiting at least 10 minutes as I watched him organizing his fruits, wiping down work areas, chit-chatting with other staff members, and typing stuff into the computer before he finally came over to me and put a napkin down as if I had just sat down a minute ago... he saw me from the second I sat down!, to me this is unacceptable, especially because a bar can be a big cash-cow for a hotel if it is staffed properly. I think the careless bartender's name was Hugo. Their selection of local beers was also very limited.

The service in general was mediocre to poor. Some staff members seemed willing to help while others were very lethargic and seemed not to care. The valet situation was confusing because there was a high mandatory nightly fee for it but then they seemed to expect a tip every time they pulled your car up. Also the valet workers were either understaffed or didn't care.
EXAMPLE: I called down at 5:40 for the car to be brought up by 6, I was out front at 6 waiting and when I asked where it was, they asked me for the info again and then got the keys out and went to pull it up. They clearly disregarded my call. This happened twice before I just stopped calling down for the car.

They also include a daily flat fee for a local car service, which seems to be either very fast or very slow, inconsistent would be the word. The maid service was usually incomplete,
EXAMPLE: one night they left a used plate out on the counter and towels on the floor of the bathroom, but put mints on the nightstand and left a jug of water out. Half the days they pulled out the convertible bed, one day they left a pile of sheets and pillows on it, and another day they didn't pull it out or even leave sheets for it

You'll be impressed with the interior design, the colors, materials and textures are very up to date contemporary, and that's what originally catches the eye in photographs. That being said it's almost like they put lipstick on a pig because the architecture is terrible. The indoor facilities themselves are below average for a hotel of this size and price range. public space is virtually non-existent. There is no central "hang out" area that you can crash after a hard day on the slopes and listen to music short of a couple couches next to the bar and some electric-keyboardist that wasn't that good only 10-15 people could hang out in this area at a time. I can't stress enough how lacking and crowded the indoor public space is.

They do put cookies and hot cocoa out on the lobby, which is nice. They also put some ginger bread display out which I can describe as nothing but UNIMPRESSIVE. No christmas tree either (at least that I saw) only one tree outside was decorated with Christmas lights.

Viceroy FAILS in Christmas spirit. Compared to the likes of the St. Regis hotel just a few miles away in Aspen, where they have a scaled ginger bread replica of the hotel with intricate frosting details and a beautifully decorated Christmas tree around every corner.

The pool area is okay, there are a couple covered semi-enclosed pergolas with gas fireplaces and outdoor furniture around, which are nice to relax. The spas are in desperate need of refinishing, I think I left some skin on some of the seats they were so rough. Also, the shape of the spas are very awkward. The pool deck is heated, which is nice but also pretty standard.

The spa was very basic and in the basement. i didn't purchase any spa services. Neither the hotel nor spa has sauna nor steam room, something that is becoming standard in Colorado resorts, and something that I would pay to use.

Overall, it was a good time, but it seemed like every time we turned around, there were more and more mistakes being made by the un-attentive staff

Room Tip: Every room is different, some one bedrooms have two full baths and a tub - room 625 for example, squ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your constructive feedback on your recent visit with us. I apologize that we were not able to fulfill all your expectations as we strive to create the most positive experiences possible. It is only through such input that we can continue to improve so as to ensure the ongoing satisfaction for our guests.
Clearly there were some very basic issues that we fell short on during this visit. I am unhappy with the experience we have created for you and wish to create some way forward to erase these and develop more appropriate memories. I would really appreciate the opportunity to speak with you personally to discuss our shortfalls and glean your perspective on our process improvement. Please reach out to me directly to discuss.

Sincerely,

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anguilla
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Really had a terrific stay on our 3rd Trip to the Viceroy Snowmass - 6 nights in Dec 2013. We stayed in a two bedroom corner room that looked over the pool and up the mountain on one side and Assay Hill - the slope onto which the hotel provides access - on the other. if available worth requesting that view.

The staff at the hotel are all super friendly and helpful including the front desk staff for check in and check out, the concierge staff (we love Deb!!) that can help with anything and everything, and the transportation guys - who are always happy to zip you over to the market and other parts of the village.

The Four Mountain Sports team downstairs are awesome - both for rentals and the general ski valet service they provide. If you haven't stayed at a place with ski valet - you will never want to go back! In the AM you walk down to the toasty boot room to put on your boots and walk right out onto the slopes where your skis are outside waiting for you - more often than not they had our skis on the snow for us already - remembering who we were when we walked into the boot room. We bring out own boots and rent skis each visit - they are super knowledgeable and helpful (especially Ken who was a huge help this visit) - and if you are a decent skier and want to try out different stuff I highly recommend paying for the premium upgrade. The have a terrific selection of stuff and I changed out trying 3 different pairs with their advice for different conditions. Was a totally painless process.

Only disappointments for this trip were:
a) They changed over the downstairs restaurant from Sushi to a new concept with homemade hot dogs - which we thought were good but did not blow us away.
b) We waited a bit longer than we wanted for our shuttle from the Airport (which is included for all guests) due to a mix up - but they rectified it quickly and were extremely apologetic
c) Felt they could time the housekeeping a little better as we saw them more than we wanted - and were out of the room for most of the day - next time we will try to give them specific hours which we did not do this time.

Otherwise 5 stars all the way.

We have decided to splurge to enjoy the truly luxury service that they provide - and never regret it. Having the full blown kitchen helps control our costs a bit as we do all breakfasts in the room -doing a big shop at the great market across the way when we arrive - and a few dinners in as well. There is also the free public transportation bus station just across the street - which is great for going into Aspen (which we did twice) and also over to the other ski areas (we did Highlands Bowl one afternoon).

We are actually working on another trip back for this coming February!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Welcome back again! It is a true testament of our service offerings when we have created a loyal customer base with guests like you. I am delighted to hear that you experienced a truly wonderful ski-in, ski-out vacation with us at the Viceroy Snowmass and that everything from transportation to ski valet services exceeded your expectations! Thank you so much for such a wonderful review, we can’t wait to welcome you back in February.

Happy New Year!

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Snowmass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Snowmass

Address: 130 Wood Road, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Family Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Spa Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Viceroy Snowmass 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viceroy Snowmass is the crown jewel of Snowmass Village, Colorado. Designed by Jean-Michel-Gathy of Denniston International, the resort is environmentally conscious through responsible choices of finishes and materials, and a community leader in green operations and guest service offerings. The resort's rustic sophistication provides exceptional comfort and warmth, for family and friends to gather and create lasting, indelible memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy Snowmass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Snowmass Hotel Snowmass Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Snowmass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.