We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well cooked steaks!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mint Steakhouse Restaurant

The Mint Steakhouse Restaurant
347 Blue River Parkway, Silverthorne, CO 80498
970 468 5247
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 27 restaurants in Silverthorne
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner
Goleen, Ireland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Well cooked steaks!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We've been visiting this "cook your own steak" restaurant annually for well over 20 years. I'm not sure why we keep going back - except that the steaks are always so well cooked! The meat is ridiculously expensive, as are the sides - which rarely arrive at the right time. The surroundings are pretty basic and the service haphazard. You need to watch your check very carefully as it often contains items you haven't ordered, and - to be fair - quite often doesn't contain items which you have!! The place has atmosphere, and tradition is tradition, but it really doesn't offer anything approaching value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    20
    31
    12
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I would rather someone else cook for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This place was ok. The sides were good and the service ok ( I use the word service loosely as you really kind of get all your own steak, your own salad, the wait staff gets you drinks, sides and your bill). The meat was good, and they like you to compare their prices to that of other steakhouses and find that you get a better value there, but the catch is that YOU COOK IT YOURSELF. The meat was good but I think next time we will look for a place where you dont have to stand around a hot grill in a little room around other restaurant patrons cooking your own food. It reminded me more of a campfire than a restaurant but intead of hot dogs and smores, you are grilling shrimp and filet mignon. Not sure we would return, but they kids found it pretty cool.(then again, they are not the ones who had to cook!)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“check your bill before paying”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We recently ate at The Mint after an afternoon of outlet shopping in Silverthorne. We had eaten there once before so we knew what to expect. You choose your cut of steak and grill it yourself. This was fun for our kids, but I would prefer to let the professionals prepare my dinner. I chose ribeye and have had much better at home and other restaurants. The steak fries were fantastic and the salad bar while simple was fresh. The wait staff was very friendly and informative, but busy and spread thin. One person in our group ordered dessert, but we discovered the next day while reviewing the receipt we were charged for two desserts. We should have looked at the receipt closer before we left the restaurant. Dress light or in layers because the restaurant is very hot even when you are not standing over the grill area. You'll be uncomfortable wearing a sweater.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good meat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Our family loves this place,it's the second year we come here and still good.You pick the meat and cook it your self on large grill, the steak will be as good as you will cook it,there are no complains about badly cooked steak.The meat is great and sides good too,I had baked potato and steamed a sparagus couldn't complain.Will come back next year defenantly.The waitress was super nice gave us some extras for free.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rough and Ready”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Rough and Ready. No fine dining here. Good cuts of meat but little in the way of veggies to go with the meat. A good salad bar to start, you chose your steak of fish and bbq it yourself on a large grill. Nothing felt very clean or sanitary. The tables, cutlery and plates all felt greasy. The toilets, they may have been trying to be trendy but a curtain instead of a door in the ladies. Not good. Nothing special and falling very short of the standard of a couple of years ago.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mint Steakhouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Mint Steakhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mint Steakhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.