We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a Kind in Snowmass” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Snowmass

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Viceroy Snowmass to your Saves list
Viceroy Snowmass
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   130 Wood Road, Snowmass Village, CO 81615   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Nights
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Snowmass Village
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of a Kind in Snowmass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at the Viceroy the last weekend Snowmass was open this April and it was an exceptional experience. I was in Snowmass for a Symposium and stayed three nights at the Hotel. Even though the Ski Season was wrapping up, you could not tell by the service and attention to detail I experienced from the staff. I have been at hotels at the end of a long ski season and the staff is ready to close, this was not found at the Viceroy. The restaurants were running, the ski valet, spa were all staffed and extremely attentive. I was renting and had the opportunity to chat with the Ski Staff and gave me updates on the mountain as well local favorite areas, they were incredible and very helpful. I found this with every staff member and it is the small things that make a difference. When the staff stops and says hello or good morning when you pass them you know that they received great training which I appreciate. One quick example, on departure day I ordered room service, it cam within 20 minutes which they had promised and was set-up on the table overlooking the mountain. I noticed within a couple of minutes the server had forgotten the cream for the coffee, before I could call, there was a knock at the door and he was back with the cream. He was apologetic and asked me if he could assist me with anything else. I do not mind if mistakes happen, how well a hotel recovers is what is essential for customer loyalty.

I stayed in one bedroom king with a fireplace and a separate living room. The room was clean and had incredible views of the mountain. This is a ski in/ski out hotel so the rooms are on the upper floor. Our group was split between hotels and everyone who I spoke with that was staying with the Viceroy had rave reviews.

NOTES: Although I was in a one bedroom (over 600 square feet) if you are coming alone or with a spouse the studio rooms are over 425 square feet so plenty of room for 2 people.

The hotel is easy walking distance to the village although they do have shuttle service. if you are there for several nights, walk up to the village and try out Venga Venga.


I would strongly recommend you take a trip up to Snowmass/Aspen area and if you do, take some time and spend it at the Viceroy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review and for taking the time to share your comments with fellow travelers alike. I couldn't be happier to read about the service and attention to detail you experienced and received from all of our staff from start to end of your stay. We trust that we have created lifelong memories for you, and that we will have to pleasure to welcome you back to Snowmass and the Viceroy very soon.

Warmest Regards,

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    73
    31
    12
    10
See reviews for
130
179
15
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Viceroy Snowmass is a first rate property with all the enemities one needs for anything they want to do on either destination vacation or just a long weekend. The staff is first class ensuring that your every need is met. The property and staff are ready to meet every request no matter how large or small. It is perfectly located at the base of Snowmass Mountain with the convenience of ski in, ski out for those days on the mountain. Should anyone in the party decide to take a day off, then there are plenty of options for a day of relaxation on the property, or transportation to the Snowmass Village or Aspen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us here at the Viceroy Snowmass! It brings me great pride to read about your recent experience with us and how much you truly enjoy the amenities of our property whether you are taking a day to relax, or enjoying the slopes of Snowmass Ski Resort. We are eagerly looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to Snowmass and the Viceroy very soon.

Warm Regards,

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you want to ski Snowmass and Highlands, and endure the craziness of Aspen proper mainly at dinnertime, this is where you want to stay. Situated right on the mountain, the Viceroy offers ski-in/ski-out convenience, a fully-equipped ski valet, a world-class health spa, deluxe service, and all the amenities you would expect of a fine resort hotel. Rooms are super-clean, spacious and well-appointed, with plenty of closet space, kitchens, washer/dryers, state-of-the-art flat-panel televisions, and terraces with mountain views. The staff is uniformly attentive and responsive, and, if you need a change of scenery, the shops and restaurants in Aspen are only a half-hour's taxi ride away. The mountain itself is far more varied than Aspen's Ajax, offering ample terrain suitable for all skier levels from novice to double-black expert. I recently returned with my family from our third stay at Viceroy Snowmass and have consistently found it to be the hands-down best American ski resort I've visited.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Welcome back! Thank you for being one of our many loyal guests, we are so happy to hear that you have returned with your family for a third visit and had such wonderful things to say about your stay with us here at the Viceroy Snowmass. I couldn't be more proud of my team for creating lifelong memories for you and your family. I have shared the accolades you have given us to my team and we truly look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

All the Best,

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a top notch property as one would expect. Truly beautiful and everyone on the property went out of their way to be helpful. From the time we checked in, all was taken care of. The bell men took our ski gear and stored it for us in the ski valet, each day they would carry our skis out and all we had to do was step in and go. The sushi at Nest was excellent and unexpected. The one disappointing moment was on Saturday night, we had a very large group and the hotel bar shut it down at 11:00. Seemed early for a weekend, especially when it was packed. We moved it to the lobby and had a good time overall. The hotel provided a driver to take us up to the Snowmass mall, where all the bars and restaurants are, the fire pit on site is an amazing place to sit. We had to catch the free bus to Aspen in the evenings, it was very convenient and easy to do. The room was spacious and had all the amenities and even a fantastic espresso machine. We ate breakfast each morning an it was amazing, I am not a buffet person and I thought it was a great breakfast, totally worth it. Would definitely stay here again, should we venture back to Aspen/Snowmass.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us here at the Viceroy Snowmass, I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds as though you were truly able to experience our property and all that Snowmass Village has to offer while you were here. We trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon to continue making lifelong memories for you and your family.

Best,

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Nicest and most comfortable room I have ever stayed in with upscale and modern bathrooms, kitchens, and appliances. Nice warm fireplaces, washer/dryers, etc. Extremely quiet rooms with silky soft sheets and pillows.

Great ski valet. Makes it so easy for ski in/ski out. Great restaurant and room service. Easy access to base village with constant free shuttles. Nice pool/hot tub scene.

Suggested improvements would be a cozier lobby, expanded exercise room, and better effort to keep pool area clean.

Room Tip: South facing rooms (facing ski mountain) on upper floors have great afternoon sun and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our lovely room amenities, ski valet services and on-site dining options while you were visiting us here at the Viceroy Snowmass. Our ski-in/ski-out accommodations make it so effortless for our guests to enjoy their days on the slopes of Snowmass. We trust that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Had an unbelievable experience staying at Viceroy this winter! This resort is above world class, and beyond expectations. Service from the resort staff is hands down unmatched. Convenience to the slopes and the ski valet service make for an incredible day on the slopes, literally, on the slopes. Johnny on the spot resort staff, pleasant faces everywhere, and helping hands from all at the Viceroy. Amazing apres-ski hot chocolate in the lobby! Accommodations are luxurious and immaculate. Concierge's are extremely helpful and knowledgeable! Rental and gear shop located in the hotel make for easy access to equipment and service for your toys. Snowmass is an incredible mountain, boasting a myriad of terrain and world class skiing conditions. Super close to aspen airport and the Viceroy Mercedes will pick you up in style! I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone...absolutely a wonderful experience. Couldn't ask for a better slopeside ski resort in Colorado.

Room Tip: huge balconies on the pool side 5th floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
It brings me great pleasure to read all of your wonderful comments about you winter trip to the Viceroy Snowmass! Thank you so much for taking the time to write about the outstanding stay you experienced here and for all the wonderful praise you have given our staff. It is our mission to ‘create lifelong memories’ for our guests and we trust that we have done just that. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

All the Best,

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you are looking for luxury, this is the place. The staff is impeccable. I gave the location a 4 star. For our family it would be a 5 star, but not for everyone. We love the location because it is truly ski in/out. Your skis are waiting for you right on the slope. I do realize other people want to go out and stuff, if that is what you are wanting, the location is not great. Snowmass is a funny location and nightlife and stuff is kind of scattered around. I also gave the rooms a 4 star. We cook every night in our condo, the kitchen set up was not great for cooking. Not big enough pans, the pans are not non stick, not enough plates etc.. If you are not going to cook in your room, then it should be 5 stars. If you come and plan to cook and decide to bring your own pans, bring induction ready pans, others will not work. Finally, the price!!! This place is expensive, hence the 3 stars. I will tell you it is worth the price. Great hotel, great staff, awesome ski mountain.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Viceroy Snowmass! It delights me to hear about our great staff making lasting impressions on you and your family as well as how much you enjoyed the Snowmass Ski area. We trust that you will continue to find the value and convenience in our property and will have the pleasure in welcoming you back very soon!

Best,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Snowmass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Snowmass

Address: 130 Wood Road, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Spa Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Green Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Family Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Viceroy Snowmass 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viceroy Snowmass is the crown jewel of Snowmass Village, Colorado. Designed by Jean-Michel-Gathy of Denniston International, the resort is environmentally conscious through responsible choices of finishes and materials, and a community leader in green operations and guest service offerings. The resort's rustic sophistication provides exceptional comfort and warmth, for family and friends to gather and create lasting, indelible memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Viceroy Snowmass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Snowmass Hotel Snowmass Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Snowmass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.