We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not great...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Salida

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Salida to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Salida
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   7400 w hwy 50, Salida, CO 81201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Salida
Sioux Falls, SD
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ok but not great...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

My recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express was comfortable although unremarkable. The room was clean and well maintained. Shortly after check in we discovered the TV was not functioning correctly and the staff had it replaced in less than 12 hours. The bathroom was a little small and the bed was clean but a little too hard for my tastes.

There was a free breakfast in the lobby every morning but the food was fairly bland and nothing to write home about. On par with what I have experienced from many other hotels offering a free breakfast. My family enjoyed utilizing the pool area for evening swims.

For some reason that escapes my explanation the elevator ‘closes’ in the evening and then ‘re-opens’ in the morning.

Overall we had a decent stay but given the over $100 / night fee for a regular room, I would have expected a little more.

  • Liked — The pool was nice and the staff was helpfull and friendly.
  • Disliked — The bed was too hard and the T.V. was broken for the first day.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    48
    29
    10
    10
See reviews for
39
43
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Fl.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

Not a huge selection of decent hotels in Salida, Co. but one you can count on for a really, really clean hotel is HI Express in Salida. Very conveinent location, friendly staff, and oh yeah, clean rooms. Breakfast is free and extensive: Eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, bagels, cereal, oj etc. Hot tub and pool enclosed, clean, and warm. Monarch ski is 18 miles west.
Free wi fi as well. If you won't a worry free stay, you cant do better than Holiday Inn Salida.

  • Liked — Clean rooms, and full breakfast.
  • Disliked — nothing bad to report
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

Helpful frontdesk, took care of cancelling another booking for us. Room was bright and airy, comfortable bed. Nice renovations - huge shower! Breakfast was not bad for a typical continental . Even though it is on HWY 50 we did not hear any traffic noise. Just the gurgle of the river outside our room. Stopped a little way down the road for a great cup of organic coffee in the morning. Was worth staying the night and driving to COS airport the next day - only 2 hours. Loved the downtown area.

  • Liked — spacious room, clean and updated
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2007

While in town for a duathlon we decided to stay at the Holiday Inn Express. We got a military rate for $118 a night, which was nice. The hotel room was nice and clean. Our only complaint was that the air conditioning in the room didn't work well. My husband set it to 60 to try and cool it off, but it kept kicking off and didn't cool the room down enough. Luckily the outside temp was in the 50s at night and seemed to help a bit. The free "heavy" continental breakfast was pretty good; no complaints there. Overall, a great stay in Salida!

  • Liked — free breakfast
  • Disliked — air conditioning didn't work well
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
449 helpful votes 449 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

This is a solid Holiday Inn Express. Location is good, right on the main street. Room was quite comfortable, service good. Good parking lot. No complaints at all! (ps - I'm not a fan of continental breakfast at any hotel and need protein for breakfast. The Country Bounty restaurant is just down the street and serves great food!)

  • Liked — Conistent Holiday Inn Express
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

Stayed here for one night while traveling with my son, following up a 2 day visit last year with my wife. Similar experience as before, although the breakfast had improved somewhat over what was mentioned in my prior review. My son did use the pool on this trip, and the water seemed a little too cloudy to me. Front desk staff was very attentive and helpful. Room was clean and everything worked OK. Thumbs up.

  • Liked — easy access to main road
  • Disliked — easy access to main road
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2006

The room was pleasantly decorated, and very comfortable. Staff went out of their way to make me welcome, and were very accomodating at breakfast. There were many items from which to choose at breakfast. Location was quiet. I had a great night's sleep, and would stay there again.

  • Liked — clean, well located, cheery
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Salida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Salida

Address: 7400 w hwy 50, Salida, CO 81201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Salida 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Salida is located in the heart of all your mountain fun! Within minutes you can be hiking, biking, fishing, rafting or skiing just to name a few! We are located only 18 miles from Monarch Ski and Snowboard Area, and are only minutes from rafting or fishing the mighty Arkansas River or relaxing in the Salida Hot Springs swimming pool. The entire hotel has been newly remodeled for your comfort. Our goal at Holiday Inn Express Salida is to make your stay pleasant and accommodating. We also have free wireless high speed Internet access in all rooms for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Salida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Salida Hotel Salida
Holiday Inn Salida
Salida Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Salida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.