We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget what you know about Super 8” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Salida

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Salida to your Saves list
Super 8 Salida
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   525 West Rainbow, (Hwy 50), Salida, CO 81201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Salida
Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Forget what you know about Super 8”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Forget what you know about Super 8--this is not the typical franchise hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by the nice decor and excellent service at this hotel--what a deal! They don't bother to wait to be asked to be helpful, they start providing all the information you need right at check-in. Yes, the parking lot is a little tight, but they found a place for us to park our truck and trailer. Most telling, the surrounding hotels had plenty of vacancies, while this establishment was almost full. The Continental breakfast was adequate: not outstanding, but better than what many more expensive hotels offer. The room decor was very nice and the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djack7, Owner at Super 8 Salida, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
My team works very hard to exceed our guest's expectations. They will be excited to hear that they exceeded yours. Our goal is to make a difference in your stay simply by choosing us. Thank you for your kind words and willingness to post them here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    152
    54
    15
    9
See reviews for
181
121
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is 5 star luxury, a nice motel clean and comfortable a winner from last year and will I am sure this year also.If you are staying in salida Co then make this your accomodation.
Spar/pool and the breakfeast is the best continental I have seen in over 200 motels., around the world. ( two white bread choices would be better than one)
Hotel claims all are new rooms, ours certainly was.
All services are walkable and plenty of choices in town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djack7, Owner at Super 8 Salida, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
You're Hired! To rate us #1 compared to 200 other properties in indeed an honor. All of our rooms have been renovated and the the response has exceeded my expectations. Thanks for taking the time to spread the word about our property, it is appreciated. Looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I had the chance to stay two separate nights at the Salida Super 8 over the course of 10 days. We trailered our bikes over 1,800 miles to Salida to begin an amazing motorcycle ride through Colorado and Utah. Salida is an ideal start/stop point.

I simply cannot say enough about how accommodating Don and Britt are. While the sign displays the name of a national hotel "chain", these inn-keepers add a personal touch that's not easy to find. Don and Britt's hospitality is unmatched. They handled each of our somewhat unusual requests as if they were personal friends...and not just ours, more than once I overheard Don going out of his way to help a guest.

Upon check in we were given helpful information about the hotel and the town of Salida; from recommended restaurants to the location of the Post Office (which we needed!).

The newly renovated rooms were clean, very well done and a nice surprise. Pleasing colors, simple decor, new bedding, soft carpet, refrigerator, microwave, Samsung flatscreen, etc.

The pool and hot tubs were clean and a great bonus.

Guest laundry certainly came in handy.

Breakfast was simple, but sufficient (love the waffles!)

Parking can be tight, but no matter what you arrive with, Don will find a way to work it out.

The icing on the cake was the promotional rate we received!

Great location, amazing inn-keepers, room quality that exceeds the typical Super 8, pool, hot tubs, breakfast included, motorcycle friendly, good rates, fantastic little town....what more can you ask for? For this class of hotel, you will not be disappointed.

Thank you Don and Britt! If we ever return to Salida you have our business!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djack7, Owner at Super 8 Salida, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
OMG! I love the ring to Great Value and Amazing Staff, coupled with your willingness to return that is the icing on the cake. Thanks for the wonderful comments and your willingness to share them. Our team works very hard to exceed our guests' expectations and they will be excited to hear that they exceeded yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is the second year in a row we used the Salida Super 8 as our base of operations during the USA Pro Cycling Race. Salida is a wonderful town and the Super 8 is a great place to stay. Everyone is very friendly, courteous and accommodating. The hotel had an update and the new rooms are very nice, always clean and the grounds are very nice. Don and Britt (owners) are absolutely fantastic hosts, they know the mountains well and are great guides for Colorado...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apalachin, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We are repeat travelers to Salida and we will always stay at the Salida Super 8. Don and Britt are beyond helpful and always have a smile on their face. Don assisted us in our travels to Santa Fe NM and recommended the best restaurants, hotels, museums, and spas. It made our trip so much easier and less stressful than if we were trying to navigate ourselves.The new rooms at the Salida Super 8 are beautiful and modern. The mountain views in Salida are like no other. The room was always spotless. The breakfast bar had a great variety of delicious items. We will definitely be visiting the Salida Super 8 again and look forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djack7, Owner at Super 8 Salida, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
We can not wait for your return! Your choice to stay with us year after year means more than you can imagine. Thank you for your kind words. Our goal is to make a difference in your stay simply by choosing us. Our team (the heart of our hotel) is dedicated to exceeding your expectations. We succeeded!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Germany
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Nice location, clean rooms, friendly staff and great prices. The newly designed rooms add a touch of class not often found in Super 8 hotels. Be sure to utilize the complimenary bikes as they are a perfect way to get around town and a special service you won't find at the other hotels nearby. We are very pleased with our selection and thank those who reviewed the hotel before our stay. The only negative is that you cannot open the blinds to let in some natural light without everyone being able to see in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djack7, Owner at Super 8 Salida, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for choosing us during your travels in the US. I sincerely appreciate your kind comments regarding our property. The recently completed rooms renovation has been positively received. Your touch of class comment is very much appreciated. The complimentary cruiser bikes were added last year and they offer an excellent opportunity to experience Salida in a very personal way. As always I will pass on your positive comment about our staff. They love to hear that their efforts were appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is one of the best Super 8's I have stayed at. The price was great for the location. The rooms were new, looked good and were comfortable. Very clean and the staff was extremely helpful. The breakfast was good and the coffee was too, even the in-room version.

They have 3 (yes, 3!) hot tubs and a nice pool. I would definitely stay here again and bring my family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djack7, Owner at Super 8 Salida, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words. I will be sure to pass the "friendly and helpful" comments on to our team. They will be thrilled. They are the best part of our hotel and we are lucky to work with them. To add the accolade, "One of the Best", is just icing on our cake. We are pleased to have exceeded your expectations. Please come visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Salida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Salida

Address: 525 West Rainbow, (Hwy 50), Salida, CO 81201
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Salida
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Salida 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 Salida hotel located on Route 50 offers easy access to popular outdoor attractions in the Upper Arkansas River Valley. Our Salida, CO, hotel is near Salida Hot Springs and the many 14,000-foot peaks of the Rocky Mountains. If you want to relax after a day of sightseeing and activity, take advantage of our sundeck, heated indoor pool or one of three hot tubs. In the morning, check the weather and map out your trip through the mountains with free high-speed Internet, then get going with free SuperStart continental breakfast. We offer free parking with large-vehicle spaces, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our pet-friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Salida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Salida
Salida Super 8
Salida Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Salida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.