We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Snowmass” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Snowmass

Save Saved
You added Viceroy Snowmass to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viceroy Snowmass
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   130 Wood Road, Snowmass Village, CO 81615   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sensational Summer, $150
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Snowmass Village
GreenLeadersGold level
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
363 helpful votes 363 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in Snowmass”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Snowmass is a winter resort near Aspen where you go to skiing only. There is no night life or any after ski activities. The resort is amazing to the skiers and the sun is always present no matter the freezing cold. The Viceroy is the best in that little town with the same concept of the Village or in another words is a nice hotel where you sleep at 9:00 pm to awake up early and go to the ski runs. It is a ski in and out right near a lift. It could be better but I believe I am asking too much.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at the Viceroy Snowmass and to give us some of your constructive feedback. I am so sorry to hear that you felt there was a lack of activities to take part in if you chose to not ski while visiting us. I would love the opportunity to have our team reach out to you on your next visit with many of the options that are available outside of the slopes. Please feel free to contact me directly and we look forward to welcoming you back to Snowmass.

All the Best,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    62
    28
    11
    10
See reviews for
117
166
14
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We travelled with family and friends with varying ski/boarding abilities. This property was convenient, had excellent service and amenities. Being right on the slopes with ski valet meant that we could take the elevator to ski valet and simply pop on our skis and go. Everyone could ski at their own pace and be back for a swim in the pool as they wanted. My husband even opted out of skiing and just enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the sun enjoying a beautiful Colorado winter!

Service outstanding! My daughters loved the fact that they could leave their bedroom (a mess) as usual and when they came in from skiiing the maid service had folded their clothes and put them in a pile, beds made, fresh towels.....

Bellmen team were wonderful nothing was too much to ask. Scott and the team always ready with a smile and a vehicle to take you where you wanted to go.

Restaurants excellent. Food and atmosphere both superb!

Property is great for family, friends, couples or solo.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the southwest side - this ensures you can enjoy the sun on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I couldn't be happier reading your recent review of the Viceroy Snowmass and hearing about how much you and your family enjoyed their stay! It brings me great pride to know that so many of our outlets, departments and colleagues have made such a lasting impression with your family. We look forward to your swift return and to welcome you back to the Viceroy and the Colorado Rocky Mountains!

All the Best,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have stayed here for 3 years in a row, and we cannot imagine staying anywhere else. The rooms are gorgeous, it is ski-in-ski-out and although on the edge of Snowmass village the hotel has complimentary cars to take you anywhere in Snowmass (such as out to dinner or down to the supermarket to buy groceries). The kitchen is fully-equipped. There is free unlimited WiFi. They have a ski rental outlet within the hotel which is so convenient. I stay here with my children as my husband is not keen on skiing, and I have really appreciated the service - nothing is too much trouble for the staff - any problem I have had they have gone out of their way to help me solve. Just as one example of many, one day I couldn't loosen my son's GoPro camera and they sent up an engineer with an array of screwdrivers who did the job for me. The only negative comment is that the ski valet was more disorganised this year than previous years - for example skis not being where they should have been and taking some time to track down - perhaps one thing (the only thing) that the hotel management should pay attention to. The restaurant is the best in town, but be careful not to blow your budget on their amazing wine collection! Each year I have had a massage in the Spa which I have found fantastic. The Spa area itself is lovely - go down early and enjoy the beautiful peaceful relaxation area before your treatment starts - it really is an oasis. All-in-all this is an expensive hotel, but if you want to spend that much, it certainly does deliver.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Welcome back to the Viceroy and to Snowmass Village! I am so excited that you and your family have returned for another stay with us and I wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. Nothing pleases me more than to know that we have created life long memories for you and your family and we cannot wait to welcome you back very soon!

Best,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed with my husband and my baby during xmas at the Viceroy. We liked it so much that we wanted in fact to extend our visit but the hotel was fully booked. The accommodations were great and ski valet is fantastic. You can really be spoiled! Its true that sometimes the ski valet gets a bit disorganized but it was not something that bothered me, taking into account how convenient this service is. You can practicably leave your room with your socks and be in your skis in 10 min.

We stayed in a suite which is very nice with 2 bedrooms, kitchen and 2 baths. It was very comfortable.

Both front desk managers were excellent and they did their best to try and accommodate our every need. For example, the second night the heat in our room broke down (which is not a big deal because there was the fire place) and everyone (including the electrician manager) was really really helpful. The service was everything you should expect from a front desk manager.

A minor comment I would make is that the concierge personnel, although they are very polite and kind, they are not really trained to provide valuable information. We did not really found helpful neither the suggestions they provided for restaurants nor for excursions.

Also spa was nothing special. The accommodations are nice but its way too pricy and therapists are not great.

Finally, next to the hotel is the treehouse which among other things provides daycare services which are really good. So if you have a toddler you can be assured that your child will have a good time there with a professional team, while you can enjoy for a few hours your ski. Viceroy takes you complementary every day to the treehouse and picks you up. In any case its only a 5 min. walk from the hotel. Viceroy valet takes you also complementary to the super market or pharmacy or to any close distance.

We really enjoyed our stay and we would definitely return back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us and share your thoughts to fellow travelers. I am so pleased to hear that you had such a great experience with our Ski Valet services and other amenities throughout the hotel. We do hope that you are able to come back soon, and we truly look forward to welcoming you back to the Viceroy Snowmass.

Warm Regards,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Beautiful location. Very nice and upscale resort. Friendly staff. I got an upgrade and the room was fantastic. I actually got a suite! I was there on the first snow day of the season and the surroundings were gorgeous

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Sounds like you had great timing in your stay with us at the Viceroy Snowmass and the recent new snow we received! Thank you for writing a review about your stay, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed you upgraded suite so much!

All the Best,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband attended a conference here. It was the beginning of December, and there was hardly any snow (not enough for even descent skiing). My young son and I came along, but honestly didn't have much to do in Snowmass. The hotel was very fancy. It's the kind of place that you can't park your car even if you want to. There is someone to help you with everything -- so bring lots of singles for tips. The outdoor pool was heated, but not enough that you'd actually want to take your kid to play in it in the winter. We drove to Aspen and Glenwood Springs in order to have something to do. Overall, it's a nice hotel, but I wouldn't go unless you're going to be able to ski.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us here at the Viceroy Snowmass. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the amenities of our hotel while you were here and that you were able to venture out to Aspen and Glenwood Springs in your quest for adventure. I trust that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future whether it be for a ski trip or perhaps a family vacation in the summer to enjoy all that our area has to offer!

Happy New Year!

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, AU
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed 5 nights on our honeymoon. The room amenities, hotel facilities and restaurant are top-class, but for the money you would expect that. What you do not always receive at this type of hotel is such a consistent high standard of both friendly AND professional service. If I were running a hotel in the USA, and not residing in Australia, I would be headhunting these guys. One story to illustrate. We had to checkout a day early as I fell ill. The concierge team offered to take my wife's rental skis back to the hire store - a competitor to a rental store in the hotel, I should add. A day later, we called our hire store to make sure our gear had been returned. They claimed it hadn't. The Viceroy guys made a return trip to clear up the mess - the gear had been returned promptly by the hotel- and the mistake was subsequently acknowledged by our hire shop. Enough said.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Congratulations on your recent nuptials! What an exciting time for you and your wife, I couldn't be more pleased to know that you spent your honeymoon here with us at the Viceroy Snowmass. I am very proud of my team for exceeding your expectations with the return of your rentals, as well as for providing the “top-class” service that you experienced. I trust that your wife is feeling much better and we look forward to your swift return for another visit to the mountains!

All the best in this new year!

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Viceroy Snowmass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Snowmass

Address: 130 Wood Road, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Family Hotel in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Viceroy Snowmass 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viceroy Snowmass is the crown jewel of Snowmass Village, Colorado. Designed by Jean-Michel-Gathy of Denniston International, the resort is environmentally conscious through responsible choices of finishes and materials, and a community leader in green operations and guest service offerings. The resort's rustic sophistication provides exceptional comfort and warmth, for family and friends to gather and create lasting, indelible memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Viceroy Snowmass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Snowmass Hotel Snowmass Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Snowmass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.