We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“at first a little apprehensive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Hundred Gold Mine Tour

Old Hundred Gold Mine Tour
721 County Road 4, Silverton, CO 81433
(970) 387-5444
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 things to do in Silverton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Durango, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“at first a little apprehensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When I first decided I wanted to take the tour, well honestly I was a little creeped out about going in a cave and being closed in. Yikes! But we all really had a great time and it was worth the nominal entrance fee charged. The guide was very professional and made me feel safe.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    28
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Fun and Educational Tour for the Entire Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just a few minutes drive north of Silverton on State Hwy 110, then up Cunningham gulch is the best mine tour in the Rockies. My family and I have gone to this tour several times over the years. The tour guides are ex-miners (or decendents of ex-miners) who worked in the mines in the area. Some worked at the Old Hundred itself. Each guide provides their own perspective in addition to general historical and fun information about the mine and historical mining in the area. The location is intriguing and beautiful - sitting high up in the canyon. The tours are conducted all throughout the summer - the best time to visit. You can pan for gold while waiting for your tour to begin - kids love this!

Also, be sure to look waaaaaay up the mountain from the mouth of the mine to catch a glimpse of the old boarding house used by the miners - you'll be amazed!

This is a must-see attraction if you visit Silverton.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fun, Informative tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Visited recently with my family. We all enjoyed the tour, not too long, not too short . Informative and interesting, I would recommend for any age group. The gentleman who conducted the tour actually worked in the mine.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Guide knew his stuff -- chilly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Fun and informative both. You ride the mine ore-carts (on rails) into the mountain. This was a working mine not so terribly long ago and the mine tunnels are very extensive. You will see less than one tenth of the mine, but that is enough.

Our guide was extremely knowledgeable, being a former miner himself. Lots of information, lots of questions and answers. What a dangerous occupation mining was -- and is. The price of admission is very fair for the tour you get.

Two warnings: first, they will give you a helmet. You REALLY need that helmet in these low mine tunnels. Second, the temperature inside the mine is a year-round constant number which is somewhere between 40 and 45 degrees Fahrenheit -- be prepared for the cold.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very interesting experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

What an interesting and unique activity to do while in Silverton. Although I am not sure how I feel about large scale mining of the San Juan's. I loved the history, the really amazing experience of literally being inside a mountain, the tour guide was fun and knowledgable & riding in the mine cart is fun! Just watch out for Tommyknockers!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Hundred Gold Mine Tour also viewed

 

Been to Old Hundred Gold Mine Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Hundred Gold Mine Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.