We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet rest with your best friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vilano Beach Garden Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vilano Beach Garden Inn to your Saves list
Vilano Beach Garden Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Vilano Road, Vilano Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quiet rest with your best friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were looking for a great place for a weekend away with our 2 dogs. Having grown up on the gulf coast, we were happy to find an old style beach cottage inn. Our room was well appointed with a great king size bed, huge tv, and small appliances. It felt very much like a family home. Just a few blocks walk to the beach, grocery, dining and entertainment meant we never had to use the truck. They have a fenced area of nice grass for the dogs to play and relieve themselves off leash.

The staff is very nice and dog friendly.

Room Tip: The king suite is a separate cabin from the main building - extra quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at Vilano Beach Garden Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks so much for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay - with your best friends! We try our best to make our guests... and their pets... feel welcome and at home, so we very much appreciate your comments. We'll look forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenacres, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had stayed at the vilano beach house and we had such an amazing experience that this newest addition by the same owners was worth a try. What a wonderful experience! Tucked just a block from the beach house is a beautifully renovated motor lodge. I think my wife and I were the only people staying there and I must say it was awesome! It is the same staff from the Vilano beach house and they always make you feel right at home. I would recommend either of the hotels to anyone looking to stay at the most peaceful place in Florida!

Room Tip: If you're traveling with friends, they have rooms sharing a small entryway. Otherwise, I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at Vilano Beach Garden Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to the Garden Inn! It is a quaint, cozy little sample of the vintage Florida motor courts - and it is in a quiet area of this Vilano beachside neighborhood. We'll look forward to welcoming you back for more visits - to either of our hotels - and hope it won't be long until we see you again. Many thanks for your very kind recommendation - we truly appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Since finding the garden inn I have been back twice. The staff was extremely courteous and even took my dog out so I could go play golf. In walking distance to the beach, the pier and bars so driving is not an issue. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: For couples you can't go wrong with the king suites #7 is my favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at Vilano Beach Garden Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We welcome pets - and we are happy to hosted many guests who bring their dogs (and cats and birds!) along for the vacation! Vilano Beach - and St. Augustine - are great places to enjoy with your pet. Thanks so much for your kind words and we hope we will be seeing you again very soon. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here because we travel with our 2 dogs and needed a dog friendly place to stay. This place exceeded all of our expectations in cleanliness, spaciousness, and value. We were greeted by Pamela upon check- in and met Jane the following morning. Both ladies were truly delightful and seemed to want to do whatever they could to accommodate us and make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Pamela invited us down to The Beach House, their sister property, and showed us a couple of the rooms at this location. All of the rooms are more like a suite and each room has a balcony overlooking the ocean. Great location for both properties and within walking distance to some good restaurants. I would definitely recommend staying at The Garden Inn or The Beach House. Pet fee is a very, very reasonable fee of $15. I am definitely going back!

Room Tip: My favorite room at The Garden Inn is #2. It is a king suite. Excellent rating on everything, howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at Vilano Beach Garden Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
It's so great to hear you plan to return - and we're ready to welcome you to The Garden Inn or The Beach House. Both properties are pet friendly! Thanks for your kind comments and from all of us - best wishes and hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Love the hominess and the retro-feel!
Staff was VERY accomodating, friendly and attentive to every need. Sparkling clean.
Fair pricing! :)
The friendliness is genuine in this micro-village that is Vilano Beach!

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at Vilano Beach Garden Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed the 'retro' feel of the Garden Inn! The renovations were completed with a goal of keeping the vintage Florida 'motor court' feel but updating the furnishings and finishes. We hope you'll be back - thank you so much for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Southern hospitality is the theme at the Vilano Beach Garden Inn. I needed a "dog friendly" place for our large breed dog.. She does not fit the " under 20lbs" rule most places have. We wanted to be close to the beach but didn't want to spend the high fee as we live near a beach anyway, this was more of a family visit trip. Upon first arrival, the staff did everything possible to make us happy. In addition to the dog, I had my husband and 4 children, all of whom had a complaint of some sort. " Janie" did everything possible to accommodate us. She went out of her way to get us what we needed and was willing to do anything to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The room was perfect for our needs. Lots of room, everything is new and it was spotless! Big flat screen Tv with plenty of channels, comfortable bed, wifi, lots of chairs, big bathroom with plenty of storage and room to iron. In the morning they supply breakfast items such as cereals, bagels, juices, etc.. The beach was just a short walk and their sister property, "The St. Augustine Beach House" is right there to help you as well. Also just a short walk is Publix, a great Pizza restaurant, the Pier, shops, and so much more! This place is perfect for families looking for a place to enjoy beautiful St. Augustine, which of course is just a quick trip over the bridge!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at Vilano Beach Garden Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We're so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at The Garden Inn. It can sometimes be stressful traveling - so we are glad that you were able to relax, settle in and enjoy your vacation time together. Thank you for your comments - and we do hope to see you again soon...and be sure to bring along your doggie as he is always welcome too! Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband, teenage daughter and I stayed at the Vilano Beach Garden Inn as we could not get a second night at the St. Augustine Beach House, a sister property. The Garden Inn is not right on the beach, but was only a few short blocks away, and also, very close to the Vilano Pier, which is a lovely place to walk, watch boats, go fishing or just relax. Everything is walking distance in that part of Vilano Beach, with a Publix just up the street, a very good Chinese restaurant, China Wok, where we got delicious take out, and some very tasty restaurants, like 180 Vilano right across the street, or Beaches, just a two minute walk down by the pier. The location is really perfect, just 5 minutes across the bridge to historic St. Augustine. The hotel itself is a restored, old-timey Florida motel, renovated beautifully inside with comfortable, large rooms, cushy four poster beds, a small fridge, large big screen tv, coffee maker and microwave. We had a king suite, with a separate area for a Queen sized pull out couch. Their is a continental breakfast in the office in the morning, and we were greeted by the very friendly Janie, who clearly loves her job and is a great ambassador for the area. We ate our breakfast at a lovely table outside, and also enjoyed sitting by the koi pond in the courtyard. There is some construction going on outside, and we heard there is a plan to have a pool in the future, but we heard nothing but the birds and the gurgling of the koi pond when we were there...very quiet and relaxing. We would definitely recommend and would definitely return. (I would recommend, though, that the management accept AAA or AARP discounts for this property--they do not currently). Give this sweet place a try if you plan to be in the area, you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at Vilano Beach Garden Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of your stay at our new Garden Inn. We are happy to hear the stay was comfortable and we especially appreciate that you would return for another visit! We will look into discounts for folks with AAA or AARP or other memberships - and see how we might put those in place. Regards from all and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vilano Beach Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilano Beach Garden Inn

Address: 155 Vilano Road, Vilano Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Vilano Beach Garden Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in vintage Florida style in our cozy, pet-friendly Inn. Rooms offer comfortable, brand new king or queen beds, antique furnishings, and a mini-fridge with microwave. Our landscaped gardens feature native Florida plants and plenty of space to enjoy the sunshine. Walk to Vilano Beach, the floating dock and fishing pier, supermarket and restaurants. You are just a five minute drive from all the sites and attractions of historic Saint Augustine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vilano Beach Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vilano Beach Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.