We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for the add on's!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Snowmass

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Viceroy Snowmass to your Saves list
Viceroy Snowmass
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   130 Wood Road, Snowmass Village, CO 81615   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Nights
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Snowmass Village
GreenLeadersGold level
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Watch out for the add on's!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This resort is in a beautiful location right on the ski slopes.
We came to see the fall foliage and got lucky, especially up Maroon Bell's in Aspen.
We were fortunate to get a rate of 112$ per night for a studio but by the time we added tax, an unwarranted resort charge of 15$/night for services we did not need and 15$/night for parking things were beginning to get out of hand. Perhaps the real killer were the prices in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Great if you are rich and it's ski season but perhaps it would have been better to stay in Aspen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive feedback about your most recent visit to the Viceroy Snowmass. I apologize that we were not able to fulfill all your expectations as we strive to create the most positive experiences possible. It is only through such input that we can continue to improve so as to ensure the ongoing satisfaction of our guests. I can assure you that any charges applicable are outlined in our confirmation letter and on our website. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss this further.

Sincerely,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    73
    31
    12
    10
See reviews for
130
179
15
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent the weekend in Snow Mass so we could capture the fall foliage. Apparently there are some great local rates to be had, which are applicable to all residents who have a CO driver's license. We weren't privy to this offer, but I overheard people discussing it and heard the price is very competitive.
We loved the room and were pleasantly surprised by the high end finishes. Slab granite counters in the kitchenette. Nespresso machine. Sub-zero fridge. Gorgeous dishes and silverware. A nice gas fireplace to relax in front of at night. Beautiful mosaic tile in the tub. And the tub was deep and very high end. The beds were extremely comfortable and quality of sleep was sublime.
The staff were all very friendly and outgoing. Valet guys are all amicable and willing to go the extra mile if needed. I give it a 4/5 purely because the hotel prioritized the top dogs first when it came to service, seating, etc. I experienced this a few times: in the lobby, getting room service, getting a table at the restaurant. I'm clearly not a high-roller, so I was occasionally asked if I could wait a moment or two or three while someone 'bigger' than me was catered to. Even if I was first or already in the process of being helped. Not a huge deal in the least, as that's the nature of a hotel of this caliber. But it might be off-putting to some.
I would definitely return and I highly recommend this place, particularly for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and comments from your most recent stay with us here at the Viceroy Snowmass. It sounds like you had a wonderfully appointed room and I am delighted to hear that you were able to truly enjoy it. We hope that you were able to enjoy the amazing scenery and fall foliage while you were here! We look forward to welcoming you back to experience another season in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastham, Ma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Big bed, beautiful studio, gorgeous bathroom fireplace ...amazing view couldn't have asked for a better getaway..just too short restaurant was excellent too, didn't visit the spa or pool but they looked amazing, hotels was exceptional I will be back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
It sounds like you chose a beautiful time of year to come visit us at the Viceroy in Snowmass Village! I am delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy your view and our well appointed rooms. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us, we hope that you can stay longer during your next visit!

Best,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just spent a weekend at the Viceroy Snowmass and wish it could have been longer. Will certainly return.
The design and amenities are incredible. The architecture is on par with other 5-star properties such as Amangani, and you will be in heaven if you are into that mountain-inspired-yet-ultra-modern style. Our suite was gorgeous and the entire hotel was immaculate.
Amazingly, the price was very reasonable for the Aspen area (during low season).
Service was fantastic. Places like this struggle to find the right balance between snobby and casual, but they've got it right here. I generally look like a little raggedy but was treated with courtesy by everyone.
Trying to think of negatives, but am at a loss. Maybe the pool is a little small, and there was no early breakfast option, but really, this place is quite good.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can. They're beautiful and functional. The _25 rooms are really nice and aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your recent stay with us here at the Viceroy Snowmass! I am happy to hear that our well appointed rooms and amenities have made a lasting impression on you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Viceroy, hopefully this time for a longer stay!

All the Best,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The actual hotel property is very nice. It's clean, it's pretty, it's really cool. HOWEVER, as a Colorado native, I'm no stranger to seeing what I call getting the "out-of-town" treatment in these mountain towns. The staff is RUDE, and they will flat out lie to you. After all, what do they care? You're just an out-of-town rube who is there to be "nickel and dimed" into the ground for a bunch of added charges. If you really want a treat, try talking to the rude front desk staff. WOW !! Do yourself a favor - stay at a small operation in Aspen. There are a number of small lodges in Aspen that will treat you like a human.

Room Tip: Go to Aspen
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I am so sorry to hear that your recent stay with us at the Viceroy Snowmass left you feeling like an “out of towner” and that your experience with our front desk staff was less then desired. As a resort location, nearly all of our guests are not from the area so I can assure you any discrepancy in service was just an error on our part.
I want to thank you very much for taking the time to give us your constructive feedback and I apologize that we were not able to fulfill all your expectations as we strive to create the most positive experiences possible. It is only through such input that we can continue to improve so as to ensure the ongoing satisfaction of our guests. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss this further.

Sincerely,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We are hooked on the outstanding service rendered at the Viceroy Snowmass. The service is impeccable! From the moment we arrived the personal attention to our needs from the staff was evident. We arrived late in the evening after our drive in from Denver International. The front desk staff could see that I had a long day and proceeded to expedite my check-in quickly.It took less than five minutes for the check-in to be concluded and our bags were out of car and on the way to the room. The room is very comfortable and well appointed. This is and will be our hotel of choice in Snowmass for many years to come! The Linger Longer rate (3 nights for the price of 2) is awesome! The EightK restaurant's food was exellent. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I am so happy to hear that you are “hooked” on the Viceroy Snowmass! I have shared your comments with my staff and am so proud of them to hear that our level of service has surpassed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Viceroy in the very near future; hopefully you will be able to take further advantage of our upcoming deals for the winter season to check out the newest creations in 8K for breakfast and dinner! Thank you for writing such a wonderful review.

Warm Regards,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed an extra night in Snowmass after finishing the Ragnar Relay and our experience could not have been better! The front desk staff was helpful and courteous and valet was exceptional! They were great about picking us up from our condo and bringing us to the hotel...all of our coolers, bags and gear! Our room was clean and well stocked. The spa was fantastic! It wasn't a huge one but it had a hot plunge to relax before our treatments and the customer service was excellent. My treatment was great and my massage therapist was very sweet. We also ate breakfast at 8K - I recommend the fresh fruit and granola with yogurt - fantastic! We were torn between staying at Little Nell in Aspen or here and we are very glad we stayed at Viceroy. Hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
It delights me to hear that the Viceroy Snowmass has far exceeded your expectations and that you chose to stay an extra night in Snowmass with us! It sounds as though you had a most wonderful and relaxing time during your visit to our spa and a most delicious breakfast in our signature restaurant, 8K. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us! We truly hope to welcome you and your husband back to the Viceroy very soon.

Best,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Snowmass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Snowmass

Address: 130 Wood Road, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Spa Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Family Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Green Hotel in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Viceroy Snowmass 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viceroy Snowmass is the crown jewel of Snowmass Village, Colorado. Designed by Jean-Michel-Gathy of Denniston International, the resort is environmentally conscious through responsible choices of finishes and materials, and a community leader in green operations and guest service offerings. The resort's rustic sophistication provides exceptional comfort and warmth, for family and friends to gather and create lasting, indelible memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy Snowmass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Snowmass Hotel Snowmass Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Snowmass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.