We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the personal service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Saint Augustine Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Saint Augustine Beach House to your Saves list
The Saint Augustine Beach House
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   10 Vilano Rd., Vilano Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Savannah, TN
2 reviews
“Love the personal service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed five nights. The room was very nice, the bed was sooo comfortable. Room was cleaned everyday, fresh towels every day. The staff really makes this one of the best places to stay. Because it only has 16 rooms, they are able to give each guest personal attention and service. They offered to help take our luggage to the room, brought brochures and restaurant recommendations to our room, brought beach chairs and towels for us to use. Very nice and helpful. The hotel is on the beach, but if you are looking for sparkling white sands, you will not find them on Vilano Beach. The beach is made of crushed shells, and is somewhat difficult to walk on barefoot. But we were so busy taking in the sites of the city, we didn't spend much time on the beach. The hotel is only a few minutes from all the attractions, and we enjoyed every one of them. I would recommend this hotel for couples, families, and it is pet friendly. We have never been treated so well.

Room Tip: Room 206 is on the north end of the hotel and has an extra view from the end window. Also very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
From our entire staff, many thanks! We consider our guests VIP's who deserve the very best service and attention, and it is so good to hear that you felt welcome and comfortable during your stay. We are always looking for ways to assist and help make your stay the perfect beach getaway. Please plan to return soon - and many thanks for your very gracious comments. Kind regards from all of us here at The Beach House...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    45
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
73
137
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatsworth, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We recently stayed for several days at the St. Augusting Beach House. We payed extra to stay on the 3rd floor but soon found out that probably wasn't the best idea. There is NO ELEVATOR at this hotel. We had to carry our luggage up and down. Also, we had to contend with several bugs in our room. We had several small bugs on top of our bed one night, and several flying insects were in the room for the entirety of our stay. This is definitely not acceptable at the room rate that we payed during our stay. Very disappointed and will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Physically challenged people should use 1st floor. No elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We are truly sorry you were not aware that The Beach House does not have an elevator. We do try to move folks to other floors if there are concerns about the stairs - but that is not always possible. We also try to offer to help with bags, and we apologize that you did not receive this assistance. We're not sure what bugs you had in the room - but are guessing that it was the blind mosquitoes which visit in large numbers every spring for a week or so. They come in huge swarms, so getting rid of all of them is truly a challenge. They don't bite - but they are certainly not welcome visitors here at the beach! We take great pride in checking our guestrooms very carefully before our guests arrive - and we thank you for bringing these items to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-burg Ky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

After reading reviews of Saint Augustine Hotels we decided to stay at SABH. We were not disappointed with our choice. When we arrived my wife immediately loved the quaint appearance. Our first impression with the personnel let us know the staff was there to please. The room was well furnished,sizable, and very clean with everything you needed from kitchen cabinets, sink,couch, dinning table, 50 inch flat screen, and a king size bed. All ocean views with, out the door access to the beach. All staff members were so friendly and personable we felt as though we were staying with family (the good side of the family). We left an item in our room of some value. They were trying to contact us before we departed from town without luck. When I called them they had the item and were prepared to ship it UPS immediately. For that we were also grateful. From the sweet cleaning lady (whom I didn't get her name) to Dillon, Cassie, and Paul (with whom we dealt with) to the location on the beach we couldn't have been more pleased. We will be going back.

Room Tip: The rooms were not super fancy but were very much to our liking. There are three flights of steps f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
From the entire staff here at The Beach House... many thanks. It was so nice of you to mention our staff by name - as we all want you to feel completely welcome and at home with us! Love your comment about feeling like family (the good side)!! We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Regards and many thanks from your 'Beach House family'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alachua, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at SABH for two nights recently. The room was large, pretty, very clean. The furnishings are nice. The wifi worked great. The view, even on the ground floor, was gorgeous. It was very quiet. The staff are all super-nice and friendly and helpful. The little deck was private and the railing was safe for dogs. Although there were other dogs in residence, we hardly saw them at all. (I think we were right next door to FloridaK9-Mom). The beach is wonderful- not very crowded- we found a shark tooth there! There is at least one dog-friendly restaurant within walking distance (Beaches) and our dog was treated like royalty there. We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: We were in 105. There is a ramp- one of our dogs has three legs- so that was perfect. All rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you so much for a 'perfect review' - we do love to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you plan to return for another visit at The Beach House. We do our best to make sure our guests - and their pets - feel welcome and at home. We want to be the place you choose when you want to spend a few days at the beach just enjoying the views and some down time on beautiful Vilano Beach. Thanks again - and we look forward to welcoming you back for another visit soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnesville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went to St. Augustine for the Alan Jackson concert on May 17 and were only able to stay one night but really wanted to stay on the beach. In searching for oceanfront hotels, this one was rated so highly on Trip Advisor that we decided to give it a try. Well, we didn't go wrong! The staff both evening and the next morning were so helpful! The location was absolutely perfect for ocean views and the beach access was right outside the hotel! Besides that, the room was outstanding. It was not designer-decorated but was very light and airy feeling. We had lots of room and if you are staying for several days, the kitchenette would be a perfect addition to your stay. The continental breakfast was standard fare but plenty to satisfy. Our only complaint was that we didn't have longer to stay!! If I ever get an opportunity to go back, this would be my first choice of lodging!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Many thanks! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel - and the concert! We appreciate your comments and agree that our location is 'perfect' - right on the beach and still close to all the great events in Saint Augustine. We too hope that your next visit is soon - and that you'll be able to stay longer next time. The very best compliment we can receive is to know that The Beach House would be your first choice for lodging on your next visit... Regards from all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were looking for a place in Saint Augustine to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary where we could also take our two Golden Retriever mixes. Based on the reviews of The Saint Augustine Beach House, I booked our long weekend May 17th-20th. Wow!! We LOVED it! Truly a dog-friendly place! We stayed on the first floor in unit 104. It was very nice with tile floors, king bed, a couch, counter height table and chairs, flat screen tv, bowed shower curtain rod (it's the little things :)) fridge, microwave, coffee maker and toaster. It made it easy to have breakfast and lunch on our balcony. We still had a view of the ocean and of course the awesome sunrises! To be able to enjoy a cup of coffee while watching the sun rise over the ocean is, to me, one of life's great pleasures! The staff was most friendly and accomodating.( I appologize I don't know any of your names.) There is a Publix within walking distance, which was very convenient! We ventured to the Historic Downtown area which is a must see! The shops, the fort, the San Sebastian winery, and above all the Pirate Museum! It was our first visit to Saint Augustine and we can't wait to go back and we will definitely be staying at "The Beach House" again!

Room Tip: If you are bringing your pet, the first floor is very convenient, though the second and third floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Congratulations on an amazing 21 years together!! We are so happy you chose to celebrate at The Beach House - and it's great to hear it was a wonderful occasion for you - and for your dogs! It is a convenient location - and the sunrises over the ocean are amazing... We look forward to you next visit and thank you for your very kind review. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Clean. Main thing this place is clean. And they allow pets! But there are NO pet smells, no air freshener is sprayed to make me "think" it's clean, i mean they really truly take care of this place kind of cleaning. It is a great getaway, the kitchenettes are perfect for a small family or just 2. As for the staff, everyone is friendly and super helpful, and will give you anything you need if you just ask. Just an amazing place taken care of by amazing people. This is our destination choice for getaways to the beach from here on out. You must stay here if you want super awesome beach access, want to bring your pets, and have a nice place to hang with family and friends.

Room Tip: All rooms are beach front view, they usually save the first floor for people with pets. It is an op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
We have shared with our housekeeping staff your comments about the rooms - they work very hard and take pride in delivering to every guest the cleanest and most comfortable possible room! Thanks for taking time to share your experience - we are happy to know you felt at home and will make The Beach House your 'destination of choice' - we certainly appreciate that type of !! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon - Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Saint Augustine Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Augustine Beach House

Address: 10 Vilano Rd., Vilano Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Saint Augustine Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the Atlantic from your private oceanfront balcony. Hotel features 16 pet friendly, newly remodeled guest rooms with kitchenette. Ideal location just 5 minutes from historic downtown Saint Augustine and walking distance to several restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Saint Augustine Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saint Augustine Beach House Hotel Saint Augustine
Ocean Blue Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saint Augustine Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.