We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in Salida” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Salida

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Salida to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Salida
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   7400 w hwy 50, Salida, CO 81201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Salida
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Salida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed here 2 nights while vacationing. We used Salida as a base to explore this part of Colorado during a National Parks road trip. The hotel had free parking, free breakfast and our room was large and clean. We had a view of the neighboring fly fishing outfitter from our window, which was fine. Breakfast was good with lots of hot and cold options. The bed was very comfortable and there was a choice of firm and soft pillows. The only negatives (pretty minor) - the TV buzzed on some channels and we could sometimes hear sounds from the next door room (but wasn't a problem). It's not in the cute downtown, but it is not far and we had no trouble parking since we were there after the big river rafting season. Staff were polite and friendly. This seemed to be one of the best places to stay in town, from my casual observation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    48
    29
    10
    10
See reviews for
39
43
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ponca City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

The room was clean and quiet. Beds were ok as far as comfort. Breakfast was good with usual choices and had someone posted to keep food replenished and hot. Front desk clerks were always nice, helpful, and friendly. The book of restaurant menus in the lobby was very helpful as well as the front desk clerk in locating a good place to eat and places the locals avoided. We stayed here two nights with 19 year old triplets after tent camping in the area. We used the hotel as a base to hike, raft, and sightsee.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed here to be close to where our rafting trip expedition was to take place the following morning. It put us about 45 minutes away from Buena Vista and very convenient. Our room was super clean, very quiet, beds were comfy, and our check in host was very helpful in steering us in the right direction for a great dinner. We DID enjoy the pool and hot tub and had them both all to ourselves. A nice break for us both.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We only stayed here one night. No major problems, we were on the first floor and slept fine. The breakfast is good but as others have mentioned, the seating area is cramped. I noticed two computers with internet for guests' use in the lobby. We didn't use the pool but looked at it; I never saw anyone in it. It was an average, uneventful stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed at this hotel 1 night last week. Check in went well, although the front desk clerk was more focused on talking with her fellow employee than taking care of us. The lobby was clean, but very small, so getting guests in and out with bags was sometimes a challenge. The halls are dark and worn. The rooms are dark and worn, but seemingly clean enough. Walls are paper thin and you hear all from the "neighbors". This made for numerous early wake-up calls in the middle of the night. The AC goes on an off with a loud sound. We asked the front desk to send someone to check it, but no one came. Even for a discounted hotel, this one was over priced. A new Hampton Inn is under construction down the street from this place, my guess is it will put this one under.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iola, Kansas
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

The experience was OK. Room was clean but used towels were hanging behind the door. Room was very comfortable and bedding / furnishings were adequate. Breakfast was tasty and plentyful but there was no area to sit down to eat. The breakfast area cannot accomodate even 1/4 of the hotel guests. We carried ours back to our room which is more inconvenient than anything else. I'd probably forego this one if in Salida again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Top Contributor
467 reviews 467 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010 via mobile

The rooms in this hotel are nice, but the reception experience is not up to the nightly room rate.

PROS
*Rooms are crisp, clean and pleasantly decorated.
*I asked for, and received, a top floor room for quiet.
*The general Salida location - near the Sangre de Cristo Mountains, Sawatch Range and Arkansas River Valley is hard to beat for the outdoor enthusiast.
*the standard king rooms are rather spacious for a hotel tis class.

CONS
*I was very underwelmed by the reception area. Small, side door, tiny desk...at first I thought I mistakenly entered through a side door!
*The desk clerk, while friendly enough, did not convey professionalism: cracking gum, home-done tatoos, etc
*This hotel has the old-stle, noisy air conditioning.
*The room sound proofing is not the greatest.

In sum, if paying $85 a night, I could enjoy the simple, pleasant room and ignore the lackluster reception experience. But for the amount paid, I expected just a touch more sophistication at check-in.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Salida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Salida

Address: 7400 w hwy 50, Salida, CO 81201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Salida 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Salida is located in the heart of all your mountain fun! Within minutes you can be hiking, biking, fishing, rafting or skiing just to name a few! We are located only 18 miles from Monarch Ski and Snowboard Area, and are only minutes from rafting or fishing the mighty Arkansas River or relaxing in the Salida Hot Springs swimming pool. The entire hotel has been newly remodeled for your comfort. Our goal at Holiday Inn Express Salida is to make your stay pleasant and accommodating. We also have free wireless high speed Internet access in all rooms for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Salida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Salida Hotel Salida
Holiday Inn Salida
Salida Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Salida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.