We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT FOR LOVERS ONLY: Large/Small Barking Dogs and High Heels Allowed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Saint Augustine Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Saint Augustine Beach House to your Saves list
The Saint Augustine Beach House
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   10 Vilano Rd., Vilano Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“NOT FOR LOVERS ONLY: Large/Small Barking Dogs and High Heels Allowed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

STAFF:
Unlike other reviewers, we found the Staff to be 'distant and non-personable.' We did NOT receive a Confirmation phone call; but rather, we called them (as we were late for the 3pm check-in) and didn't want our room to be given out to someone else. "Well, what do ya wanna know..?" was what I was aked after I told him my name & why we were late, with only short, terse answers to my subsequent questions.

Upon arrival, I asked the woman if they served breakfast and she said no. SHE MADE NO ATTEMPT TO TELL US ABOUT THE CAFE that is connected to the property, facing the beach; and only upon further questioning did she offer 2 other nearby places. No one gave us any information on using Vilano Beach, either.

When we checked-out, 2 other men were there and NEITHER ONE ASKED IF ALL WAS OK, OR IF WE ENJOYED OUR STAY. Just took the key cards and wanted to know what room. NO ONE EVEN SAID THANK YOU.

VIEW:
We agree THE DAYTIME VIEW IS WONDERFUL...and if weather allows, you will catch a beautiful sunrise. You should know, however, THE OCEANVIEW IS COMPLETE DARKNESS AT NIGHT, with only the sound of the shore-crashing waves.

ROOM:
Although evidence of upgrades are noted, our room was overlooked in several areas of importance: old sink, tub, kitchen/bathrm cabinets in desperate need of new. Only 1 mirror over sink w/poor lighting. THERE IS NO PHONE IN ROOM! No Bible. And NO BIG SCREEN TV. High-top table/chairs are nice. Bed is big and comfortable -although your leg can easily hit into the corners of footboard. Walls freshly painted. Clean tile flooring. Re-arrangement of furniture so that sofa and bed can view TV would be helpful to guests.

NOTE: Dogs are allowed in rooms...and even though we knew this, we did not expect to awakened by their barking every morning. BE AWARE.

Room Tip: 1ST NOTE: ALWAYS try for a room on the 3rd floor...That way no one will be clomping back & for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    50
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
81
163
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chipley, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We were coming to the end of our 10 day motorcycle trip it was raining most of the day and we had planned on staying the night in Jacksonville but there was some convention stuff going on and we couldn't get a room. We decided to just head out towards St Augustine and happened upon this Hotel. The rate seemed a little high so we were going to check some other places, we trudged back out into the rain to discuss the options when she came back out and offered us a better rate. I was so relieved I was exausted and soaked. We got a room on the 3rd floor it was heaven! The room was so comfortable and inviting and the view was amazing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I stayed here with a friend in August. The staff were all nice and accommodating. They called to confirm that we were coming the day of our trip. We were running a little late and they asked if we needed anything from the cafe so they could leave it open for when we arrive (how sweet). Then I'm a little picky about pillows and sheets and they gave me everything I asked for (extra sheets and pillows). But when I got in the room it was perfect, we didn't need any of the extras. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The furniture was new and the bed was very cozy. The view from the room was beautiful!!! We were able to watch the sunrise from our balcony. School had just started when we stayed there and we were there during the week so the beach was pretty empty. Just the way I like it. The water was beautiful and the beach was great. No shells and the beach was very safe. You could drive on the beach but we didn't have to since the hotel was literally on the water. We arrived to every attraction we wanted to see within a 5 minute drive from the hotel. Very easy to navigate and fine our way around.

The only reason why I gave it a 4out of 5 is because of little cosmetic issues. For Example, The ceiling had a stain on it. The fire detector was dented. The room was very clean but areas like the corners of the floors had some dust and sand. The coffee maker had some coffee residue. But I am a clean freak so it may just be me. I felt the rest of the room was fine. I guess it’s to be expected to find some flaws here or there from a family owned hotel.

Overall I had a great experience. I can’t say enough about the staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The hotel is built so that every room has a great view. Just try to stay on the second or third flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at the St Augustine Beach House on a whim from other trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed!
We were there 3 days over the Labor Day weekend, had a 3rd floor room with wonderful views-right on the beach!
We slept with our door open ( even though there are no screens) and went to sleep with the sound of the ocean waves.
Here are the PROS and CONS in a nutshell:
PROS- Beautiful location
ORGANIC COFFEE in room for your coffemaker
Each room has a small private balcony
Large suite/condo like rooms with full kitchen
Thick walls- nice and quiet
Away from the hustle and crowds of St Augstine Historic distric-yet close enough- just a mile or so over the bridge
A welcoming staff and manager who carried our bags!
Very comfy King Size bed
Very clean and NO CARPET!! Tile floors that were super clean!
Each room directly faces the ocean-there is no bad view!

CONS- There is no elevator, so if you cant climb stairs, you need a first floor room
No phones in rooms-bring your cellphone and charger!
No screens on the sliding door to the balcony
No breakfast provided, but there is a little cafe down the block-otherwise go into town
And of course no pool BUT HELLO you are directly on the beach!
Also could have used a celiing fan or two-to disperse the a/c unit more efficiently

We will definately be going back!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor for best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Right on the beach so we went walking at sunset and body surfing in the morning. But the room was definitely lacking in cleanliness. The bed was lumpy, the furniture old and worn, and the walls etc. poorly constructed.
The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

After deciding on St. Augustine for a quick get-away, my wife and I decided to stay here. Boy, are we glad we did. The SABH lived up to everything it advertised. We arrived right around 3:00 pm and our room was all ready for us. It was the exact room we requested.
Bob and Judy at the front desk were very helpful.

The room was nice. Located on the third floor, the only access is via the stairs.The kitchen area had a full-size frig, toaster, coffee maker, microwave and sink. Dishes, cups, silverware were also provided. The open floor plan included a living room area, bedroom and a bathroom. All clean and comfortable. Off the bedroom was a balcony overlooking the ocean. Just a very short walk to the beach.

At night we spent time on the balcony able to hear the waves washing on shore. In the mornings, we were out there, having our coffee, watching the sun rise over the water.

Judy was very helpful in suggesting places to eat. We took her up on two of her suggestions and found two really nice places to eat right on Vilano Beach. One was a short drive away while the other one was within walking distance from the House. They also offered a ton of tourist information for all of the area attractions.

My wife and I both agree that this is a great place to stay and plan on coming back!

Room Tip: There are three floors. All rooms have private balconies facing the ocean. Top floor has the best vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Stayed at this hotel a few years ago and can say that the recent renovations give this beachfront hotel a much higher standard. Found the rooms to be clean and updated with newer furnishings. Our family of (4) and dog fit comfortably in the room, with our kids using the pull out sofa each night. We loved watching early morning sunrises from the balcony and using the separate private pathway through the sea oats to the beach each day. Vilano Beach is a great little beach town with easy access to nearby St Augustine. While the surrounding area appears a bit depressed, there appears to be a new supermarket being built which we hope will help with the redevelopment of this area. If visiting this area we encourage you to give this hotel a try. Friendly staff, Great value & Great location!

Room Tip: 2nd & 3rd level rooms have the best views of beach
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Saint Augustine Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Augustine Beach House

Address: 10 Vilano Rd., Vilano Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Saint Augustine Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the Atlantic from your private oceanfront balcony. Spacious rooms offer king beds, kitchenettes, and complimentary Wi-Fi access. A full, hot breakfast is included with your stay. We are just 5 minutes from historic downtown Saint Augustine and within walking distance to several restaurants and shopping. Pets are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Saint Augustine Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saint Augustine Beach House Hotel Saint Augustine
Ocean Blue Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saint Augustine Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.