We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The views cannot be compared!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Somoto Canyon

Somoto Canyon
Carretera Somoto - Espino. Km 230, Nicaragua
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Canyons, Outdoors
Attraction details
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The views cannot be compared!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Somoto canyon is one of the most gorgeous places I've ever been. We had a tour guide take us up river via canoe and tube and it was one of the most relaxing experiences. The canyon on either side of the river went taller than some sky scrapers. The water is cold but no more so than a spring. At the end is a water fall and ledges for people to jump off. Bring a water proof camera!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    12
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome off the beaten track beautiful canyon guided by a local and staying with his welcoming family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

The somoto canyon is definitely worth going: vast views, walking, climbing and swimming along the river with a local guide. We did the long tour (5-6 hrs): didnt meet anyone on the whole tour. Our guide was very relaxed, a good laugh and knowledgeable, and we could borrow old shoes from him as youre in and out of the water constantly. Also important for us (as two girls) was the fact that we felt very comfortable with him as we were in bathing clothes most of the day. His name is Bayardo Soriano (86157953), and he has a small separate house where you can sleep (50crd pppn) - very very basic - and his family cooked up a good local meal. The family was very nice and welcoming and we had a good night (take your own drinks & snacks if you want some as theres nothing around). Highly recommendable! Just grab the bus from Somoto to the canyon and ask for Bayardo!
P.s. Theres only 8 certified guides so be sure to ask others for their certification.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Salinas, Rivas, Nicaragua
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing view, mellow float with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I went on the canyon float trip with a group of 8 friends. It was beautiful scenery and a mellow little trip. The water was a bit chilly, but nothing a little flor de cana cant fix. Our guides were friendly and they supplied snacks at the end of the float trip.

There were some fun cliff jumps down into the canyon. Mostly ranging between 5-10 meters. There is a larger one upwards of 20 meters.

If i would to do it again, I would pick a time when he water is warmer and the level is a bit higher. Still a good time with friends. Bring lots of rum!!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a cool adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It was just our family (two adults, two young children) and our local guide who was excellent. We started the canyon tour first thing in the morning (8:00 am) on Christmas Day so we had the place to ourselves until the very end. Tour included a very delicious lunch at a private house. In the afternoon, we arranged for a mountain hike with horses (again with our same tour guide) in a small village about 45 minutes away. The hike ends at the top of one of the mountains where you can see Somoto as well as the northern mountains that lead into Honduras. The canyon tour took three hours and the horseback ride took another 2 - 3 hours. Fee for entire day was $30 per person. Income is split between the guide (who grew up in the canyon) and the various other families who own the land to access the places we visited.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Somoto canyon was fun and it's quite interesting but I wouldn't travel all the way there just to see it. I live in Northern California and we have much more impressive and beautiful landscapes to see. That said, our guide (Ramon) was great (he's listed in the LP guide) and the canyon is pretty cool. I'm in good shape but with a bad knee and some of the bouldering was taxing on it. The swimming part is easy and as long as you are in any kind of reasonable shape, you'll have a good time.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Somoto Canyon also viewed

Esteli, Esteli Department
Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
 
Leon, Leon Department
Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe
 

Been to Somoto Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somoto Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.