We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of action” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Snowmass

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Viceroy Snowmass to your Saves list
Viceroy Snowmass
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   130 Wood Road, Snowmass Village, CO 81615   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sensational Summer, $150
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Snowmass Village
GreenLeadersGold level
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Full of action”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I was there just having a cocktail at the bar and looking around the facilities of this rather new place in Snowmass, which included a visit to two of the appartments, and I should say I was impressed by the hospitality of all people I met there, as well as for the good taste on the decoration. It has all the features that a ski in and out has to have!

Room Tip: Ask for a view to the ski trails offering also the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I am so happy that you were able to come in and experience our restaurants and view some of our well appointed rooms while on property. We would love to have to opportunity to welcome you to the Viceroy Snowmass for your next visit to the area so that you are able to experience even more of what we have to offer!

All the Best,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    71
    30
    12
    10
See reviews for
128
176
15
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Viceroy is bit off the beaten track, at the bottom of the Snowmass slopes, but easy to navigate. Our room had a fireplace, which was greatly enjoyed after a long day of skiing. The room was specious with clothing washing and dryer, along with a full service kitchenette and a sub zero refrigerator.
They offer shuttle service throughout Snowmass, but walking was easy. The hotel is only a few minutes from the lower village by foot, and the lift from the lower village to the upper village is open till 9 PM. For transportation into Aspen, Aspen offered free bus service, and the lower village bus depot is only about a six-minute walk from the Viceroy.

The hotel offers ski storage on the slopes, and you can purchase your lift tickets at the hotel along with ski rentals. You can both ski out of the hotel, with a lift that connects you to the rest of the ski mountain from the hotel. The slopes end up right at the hotel, and provide skiers with a nice fireside resting area connected to the lower bar/dining facilities. The gym facilities although small, were well maintained, and contain all the modern equipment to keep in shape.

Overall the hotel is very beautiful, and well maintained. The staff members were very courteous, most living the Aspen ski life with working at the hotel as a way to pay the bills. The restaurants offered some of the better food in Snowmass, and they have a very diversified wine list. I was very pleased to see they carried a Tuscan Brunello di Montalcino, which was very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Go higher with the room, as it has much nicer views than the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for writing such a wonderful and informative review about your most recent stay with us here at the Viceroy Snowmass. I am very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed the location of the hotel, the amenities that our property has to offer both in the rooms and onto the slopes, our fabulous restaurants and newly expanded wine list. We trust that we have made life long memories for you and look forward to welcoming you back to the mountains soon!

Warm Regards,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

if you dont like this place is be cause you have a problem . this hotel is the best ,you have all you need to be like a king . service is excellent , food wine and drinks superb !! rooms are #1 ,
and if you have any problem ,just ask for help with management, they will please you all the way until you happy , this is just a paradise , super romantic place to relax,sky,eat, drink and love !!!!
ask front desk about local restaurants to go visit ,they know only the best places !!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
So happy to hear about your recent trip here to the mountains! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay here at the Viceroy Snowmass. I am happy to hear that we have made such a lasting impression on you; we are truly looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
440 helpful votes 440 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Snowmass is a winter resort near Aspen where you go to skiing only. There is no night life or any after ski activities. The resort is amazing to the skiers and the sun is always present no matter the freezing cold. The Viceroy is the best in that little town with the same concept of the Village or in another words is a nice hotel where you sleep at 9:00 pm to awake up early and go to the ski runs. It is a ski in and out right near a lift. It could be better but I believe I am asking too much.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at the Viceroy Snowmass and to give us some of your constructive feedback. I am so sorry to hear that you felt there was a lack of activities to take part in if you chose to not ski while visiting us. I would love the opportunity to have our team reach out to you on your next visit with many of the options that are available outside of the slopes. Please feel free to contact me directly and we look forward to welcoming you back to Snowmass.

All the Best,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We travelled with family and friends with varying ski/boarding abilities. This property was convenient, had excellent service and amenities. Being right on the slopes with ski valet meant that we could take the elevator to ski valet and simply pop on our skis and go. Everyone could ski at their own pace and be back for a swim in the pool as they wanted. My husband even opted out of skiing and just enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the sun enjoying a beautiful Colorado winter!

Service outstanding! My daughters loved the fact that they could leave their bedroom (a mess) as usual and when they came in from skiiing the maid service had folded their clothes and put them in a pile, beds made, fresh towels.....

Bellmen team were wonderful nothing was too much to ask. Scott and the team always ready with a smile and a vehicle to take you where you wanted to go.

Restaurants excellent. Food and atmosphere both superb!

Property is great for family, friends, couples or solo.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the southwest side - this ensures you can enjoy the sun on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I couldn't be happier reading your recent review of the Viceroy Snowmass and hearing about how much you and your family enjoyed their stay! It brings me great pride to know that so many of our outlets, departments and colleagues have made such a lasting impression with your family. We look forward to your swift return and to welcome you back to the Viceroy and the Colorado Rocky Mountains!

All the Best,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have stayed here for 3 years in a row, and we cannot imagine staying anywhere else. The rooms are gorgeous, it is ski-in-ski-out and although on the edge of Snowmass village the hotel has complimentary cars to take you anywhere in Snowmass (such as out to dinner or down to the supermarket to buy groceries). The kitchen is fully-equipped. There is free unlimited WiFi. They have a ski rental outlet within the hotel which is so convenient. I stay here with my children as my husband is not keen on skiing, and I have really appreciated the service - nothing is too much trouble for the staff - any problem I have had they have gone out of their way to help me solve. Just as one example of many, one day I couldn't loosen my son's GoPro camera and they sent up an engineer with an array of screwdrivers who did the job for me. The only negative comment is that the ski valet was more disorganised this year than previous years - for example skis not being where they should have been and taking some time to track down - perhaps one thing (the only thing) that the hotel management should pay attention to. The restaurant is the best in town, but be careful not to blow your budget on their amazing wine collection! Each year I have had a massage in the Spa which I have found fantastic. The Spa area itself is lovely - go down early and enjoy the beautiful peaceful relaxation area before your treatment starts - it really is an oasis. All-in-all this is an expensive hotel, but if you want to spend that much, it certainly does deliver.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Welcome back to the Viceroy and to Snowmass Village! I am so excited that you and your family have returned for another stay with us and I wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. Nothing pleases me more than to know that we have created life long memories for you and your family and we cannot wait to welcome you back very soon!

Best,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed with my husband and my baby during xmas at the Viceroy. We liked it so much that we wanted in fact to extend our visit but the hotel was fully booked. The accommodations were great and ski valet is fantastic. You can really be spoiled! Its true that sometimes the ski valet gets a bit disorganized but it was not something that bothered me, taking into account how convenient this service is. You can practicably leave your room with your socks and be in your skis in 10 min.

We stayed in a suite which is very nice with 2 bedrooms, kitchen and 2 baths. It was very comfortable.

Both front desk managers were excellent and they did their best to try and accommodate our every need. For example, the second night the heat in our room broke down (which is not a big deal because there was the fire place) and everyone (including the electrician manager) was really really helpful. The service was everything you should expect from a front desk manager.

A minor comment I would make is that the concierge personnel, although they are very polite and kind, they are not really trained to provide valuable information. We did not really found helpful neither the suggestions they provided for restaurants nor for excursions.

Also spa was nothing special. The accommodations are nice but its way too pricy and therapists are not great.

Finally, next to the hotel is the treehouse which among other things provides daycare services which are really good. So if you have a toddler you can be assured that your child will have a good time there with a professional team, while you can enjoy for a few hours your ski. Viceroy takes you complementary every day to the treehouse and picks you up. In any case its only a 5 min. walk from the hotel. Viceroy valet takes you also complementary to the super market or pharmacy or to any close distance.

We really enjoyed our stay and we would definitely return back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us and share your thoughts to fellow travelers. I am so pleased to hear that you had such a great experience with our Ski Valet services and other amenities throughout the hotel. We do hope that you are able to come back soon, and we truly look forward to welcoming you back to the Viceroy Snowmass.

Warm Regards,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Snowmass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Snowmass

Address: 130 Wood Road, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Family Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Spa Hotel in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Viceroy Snowmass 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viceroy Snowmass is the crown jewel of Snowmass Village, Colorado. Designed by Jean-Michel-Gathy of Denniston International, the resort is environmentally conscious through responsible choices of finishes and materials, and a community leader in green operations and guest service offerings. The resort's rustic sophistication provides exceptional comfort and warmth, for family and friends to gather and create lasting, indelible memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy Snowmass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Snowmass Hotel Snowmass Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Snowmass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.