We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overly People and Pet Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Saint Augustine Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Saint Augustine Beach House to your Saves list
The Saint Augustine Beach House
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   10 Vilano Rd., Vilano Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overly People and Pet Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The personnel at SABH are amazing. They are extremely friendly and volunteer to do just about anything for you, including look in on a stressed pup and successfully find and send back a tiny diamond earring! The location, rooms, and bountiful free breakfasts are great, but hands-down the people who look after you at SABH make this THE best place to stay!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and are virtually the same. The hotel is so small it really doesn't mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
All of us here at The Beach House are very happy to hear you felt welcome and comfortable during your recent stay. Our housekeeper was determined to find the missing earring - we are so glad that she did! Thank you for your kind comments and for choosing to stay with us... we hope you will plan to return soon.. Regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    60
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
98
176
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

What a find... such a perfect location for our 3 night mini vaction. Our host and hostess couldn't have been more accommodationg. Easy drive to the historic district ~ enjoyed our walking tour and then over to the Golf Hall of Fame which was delightful.

Room Tip: All room look out to the ocean with one's own balcony. We were on the second floor and was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We are so happy to hear you found your stay at The Beach House to be the 'perfect location' for your recent mini-vacation. It was truly our pleasure to welcome you and it's so good to know you were able to enjoy all the best this area has to offer - including some amazing golf courses! We look forward to your next visit and thank you again for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I would recommend this place to anyone. The room was excellent, the staff super friendly and the location perfect. It's small, but with spacious rooms and the beach was beautiful. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Many thanks! We are a small hotel - but we agree the rooms offer a good amount of space to stretch out so that our guests always feel at home. We also agree with your comments about the beach - Vilano has a beautiful stretch of ocean front and we love getting to see the dolphins as they drift by the hotel!! We are all looking forward to your next visit - thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband ,our baby (a mini-schnauzer/dachshund mix), and myself had a fantastic time at the Beach House! The views of the ocean were amazing from our private balcony. We went to sleep everynight listening to the sound of the ocean. Everything about the place was amazing. The staff was very nice (: Paul helped us out alot! It was located within walking distance to a few restaurants and a grocery store & close to downtown St.Augustine.

We can't wait to come back :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We thank you for your kind comments - especially the very good news that you plan to return for another visit! We'll be looking forward to welcoming you back to The Beach House. The summer months are always busy with lots happening here in the area. Thank you again. Regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I just returned home from a delightful stay 4/8/2013-4/13/2013 at The St. Augustine Beach House on Vilano Beach, St, Augustine, Florida. My companion Mickey (my mini dachshund) and I couldn't have been happier. The beach was just outside our sliding glass door that lead to our private deck....the room itself was VERY nice and clean.....the staff made us feel right at home. Walked the beach morning and evening. Historic and beautiful St. Augustine is just a stones throw from the beach house and the grocery store and resturants are nearby. I would HIGHLY recomment this for a true beach vacation. Already made reservations for next year. Thanks for making our vacation a great one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Ms. Linda - we are so happy that you were not disappointed with your oceanfront room and that you enjoyed your stay here at The Beach House. We truly enjoyed having you and Mickey stay with us - and we all thank you for sharing your comments. We are looking forward to your next visit! Best wishes and thank you again for choosing to stay with us on your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful 4 day vacation. The hotel itself is perfectly located .... right on the beach, 1/2 block away from the grocery store, and a short drive into historic St Augustine. The hotel itself is no frills but has everything you need for a great stay. It's clean, the staff is friendly & helpful, and did I mention it's right on the beach! And while many people might select it because it's pet friendly, we didn't have pets and would go back in a heartbeat. It's worth the few extra dollars for the 3rd floor views too!!!! Hope to go back in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Admin at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We hope you will plan to return in the future!! Thank you for spending your recent vacation with us here at The Beach House. We agree - the location is perfect and the views from the third floor balconies are the very best! Your comments are very much appreciated - our staff sends regards and we will look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

we had a great week there last week,we had my grandkids and they loved it too. It was very convenient to everything. It was quite and really clean. I will definately go back and would refer anyone to go to this place. the only thing I would suggest would be a larger place for the continental breakfast so you dont' have to take it to your room to eat. and some dishes in the kichen .

Room Tip: get one with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Admin at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We appreciate your comments and are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay. Families have been building beachfront memories at the hotel for many years - so we thank you for choosing The Beach House. We are looking into ways to find extra room to create an even better breakfast experience - and we'll definitely keep working on that goal. In the meantime, please plan to return soon - we look forward to your next visit. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. A...
#2 of 78 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine-Vilano Beach
5.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 857 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casa Monica, Autograph Collection
Casa Monica, Autograph Collectio...
#19 of 78 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 stars 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saint Augustine Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Augustine Beach House

Address: 10 Vilano Rd., Vilano Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Saint Augustine Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the Atlantic from your private oceanfront balcony. Spacious rooms offer king beds, kitchenettes, and complimentary Wi-Fi access. A full, hot breakfast is included with your stay. We are just 5 minutes from historic downtown Saint Augustine and within walking distance to several restaurants and shopping. Pets are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Saint Augustine Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saint Augustine Beach House Hotel Saint Augustine
Ocean Blue Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saint Augustine Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.