We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING PLACE AND STAFF!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Saint Augustine Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Saint Augustine Beach House to your Saves list
The Saint Augustine Beach House
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   10 Vilano Rd., Vilano Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING PLACE AND STAFF!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I came here over Labor Day 2012 for my bachelorettel weekend with 10 other girlfriends. The staff could not have been kinder! I have NEVER in all of my years of traveling met any so accomodating. I cannot wait to get back to visit again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
It was our pleasure to welcome you and your friends for your bachelorette weekend! We hope you enjoyed your time here at the beach and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your very kind comments - and have a perfectly beautiful wedding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    45
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
74
144
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed here with a friend and her mother and from the moment we started booking our rooms till the minute we left we had a great experience. We were visiting St. Augustine for a memorial service, but staying here really made it turn out to be a celebration. Judy who helped book everything was a sweet heart moving things around so we could have a room on the first floor due to some handicaps we were facing. She also took care of a friend’s surprise of flowers and Champaign in the rooms. When we arrived, the guys (Marc and Chad) made us feel at home and helped us with our luggage. They were excellent at taking very good care of us throughout our stay. The rooms were quite amazing as well. We had looked at a few other places, and knew friends that had stayed in other places. We really lucked out. The rooms were clean and beautiful. Each room was quite big and having your own balcony with a view of the ocean made this place the perfect get away. We plan to come back again soon and would definitely recommend this beautiful hotel on the beach to friends and family!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. We had rooms on the first and third room. You do get to see more of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
It was truly our pleasure to welcome you to The Beach House. We thank you for choosing our hotel for this special occasion and for taking the time to let us know that you were happy with your experience here. All of our staff send their regards and we are all looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This last visit to the St. Augustine Beach House was our second stay and it just gets better! If anyone appreciates the 'other' Florida they will fall in love with the views, staff and location. Everyone bends over backwards to see that your stay is enjoyable. My husband and I like the local community so much that we parked our car on Sunday and didn't move it until we were leaving on Wed. Relaxing, clean, and comfortable. Our dog really chills out there!! Looking forward to our third visit.

Room Tip: If you want to sit on the balcony and enjoy the views of beach and ocean choose either 2nd or 3rd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We all enjoyed welcoming you back to The Beach House for your second stay! We truly appreciate our repeat guests and the best news we can hear is that you plan to return again soon. Our goal is for our guests to enjoy a comfortable, relaxing beach escape... and we believe pets need vacations too!! Many thanks for sharing your wonderful comments and please do plan to come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Well, first off I usually stay at the Hilton chain of hotels mainly because they have standards and are clean, and have all the amenities anyone would need. But, I decided to book a hotel room at the Saint Augustine Beach House because it was #1 rated on Trip Advisor, I didn't even read any bad reviews at all. Me and my wife are from Florida and have stayed at at least a dozen different hotels over our life time. So needless to say this hotel was not what we expected in a bad way. To make our review easier for those viewing it I will just list the pros and cons:

Pros: beach front view, friendly staff, walking distance to publix etc.

Cons: expensive for what we got, re painted outside, but inside old and in need of simple repairs and updates( bathroom fan broken), mosquitoes, (I know its Florida!, But a couple of roaches inside too), not well kept(floors sandy and room dusty upon arrival, had to request it to be swept and mopped), had to request everything!, our room had a Kitchenette, refrigerator, but strangely no phone at all, no ironing board or iron, no cups, plates, utensils, or hot plate, or ice machine located on property, had to go to front office to request these things. No pool either, but we already knew that.

Basically we expected more, it wasn't a horrible stay but it was far from great. For what we paid we could have stayed at the Hilton on the beach had all those amenities we use when traveling, a pool, telephone lol, and a clean updated room. Oh well you live and learn, either those who wrote those reviews on Trip Advisor have never been to a beach hotel before, or were blinded by the ocean view, because me and my family would NOT stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms basically the same, all have private balconies, but some are closer to busy, public beach acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
It is critically important to us to maintain the highest level of cleanliness for our guests, and we are truly disappointed that you did not receive our best level of service. As a small, privately owned hotel, we invite and welcome our guests to come by the office to visit and request the amenities they choose. We offer bags of ice, irons and boards, dishes, cooking utensils, beach towels and chairs, boogie boards, trolley tickets, maps and more. Room phones have not typically been an issue, as most guests have cell phones, and being a small hotel, our office is close to all of the rooms. Please note that after every room is cleaned by our House Keeping staff, a member of the Front Desk staff double checks the room within a few hours prior to check in. The entire property is treated monthly by a professional exterminator. The entire exterior of the hotel was painted 14 months ago and has been power washed at least twice since then. Room interiors were also all painted within the last 14 months, and we have touched up all of the units several times since then. In addition, we keep a Handyman list and do everything we can to get the items on the list repaired either during a guest stay if a guest brings it to our attention or before our next check in. As for value, we are either comparable to or less than several highly rated hotels in Saint Augustine. In addition, we feel the size of our rooms (14 feet by 35 feet) plus our truly oceanfront location have tremendous value. Please also note that we are in the process of permitting a pool and sunbathing area and hope to have it complete by March, 2013. We also appreciate your complement to our staff. We truly try to make all our guests feel like family, and we hope you will come visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep in the Wilds of Fairview
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Wow. We had never been to the St. Augustine area before and had no idea where to stay. I picked the Saint Augustine Beach house based solely on TripAdvisor reviews, and I'm so glad I did! It looks like older condominiums were converted into a hotel, but don't let it's age turn you away. This was such a clean, modern, inviting hotel. The staff were all as friendly and helpful as they would possibly be, from the moment we checked in. The man at the desk actually walked up to our room with us to make sure everything was okay. The room was immaculately clean, and had a great view overlooking the Atlantic. It was very quiet, which we wanted, but still seemed like the kind of place where kids ( and dogs) are always welcome. There is a Publix within walking distance, and several restaurants are just a few minutes away. Better yet, it only took us 10 minutes or so to be in Old Town St. Augustine - so combining that with the beach, we really did have the best of both worlds. I cannot say enough nice things about this place. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We are so glad you did find us - and thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit. Your comments are most appreciated - and we totally agree that our location offers the best of all that Saint Augustine has to offer. You can enjoy the beautiful beach and wander into downtown to take in all the sites and attractions as you please! Please do hurry back - we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The St Augustine Beach House is THE place to stay if being on the beach is what you're looking for. Wonderfully friendly people who sincerely want your stay to be perfect. Dog friendly, and very, very clean and very quiet. We stayed Aug 2-5 and had an awesome long weekend. Beautiful ocean view from our 2nd floor room. Such a great location -- directly on the beach yet close and convenient to grocery store, restaurants, and downtown. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
We agree that The Beach House has a very special location directly overlooking beautiful Vilano Beach. It is so good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and plan to return again. Vilano is a great little beach getaway spot convenient to the historic district - so you have the ocean plus lots of historic sights and attractions! Thank you so much for your comments and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We visited them July 29 thru Aug 2, 2012. It was Great. All the staff was the best. We had vehicle problems, they recommended the best place for auto repair. Our van was repaired the next day!! They are definetly a family place and pet lovers. The Ocean view was great from our 2nd floor room. Our dogs loved the Deck. Our 9 year old grandson loved the birds and the ocean waves. We will definetly go back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We do enjoy having families spend time with us - and we believe The Beach House is a great spot for a family getaway any time! Pets are always welcome and we enjoy them all - dogs, cats and birds! Thanks so much for staying with us and for taking time to let us know that you and your family had a great visit. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Saint Augustine Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Augustine Beach House

Address: 10 Vilano Rd., Vilano Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Saint Augustine Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the Atlantic from your private oceanfront balcony. Spacious rooms offer king beds, kitchenettes, and complimentary Wi-Fi access. A full, hot breakfast is included with your stay. We are just 5 minutes from historic downtown Saint Augustine and within walking distance to several restaurants and shopping. Pets are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The Saint Augustine Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saint Augustine Beach House Hotel Saint Augustine
Ocean Blue Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saint Augustine Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.