We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn-Vilano Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine-Vilano Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine-Vilano Beach to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine-Vilano Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   95 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Port Charlotte, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hampton Inn-Vilano Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great location - just over the bridge to St Augustine, walking distance to beach and fishing pier and restaurant, nice pool, great free breakfast included, nice rooms, would recommend to family and friends

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joey M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine-Vilano Beach, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Dawn F,

We appreciate your business and your reveiw of our hotel! We are so glad to know that you enjoyed our service, amenities and location.

We look forward to your next visit!

Best Regards,

Joey M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    227
    70
    28
    17
See reviews for
269
377
18
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The staff members are excellent - very responsive and caring. I was very impressed with the service. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The location is fantastic - right across the street from the beach. Some restaurants and bars (and a frozen yogurt place) are within a few blocks of the hotel, which is very convenient.

I had one small issue during my visit with some noise from a school group, and the front desk was very responsive to the issue. The next night I didn't have the same issues. When I mentioned this in the review Hilton sent me, I received a personal email from the manager who was very polite and seemed genuinely concerned.

Overall, this hotel is nice, but what makes this place truly excellent is the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVilano, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine-Vilano Beach, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear busitraveler24,

Thank you very much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Our staff are always pleased to hear positive feedback for their efforts. We do apologize for the noise level during your visit but are glad it was resolved to your satisfaction. We hope you will visit us again during your next trip to St. Augustine and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Falkland Islands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very close to beach, you can smell the sea. Area really nice. Hotel not the newest. Some staff really nice, some a little different. The doors slam and are really loud which started at 6:50 AM. Wham, wham and wham. View of someone's back yard and what looks like the former hotel chairs they adopted. Well water, very stinky in shower so heads up!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joey M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine-Vilano Beach, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Misty R,

Thank you for your stay with us and for your review of our hotel. I was sorry to learn that you experienced some noise and water issues during your stay. I apologize.

We will take action to resolve these problems immediately. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Joey M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just got back from a delightful stay at the Hampton Inn at Vilano Beach with my daughter and infant granddaughter. Great breakast, beautiful and clean pool, very comfortable bed, and extremely courteous employees. This hotel is very near the beach and a short drive to the historic district, restaurants, etc. I will be back soon! Hopefully the tiki bar will be open on my next visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVilano, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine-Vilano Beach, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you, kathy b, for your exhilarating review! It is very uplifting for our staff to hear they are doing a great job and we will strive to maintain our service level! We would love to welcome you back to check on our newest improvements still coming! See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The staff at this Hampton were very nice and efficient and made sure that our requests for a first floor room in a quiet area were well fulfilled. The rooms are spacious with the Hampton bedding that is clean for each guest including the comforter that we really like and we had sliding glass doors with a screen door to a private patio that we really appreciated as we know some of the rooms do not have openable windows, which is a downfall we have encountered in Hamptons. The doors also obviously had sensors on them, so that the AC automatically switched off when they were left open, which we felt was good policy and appreciated not having to do that manually. Then when the doors were closed it automatically came back on and the wall thermostat was much preferred over one on unit and seemed to do a good job of accurate sensing (another problem we have found in some Hamptons.) The rooms were clean and had a goodly # of additional outlet extenders for electronics and a nice little bar area with micro/frig/and sink, altho we wished it also included a small freezer compartment for our "blue ice' for coolers. Plenty of towels and toiletries of decent quality were provided. The only things that we were not completely impressed with, is that it seemed like the patio furniture was a bit worn and the outside grounds were not that well kept, altho the pool area was fine. In general, some areas need a bit of updating it seems, especially since the pricing is of the more "resort" level for the rooms. The breakfast was so-so and not up to the standards of the best Hamptons we have stayed at and the staff tried hard, but had a hard time keeping up with an obviously very crowded motel. The Vilano Beach area was the biggest disappointment as it is kind of run down and unkempt looking and the beach is packed with cars driving up and parking on the beach on the weekend and the beach is very shelly coquina sand with a strong wave break that is not good for young children, although there is an inlet that goes back to the intercoastal that is better for swimming and has some more powdery sand around it at the end of the beach nearest the motel. There are lifeguards, but only "portapotty" facilities there. Do, LOVE, that there is a big new Publix grocery store right across the street from the motel, and that may help to revive the area a bit in the future. It is obvious that they have tried to revive the area with nice sidewalks, plantings, etc. and a wading platform for kids (that was not working) but it just has not been kept up-probably due to funding issues, so a bigger business tax base, sparked by Publix might help.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVilano, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine-Vilano Beach, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Hoosier525,

Thank you for your review. We are glad our staff and hotel lived up to your expectations. Thank you for your suggestions/comments concerning our patio furniture and grounds. We will consider these as we work to improve our hotel for future visits. It is also our hope that the Vilano area will continue to be improved as well. We look forward to your next visit in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We've been coming to this nice hotel for several years now. The last visit was last October and when we came back recently the lobby appeared a little different. This hotel has always been nice obviously if we've come back several times now. This time the counter for check in was split into two pieces and looked awkward. I believe there was a fountain that was no longer there and the free coffee was moved near the check in counter away from the food area. It looks better in the food area on the round counter top area. More appetizing!

There were two weddings going on and a family reunion the weekend were were there. I'm not sure if the coffee was moved to accommodate the large crowds that congregated in the lobby area. The large crowd is not something a couple wants to see. Nothing against the folks that were in the large groups. This is something the hotel can manage a little better. If a group rents out a banquet room, which I believe they did then that's where the party should be. This goes for any weddings or social groups that may want to stay at the hotel. Of course, people should be allowed to go to the main lobby area and hang out but when there are like 20-25 people it can be a little daunting for the weekend getaway a couple may be looking for. It appears the hotel setup dinner or some type of party in the food/lobby area.

The room bathroom appeared to be refreshed a bit and the room was clean as always for this Hampton. The toilets seems to have a new push button system. It's tougher to push than the standard lever. It looks like they have two options for the types of pressures to use. The overall appearance of the room was very good considering this hotel is putting about 10 years on it now. Good experience as always but the hotel maybe can do better with larger groups and I hope the lobby is not done with any renovations because the last visit looked better than this one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joey M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine-Vilano Beach, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear centflasun,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review! We are honored that you chose our property again this year. I do apologize that you encountered issues with the groups we had in-house.

I can tell you that we finished the renovations to the lobby last week. We just had photographs taken this week and we will be putting them on our website once they have been processed so that you can see the the final results!

We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Joey M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our family needed a nice beach holiday before our son returned to school, and having been once to the area we looked for a nice hotel on the beach that was affordable and we got all that and more at this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVilano, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine-Vilano Beach, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear John L,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope your son has a successful school year and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine-Vilano Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine-Vilano Beach

Address: 95 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vilano Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine-Vilano Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites is the finest, most exciting hotel in St. Augustine. Many of the Resorts' amenities will make your decision to stay with us easier. Steps to the beach - minutes to historic downtown. Guest rooms and suites available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine-Vilano Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Augustine Vilano Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine Vilano Beach Hotel Saint Augustine
Hampton Inn Hotel Oceanside
Hampton Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine-Vilano Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.