We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Trip Back in Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wyman Hotel and Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Silverton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wyman Hotel and Inn
Save
You added The Wyman Hotel and Inn to your Saves list
1371 Greene Street, Silverton, CO 81433   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A Trip Back in Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Just returned from four day stay at this B&B in Silverton, Co. The building was built in 1902 and it was like stepping back in time. We felt very welcomed from the minute we stepped into the lobby. Lovely furnishings, the Owner Tana and her son James were great! Ceceila was our server for breakfast each morning and always had a smile on her face and was very attentive throughout our meals.

There is an expressive front desk/back bar and a small seating area with a beautiful piano. We enjoyed wine & cheese here in the evenings. Each morning we were treated to a fabulous sit down breakfast in the dining room. Loved that it was quaint only about 6-7 tables. One morning we sat at a large round table with two other couples visiting. Was nice to chat with them and hear about the things they enjoyed in SIlverton and area.

There are fun little stores to shop at, restaurants, bars to enjoy. Many of the shops have many items for sale made in the local area.

Many off road trails for jeeps/ATV's, hiking etc. we also visited a lake just up the road and did some fishing.

We stayed in the Kendall Mountain room which was very nice, large and comfortable. There were 2 beds, plus a day bed and a nice large sitting room with two chairs and the TV. We loved the decor of hotel, especially got a kick out of the ceiling fan in the lobby! Also fun to watch the Durango/Silverton steam trains come in each day.

Would certainly go back to The Wyman again,

Room Tip: Suggest the second floor and only reason is since it is an older building (1902) some of the wood fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    23
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
49
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, OK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Wyman was a very pleasant B&B conveniently located in Silverton. Tana and her son, James were extremely friendly and welcoming. We were in the area to go 4-wheeling on the trails and as of this year, Silverton allows ATV's in town within a certain range. As a result, you are able to park your ATV right in front of the hotel which is extremely convenient. Not all areas of town are available for this. You have the option of a 7:00 or 8:00 breakfast which was quite tasty. There is a 5-6:00 wine & cheese gathering in the front lobby each day that gives you the opportunity to meet other guests. I've not had a lot of experience staying at B&B's, but read up on the hotel ahead of time so there were really no surprises. There are some downsides. It is, after all, an old building with smaller rooms, limited electrical outlets and poor lighting in the bathroom. We didn't spend much time in the room but to sleep & shower, so these issues weren't a big deal for us. The beds are very comfortable Overall, it's like staying at your grandmother's without having to listen to her complain about her health!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Columbine room on 2nd floor accessed by stairs. It has a large window high on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I absolutely love this place. The old time decor is great. The lady is super nice in the lobby. My hotel of choice when in Silverton. Every room has a different them and name. The caboose car outside is really cool. Did not take advantage of the breakfast, but dining room is pretty. Making plans for next year already

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were camping at a local campground when rain mixed with cold temperatures forced us to scour the city for hotels. Apparently everyone in town had the same idea & we spent a frantic half hour searching for a hotel with any vacancy for the night. All the hotels I stopped at (three in total) around 5 o'clock in the afternoon had their staff out of the office. Although they had phone numbers where they could be reached, one staffer ridiculously told me to call back in an hour & a half just to see if they had any vacancies. When we finally came to the Wyman, they had one room left for four. As my husband & I were staying with my in-laws, I was hesitant about the size of the room. When I voiced my concerns, the staff-person let me view the room which was perfect! I immediately booked the room. It was the perfect place to crash after being drenched by the storm. Plus it was lovely to stay in a hotel with such an interesting history. It was easy to see why this hotel was the top-rated in Silverton. And for such an amazing price, we would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We planned to stay one night in Silverton and The Wyman was our choice. Very rustic hotel with lots of history. Everything was in pretty good shape and it was a nice experience. As expected, the rooms are small given the age of the hotel (granted, we did select one of the smallest), but we didn't feel totally cramped either. Breakfast the next morning was outstanding and our interaction with all staff members was pleasurable. Would stay here again if we ever come back through.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen tx
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This old hotel has lots of charm. Breakfast was deliious. Room was clean, but bathroom smelled like mildew, need to change out shower curtain, maybe. The bed spread looked ancient. While I love antiques,I don't want my sheets or bed covers to be from the Woodrow Wilson era. LOL
the young guy that checked us in, had the personality of a gnat. He barely uttered a word even when asked a question. They are supposed to have wine and cheese from 5-6. The kid had the wine behind the counter, even after asking for it he just shrugged and acted like he didnt speak English or any language. I guess good help is hard to find in the mountains.
Would give the place 4 stars if not for the kid checking us in. Would give 5 stars if not for the smelly bathroom and old bed spread.
Will say it was quite and good sleeping.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

After a harrowing, snowy drive over the pass, we chose to stay at the Wyman due to a snow storm. We arrived frayed and bedraggled. We received a warm welcome, hot tea in front of a warm stove with tea and a quilt. Our room was very comfortable so there was no problem settling in for the night, but about 10 pm my husband got sick. Tana got out her medic bag and attended to him with a smile and calmness that was very much appreciated and it was determined that he had altitude sickness. In the morning, I was able to enjoy the delicious breakfast everyone comments about while Tana did a weather and pass check for us and advised us that we had two hours to get over the pass back to Durango due to another snow storm expected. We regretted to leave because it was cozy there with beautiful scenery, just the kind of place you want to be in a snow storm, but my husband needed to get to a lower altitude. We enjoyed the "over the top" hospitality, cleanliness of everything, and the charmingness. Would love to go back and stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wyman Hotel and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyman Hotel and Inn

Address: 1371 Greene Street, Silverton, CO 81433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Silverton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel & Inn was built in 1902. We provide just the right blend of modern amenities and still maintain the Victorian decor one would expect in a hotel in Silverton,Colorado. One of our special rooms is an authentic caboose situated in a large patio area that is just right for honeymooners and those celebrating an anniversary. Our property staff is eager to make your vacation in the beautiful San Juan Mountains a vacation to remember. We hope you will consider a stay at our beautiful Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wyman Hotel Silverton
Wyman Hotel The

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wyman Hotel and Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.