We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The front desk ladies rocked!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Inn & Suites Salida

Save Saved
You added Gateway Inn & Suites Salida to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Inn & Suites Salida
1310 East US Highway 50, Salida, CO 81201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Salida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The front desk ladies rocked!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed the night here and would definetly do it again! The rooms were clean and the hot tub looked amazing.... The front desk ladies held our bags for us the next morning so we could walk to retrieve our car which was downtown... They were very helpful! Thanks ladies

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayInnSalida, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
I'm so glad your stay was great! Thank you for your review, we are happy to help when we can (even if it's just storing luggage for a bit). Hope to see you again,

Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    36
    22
    6
    14
See reviews for
70
52
29
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were very impressed how nice this hotel was for the price! I'm so glad we picked this one. It is very nicely decorated,comfortable and with friendly people. And it has a good breakfast included. It as all the amenities we look for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayInnSalida, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for such nice comments. Here at the Gateway, we try to keep our prices affordable and our rooms clean. I'm happy we earned your approval.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgway, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife got us a one night stay online at the Gateway Inn. We were planning on skiing two days at Monarch and did not want to drive all the way home to Ridgway. It was half the cost of many of the local hotels and we wondered what we were getting into, but what the heck, it was only for one night. We checked in and were pleased at how nice the lobby area was. Walking by rooms to get to ours, we looked through open windows to see rooms that appeared nicely made up. Ours was no different. It was clean and comfortable. That's all we wanted. The staff helped us find a great place for dinner and the breakfast buffet the next morning was at least as nice as similar places we have stayed. Definitely a great value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayInnSalida, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that we were able to provide you with a "Pleasant Surprise". We make every effort to ensure our rooms are clean and comfortable, and that breakfast is satisfying. All of us at the Gateway live in Salida, so dinner reccomendations are fun to make (it also gives us a reason to try new restaurants in town!).
Hope to see you again,
Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Found this Inn on Salida website. What a find! We booked the effeciency Suite and it was more than enough space for the 3 adults and 3 kids in our family group. The suite was CLEAN! and was as advertised. 2 bedrooms with queen beds, living area with queen sleeper sofa, dining room with table and 4 chairs and a complete kitchen right down to the can opener.We did not want to go out and eat every night after sking all day so we were able to cook a full meal in the room.
They thought of everything for this suite, even a jucuzzi bathtub! The daily rate was reasonable and the staff was friendly and answered all our questions. I think the kids said it best. "The room felt more like home than a hotel."
The small town of Salida was so relaxing and laid back. Small town, but it has everything you need including a Walmart! We will be back to ski and Gateway Inns and Suites will be our hotel
when we get there. Thanks to the staff for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayInnSalida, Public Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much for such a nice review! I'm so glad you found the Suiteperfect for your needs. (that is my favorite room!) We strive to maintain high quality and fair prices.
Looking forward to seeing you again,
Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had one of the best experiences with hotels at Gateway. I arrived in the late afternoon and they had a super reasonable room. You know when you get a great deal and expect something less? I got a great deal and it far exceeded my expectations. The room was really clean, it felt like it just had been remodeled, the bed was comfortable, and I felt safe. The next morning they offered a complimentary continental breakfast. Was I surprised to find a real continental breakfast! Cereal, fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, pastries, eggs. The staff was amazing and friendly. I travel a lot of have been in a lot of hotels from 3 star to 5. I would give this a 5 star because the experience was outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayInnSalida, Public Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We make every effort to provide a comfortable stay for our guests. To hear that we have exceeded expectaions pushes us to try even more! Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon!
Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemez Springs, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Found this via a AAA search engine. Not only did the booking person confirm my AAA discount rate, but also honored the $5 discount coupon that I'd found at the Inn's web site. And for the rate, the room was pert near excellent with very comfortable & clean King bed, spaciousness, wheel-chair accessible, CLEAN bathroom. Only glitch, which was handled masterfully by the receptionist, was that the carpets had been steam cleaned that day (or recently) with a odorant additive that was far too strong residually for my nose & sinuses to tolerate. Rather than having to relocate after many hours on the road, she provided a superb air filtration unit that sucked away the odors within the hour. Definitely a good find and I'd return given the opportunity to venture to Salida again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayInnSalida, Public Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm so glad that our receptionist was able to take care of the "over-clean" in your room. Here at the Gateway Inn, all our staff are trained to take care of any glitches that come along. I will make sure this compliment is passed on.
Hope to see you again,
Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Based on our quick check of rates and outside appearance, we chose to stay here.

The room was totally functional and comfortable with both heat and A/C, 37" Flat Screen TV, Microwave, fridge, and comfortable beds.

Rooms and bathrooms on small side but totally functional with 2 adults and 2 kids. Room was very clean with plenty of linens and toiletries.

At $50 night, this was a reasonable option.

Happy Traveling

Uncle Eric

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayInnSalida, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We strive to keep our rooms clean and well-stocked, and I am glad we earned your approval. Hope to see you again!

Tina
guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gateway Inn & Suites Salida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn & Suites Salida

Address: 1310 East US Highway 50, Salida, CO 81201
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Gateway Inn & Suites Salida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Salida
Gateway Motel Salida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.