We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Saint Augustine Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Saint Augustine Beach House to your Saves list
The Saint Augustine Beach House
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   10 Vilano Rd., Vilano Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Hudson, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were looking for a place in Saint Augustine to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary where we could also take our two Golden Retriever mixes. Based on the reviews of The Saint Augustine Beach House, I booked our long weekend May 17th-20th. Wow!! We LOVED it! Truly a dog-friendly place! We stayed on the first floor in unit 104. It was very nice with tile floors, king bed, a couch, counter height table and chairs, flat screen tv, bowed shower curtain rod (it's the little things :)) fridge, microwave, coffee maker and toaster. It made it easy to have breakfast and lunch on our balcony. We still had a view of the ocean and of course the awesome sunrises! To be able to enjoy a cup of coffee while watching the sun rise over the ocean is, to me, one of life's great pleasures! The staff was most friendly and accomodating.( I appologize I don't know any of your names.) There is a Publix within walking distance, which was very convenient! We ventured to the Historic Downtown area which is a must see! The shops, the fort, the San Sebastian winery, and above all the Pirate Museum! It was our first visit to Saint Augustine and we can't wait to go back and we will definitely be staying at "The Beach House" again!

Room Tip: If you are bringing your pet, the first floor is very convenient, though the second and third floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Congratulations on an amazing 21 years together!! We are so happy you chose to celebrate at The Beach House - and it's great to hear it was a wonderful occasion for you - and for your dogs! It is a convenient location - and the sunrises over the ocean are amazing... We look forward to you next visit and thank you for your very kind review. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    45
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
74
144
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Clean. Main thing this place is clean. And they allow pets! But there are NO pet smells, no air freshener is sprayed to make me "think" it's clean, i mean they really truly take care of this place kind of cleaning. It is a great getaway, the kitchenettes are perfect for a small family or just 2. As for the staff, everyone is friendly and super helpful, and will give you anything you need if you just ask. Just an amazing place taken care of by amazing people. This is our destination choice for getaways to the beach from here on out. You must stay here if you want super awesome beach access, want to bring your pets, and have a nice place to hang with family and friends.

Room Tip: All rooms are beach front view, they usually save the first floor for people with pets. It is an op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
We have shared with our housekeeping staff your comments about the rooms - they work very hard and take pride in delivering to every guest the cleanest and most comfortable possible room! Thanks for taking time to share your experience - we are happy to know you felt at home and will make The Beach House your 'destination of choice' - we certainly appreciate that type of !! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon - Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

You couldn't ask for a better location, what an AMAZING view! The room was spacious and very clean; there were plenty of towels and pillows, but if we needed more, we could get them. The staff was extremely friendly and seemingly there just to make our stay more enjoyable; one even helped us carry our bags up the stairs to our 3rd floor room (we did not expect that)! While we didn't watch much TV, it was great to have such a nice (and big) flat screen with tons of channels. The free continental breakfast was an added bonus, but with the fridge, microwave, and coffee maker, we didn't need it. I would whole-heartedly recommend this place and we will DEFINITELY stay there again on our next visit.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Our staff sends their regards and thanks you for your very kind comments. We are all happy to hear you felt welcome and comfortable and the very best news - you say you definitely will return!! That is the best comment we can get! We agree - the location is awesome - and there's always lots to do in nearby St. Augustine. We look forward to your next visit... and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The personnel at SABH are amazing. They are extremely friendly and volunteer to do just about anything for you, including look in on a stressed pup and successfully find and send back a tiny diamond earring! The location, rooms, and bountiful free breakfasts are great, but hands-down the people who look after you at SABH make this THE best place to stay!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and are virtually the same. The hotel is so small it really doesn't mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
All of us here at The Beach House are very happy to hear you felt welcome and comfortable during your recent stay. Our housekeeper was determined to find the missing earring - we are so glad that she did! Thank you for your kind comments and for choosing to stay with us... we hope you will plan to return soon.. Regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

What a find... such a perfect location for our 3 night mini vaction. Our host and hostess couldn't have been more accommodationg. Easy drive to the historic district ~ enjoyed our walking tour and then over to the Golf Hall of Fame which was delightful.

Room Tip: All room look out to the ocean with one's own balcony. We were on the second floor and was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We are so happy to hear you found your stay at The Beach House to be the 'perfect location' for your recent mini-vacation. It was truly our pleasure to welcome you and it's so good to know you were able to enjoy all the best this area has to offer - including some amazing golf courses! We look forward to your next visit and thank you again for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I would recommend this place to anyone. The room was excellent, the staff super friendly and the location perfect. It's small, but with spacious rooms and the beach was beautiful. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Many thanks! We are a small hotel - but we agree the rooms offer a good amount of space to stretch out so that our guests always feel at home. We also agree with your comments about the beach - Vilano has a beautiful stretch of ocean front and we love getting to see the dolphins as they drift by the hotel!! We are all looking forward to your next visit - thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband ,our baby (a mini-schnauzer/dachshund mix), and myself had a fantastic time at the Beach House! The views of the ocean were amazing from our private balcony. We went to sleep everynight listening to the sound of the ocean. Everything about the place was amazing. The staff was very nice (: Paul helped us out alot! It was located within walking distance to a few restaurants and a grocery store & close to downtown St.Augustine.

We can't wait to come back :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We thank you for your kind comments - especially the very good news that you plan to return for another visit! We'll be looking forward to welcoming you back to The Beach House. The summer months are always busy with lots happening here in the area. Thank you again. Regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Saint Augustine Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Augustine Beach House

Address: 10 Vilano Rd., Vilano Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Saint Augustine Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the Atlantic from your private oceanfront balcony. Spacious rooms offer king beds, kitchenettes, and complimentary Wi-Fi access. A full, hot breakfast is included with your stay. We are just 5 minutes from historic downtown Saint Augustine and within walking distance to several restaurants and shopping. Pets are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The Saint Augustine Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saint Augustine Beach House Hotel Saint Augustine
Ocean Blue Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saint Augustine Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.