We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Informative tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Hundred Gold Mine Tour

Old Hundred Gold Mine Tour
721 County Road 4, Silverton, CO 81433
(970) 387-5444
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 things to do in Silverton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fun, Informative tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Visited recently with my family. We all enjoyed the tour, not too long, not too short . Informative and interesting, I would recommend for any age group. The gentleman who conducted the tour actually worked in the mine.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    28
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Guide knew his stuff -- chilly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Fun and informative both. You ride the mine ore-carts (on rails) into the mountain. This was a working mine not so terribly long ago and the mine tunnels are very extensive. You will see less than one tenth of the mine, but that is enough.

Our guide was extremely knowledgeable, being a former miner himself. Lots of information, lots of questions and answers. What a dangerous occupation mining was -- and is. The price of admission is very fair for the tour you get.

Two warnings: first, they will give you a helmet. You REALLY need that helmet in these low mine tunnels. Second, the temperature inside the mine is a year-round constant number which is somewhere between 40 and 45 degrees Fahrenheit -- be prepared for the cold.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very interesting experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

What an interesting and unique activity to do while in Silverton. Although I am not sure how I feel about large scale mining of the San Juan's. I loved the history, the really amazing experience of literally being inside a mountain, the tour guide was fun and knowledgable & riding in the mine cart is fun! Just watch out for Tommyknockers!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Great guide, really fun and educational.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a lot of fun, especially if there are kids in your tour group.

You ride a tram deep into Galena Mountain, then your guide takes you around demonstrating various equipment and telling you about the history of the mine and mining in general.

We had seen much about mining in local museums, but our guide really brought it to life. Fortunately, there were some kids of various ages on our tour and our guide got them involved in demonstrations. That really made it fun for everyone. Our guide had a great sense of humor.

We recommend doing this. It is only about an hour and worth the time and low cost.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great fun and very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I saw a brochure for this tour while exploring Durango and Silverton, Colorado. This mine is not currently in operation. This one hour tour is led by miners who used to work there, so you get a real perspective on the daily workings underground. You ride a train about a third of a mile into the mine and then walk to various parts of the mine, where the miners give an historical and interesting tour of the mine and show and demonstrate equipment used in mining the gold. This is an easy, flat walk. Rainslickers and hard hats are furnished.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Hundred Gold Mine Tour also viewed

 

Been to Old Hundred Gold Mine Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Hundred Gold Mine Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.