We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shallots

Shallots
137 East 1st Street, Salida, CO 81201
719 539 4759
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 50 restaurants in Salida
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Tapas, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Shallots is a modern American cafe that focuses on quality food and cocktails at a great price. We strive to keep our food and cocktails fresh and interesting, with an emphasis on quality service.
Westminster, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were in Salida for a weekend trip and came across Shallots for breakfast one morning. The food was excellent and decently priced. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 was the slow service. Tables that were seated after us received their food before us and we weren't offered refills until we asked for them. Overall a good experience, but just make sure you have time to spare.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    36
    22
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buena Vista, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awesome food & a fun menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We love that there are small plates on the menu so we can order 3-4 things and share without having to commit to one entree. We had the bacon-wrapped pepadews which are delicious and unique, the street tacos which were very tasty & actually surprisingly filling and the salad with goat cheese & chicken and lots of veggies is amazing!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“Great Food. Great Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Steak Diane was superb. The wine selection was good and very affordable. The service could not have been better.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good Food and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had dinner at Shallots Saturday night. One of the owners was our server. Wonderful food and a really nice restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I had breakfast here recently with some friends. You can tell that great care is put into the food. I had a classic, eggs and sausage. I thought the portion of breakfast potatoes was too small but the food was excellent. I would also suggest the fruit, which is so fresh and delicious (not pre-diced "fresh" fruit in syrup) and obviously prepared to order...the mix was bananas, strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, etc. on this day. Service was good too. Everyone at our table enjoyed their meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shallots also viewed

 

Been to Shallots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shallots, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.