We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People- you know who you are!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Beach Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Magic Beach Motel to your Saves list
Magic Beach Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   50 Vilano Road, Vilano Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32095   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Oswego, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“People- you know who you are!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

You want to stay at a funky one of a kind motel with friendly staff who really care about your happiness. You do not want a chain. Well this motel has it all- restored 60's neon and pink flamingos! Jumping neon rabbits! In addition to this you have a pool, continental breakfast (pretty plain but it keeps you going until you get to the calorie-laden meals you have planned later), and a very short walk to the gorgeous Vilano beach.The owners are so personable that when you book they'll describe various specific rooms that might be what you're looking for. Ours had a balcony that overlooked the ocean, and a spa tub in the bathroom. Room was spotless. The motel is in the middle of the little town of Vilano Beach, which sadly now has a Publix and a chain hotel. But you are a short drive from St. Augustine and a number of really good restaurants which the owners will point out to you. We stayed for 2 nights and wished it was more. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor of the attached building and could see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    48
    5
    3
    8
See reviews for
41
44
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time ever to Florida and thanks to magic Beach Hotel & Remi and Earl the lovely owners and all of the hotel staff they made my stay wonderful relaxing and very memorable even the maintenance guy knew exactly where to find the best shells and that we did so if you want a nice quaint clean quiet place to spend your vacation then check into the magic Beach Hotel and watch the magic happen.
thanks again from the sisters

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

What a great little hotel. Very clean, terrific location, friendly owners, nice breakfast, all just minutes outside the wonderful city of St. Augustine. Oh, and the beach --- it is perfect, and just a few short steps from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a neat place! For all art deco and beach lovers this is the perfect place. We had a two bedroom with kitchen. Well stocked, clean and really COMFORTABLE beds. One minute from a great beach and near all the action in Saint Augustine.

Room Tip: If traveling as a couple, the upstairs rooms have views, murals and jacuzzi bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This quaint little motel is awesome. The rooms, grounds, etc have been recently updated and the owners couldn't be nicer! Nicely appointed rooms and BIG bathroom. Our room had a jacuzzi tub and it was great. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I like individual units- where you pull your car up to the door and this motel was ideal. The motel was run by a wonderful couple that made sure you had everything you needed for your stay. The rooms were very clean with a small efficient kitchen.and they served continental breakfast in the morning. The motel was within walking distance to beach. Restaurants were nearby and the Vilano dock just down the road where you could go fish or sit and watch the spectacular view. I will definitely go back to the Magic Beach Motel the next time I am in St Augustine.

Room Tip: They are mostly on first floor and every room is easily accesible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We arrived at 8 pm on April 3, so it was already dark. But their funky neon sign drew us to the place like a moth to a flame. It is so cool with the retro look, flamingos, colors, and decor. Even the lines in the parking lot are painted in a sea green color instead of ugly yellow. It fits my personality and love of colorful things to a tee! This is no sterile, run of the mill, motel. That's what makes it so great, that and the beds are actually comfortable. I didn't have to use my pillow I had packed, either. The couple who runs it are very friendly. The room was clean and quiet. I liked that the windows open so we could sit at the small table for breakfast with the windows open and the breeze blowing through. The beach was just a very short walk away. We didn't have to go through parking lots or across a busy street to get there which was also nice. It is conveniently located near attractions in St. Augustine. I would definitely like to stay here again.... The only thing I would like to change about this place is that we couldn't check availability dates through trip advisor. We had to google their website and go from there. No biggie, really. But I didn't understand why some hotels we were able to look at rates and such through trip advisor and this one we couldn't. But it is definitely worth the little extra effort to find this place. I am so glad we did.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magic Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Beach Motel

Address: 50 Vilano Road, Vilano Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32095
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magic Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Magic Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilano Beach Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.