We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to vacation with your pets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Saint Augustine Beach House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Saint Augustine Beach House to your Saves list
The Saint Augustine Beach House
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   10 Vilano Rd., Vilano Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hernando
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to vacation with your pets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The location of this newly renovated hotel could not have been better. It was just out of the noise of the heart of the area. The location was on the beach, quiet, very clean, and an amazing staff. Housekeeping was always available for assistence, the front desk always eager to assist with information on parking in town, when it was best to do certain things, and with whom, tour discounts, restaurant information etc. The room was very large and comfortable enough for all five of us plus the dog. Balcony looking out onto the beach. Very comfortable beds, and again my biggest concern was cleanliness and no odor from the pet friendly policy. I am sure that the tile floors help keep pet odors non existent. A daughter of the gentleman at the desk, Dillon, volunteered to take our dog for a walk so we could continue with our plans and not have to interrupt them to head back for the walk. We will stay at this hotel again in the near future and most probably every time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Every room is quiet and looks out onto the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
The very best news we can hear is that your stay with us was enjoyable enough that you plan to return for another visit! We welcome pets and are happy to do what we can to make sure they have a safe and comfortable stay as well... We're looking forward to your next visit with us. Thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    50
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
81
163
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clane, Ireland
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Don't want to mislead people and say this is a 5 star hotel, because it is not. It is, however, a 5 star experience for 3 star money- so maybe that makes it a 4 star (or does that make it 6?). Anyway, a wonderful place to stay because of its quite amazing location overlooking the sea. It was quiet when we were there and we got a good deal on a top floor room with stunning sea views (actually all the rooms have stunning sea views as far as I could figure out). The room was spacious and airy and clean.The take away from the nearby Chinese was less successful and breakfast is ordinary, but a really nice guy looked after us in the Beach House- very helpful. And the location is just very hard to better.

Room Tip: Top floor is dearer but make an offer if the place is quiet! Even at full price it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We are so happy you chose to spend some time with us here at The Beach House. We agree - the location directly on the ocean offers some amazing views. Thank you so much for your very kind comments. Please plan to return soon - and hopefully be able to stay a bit longer. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My Husband, Daughter & I plus our two Dachshunds stayed at SABH and we love it. upon check in they gave us a list of petfriendly places to eat which I thought was so nice. They took us in the back room so we could feed their birds which I thought was to cool. It was perfect and the view was beautiful. So get this we took our babies (dogs) to the fountain of youth and were allowed in every part of it, then we took them on ghost tour then back to the best place to stay on the beach we had a great time. Thank you to SABH for being pet friendly and offering such southern hospitality. We will be back and will always make your place our St. Augustine getaway!

Room Tip: room 205 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, sabh staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Wow! We love hearing you had the best vacation with your pets ever! Thank you for your wonderful comments. We know it is so important to be able to comfortably travel with the pet members of the family - they enjoy being part of the vacation too!! Please do hurry back - we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were SO pleased with our stay at the St. Augustine Beach House during our honeymoon.

The room was spacious, modern and clean. Loved the view, and it was quiet enough to keep our balcony door open all night and sleep to the sound of the ocean. Balconies were very private.

The staff was nothing short of amazing- when we had car trouble and inquired about the name of a local auto mechanic, the front desk clerk actually called around to at least 6 different mechanics and got estimates for us!! They stocked our room with extra towels to take out on the beach.

WE LOVE THE ST. AUGUSTINE BEACH HOUSE and cannot wait to go back!

-the Scott's

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floor give a better view and keep your balcony a little more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We are so happy you chose The Beach House for your honeymoon stay! It is so good to hear you enjoyed the visit especially since it was such a special event. We appreciate your wonderful comments and look forward to seeing you again very soon - maybe you'll consider spending your anniversary here as well! Best wishes and congratulations from all of us...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent almost a year traveling to St Augustine and to the Beach House while I was on business. A better place you will never find! They treated us like family!
Susan made sure our room was spotless along with Dillon, Mark,Judy and Chad catering to our every need. Our dog Oreo was made to feel right at home as well. The ocean views from our balcony were spectacular and it was exciting to see a dolphin pass by on occassion. My business has concluded in St Augustine but our great memories of the Beach House remain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Beach House as your 'home away from home' over these past months. We truly enjoyed getting to know you and certainly consider you part of our Beach House family. Please do keep in touch and be sure to plan to visit as soon as possible. Regards from all of us and many thanks for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband, daughter and I just returned from a one night stay at the Saint Augustine Beach House. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a very nice hostess who helped us to our room with our bags once checked in. We stayed in 301 and it was an amazing room. The sunrise was gorgeous and the views were absolutely amazing! The bed was very comfortable and clean. I do not sleep well on the first night away from home, but I slept well on this bed! The room came with a large TV, sitting area inside the room as well as on the balcony. There is also a very nice sofa and four seat dining set. When heading for dinner, I inquired about a restaurant down the street to get pizza at. The gentleman at the front desk asked if we wanted him to pick up a pizza for us! Upon checkout, I was given the sweetest little souvenir. I mentioned that I loved turtles upon check in and the same young lady gave me one of theirs as a momento. The whole trip was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH StafF at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
It was truly our pleasure to welcome you and your family to The Beach House! It is good to know you were able to relax and rest well for the night - hopefully you caught the sunrise as well? All of us send our regards and do hope you will be able to plan another visit - hopefully an even longer one! Thank you so much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The beach house definitely had that small town feeling while staying with them...it was almost like a bed and breakfast feel...just without the breakfast...haha. Breakfast bar is small and seemed very thrown together. My cereal was stale and the coffee was no good. I found myself looking for a gas station to get a cup of coffee. The room was nicely updated. The floor was dirty and hadn't been cleaned. Its all tile so you can feel everything walking around barefoot. The blanket in the closet was also dirty. I took it out of the closet and could immediately tell it hadn't been washed in a while. There were small cat hairs on it. Ha. And listen, I am by no means a clean freak ...I usually like camping...but when I pay for a room I want it to be clean. I wouldn't stay there again, I would most likely try to find just a holiday inn or something.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We do try to offer as many options as possible for our complimentary continental breakfast, despite limited display space. While our breakfast bar coffee is a special, stronger espresso blend, we do stock a more typical blend in the guestrooms with the coffeemakers. Our sincere apologies for the problems you noted in your room - we will certainly follow up with our housekeeping staff and appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Saint Augustine Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Augustine Beach House

Address: 10 Vilano Rd., Vilano Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Saint Augustine Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the Atlantic from your private oceanfront balcony. Spacious rooms offer king beds, kitchenettes, and complimentary Wi-Fi access. A full, hot breakfast is included with your stay. We are just 5 minutes from historic downtown Saint Augustine and within walking distance to several restaurants and shopping. Pets are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Saint Augustine Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saint Augustine Beach House Hotel Saint Augustine
Ocean Blue Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saint Augustine Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.