We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Dining in Small Town Salida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laughing Ladies Restaurant

Laughing Ladies Restaurant
128 W 1st St, Salida, CO 81201-2002
719-539-6209
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 52 Restaurants in Salida
Cuisines: Southwestern, Seafood, International, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We are a local, farm to table restaurant specializing in seafood dishes. We feature the freshest, made to order cuisine highlighting Colorado meats and produce. The chefs have great passion for satisfying every guest with the best ingredients available.
Salida, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Dining in Small Town Salida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I recently moved to Salida and was quickly impressed by the number of quaint mom and pop restaurants in town. Laughing Ladies was not the first I tried, but it has quickly become my favorite. I have been to many restaurants with huge menu's that had nothing that looked appetizing... Laughing Ladies was just the opposite. A small and concise menu that still meets every pallet had me wishing I could try a sample of every plate! Being from the midwest, my first time in I had to try to Ribeye Special; not only was it cooked to perfection... I also learned that they source only local colorado antibiotic and hormone free beef... what a bonus and totally delicious. If you are looking for a fantastic meal in Salida, be sure to check out Laughing Ladies!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    52
    21
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not so funny.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hostess asked the two of us to come back in 10 minutes for a two person table, which seemed silly because there were 2 empty four person tables a the time, but fine. It was snowy and we were hungry, but there is a great antique place next door and we didn't fee like making a fuss. We returned and those tables had 2 people at each of them and there were no empty tables.

After hearing many good reviews we were hoping to try this place out. Now, I'm not sure we'll be back. It's much easier and less pretentious to grab a pizza at one of the breweries or super delicious delight at one of the bakeries. So no, we didn't even eat here, but the experience of trying to get to the point of eating something was exceptionally poor.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best higher end restaurant in the valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great menu and preparation. Fresh imaginative dishes, consistently good.

No dislikes for this restaurant.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoita, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delightful Lunch Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Met our friends at this cheery restaurant on the main thoroughfare. Service was prompt and helpful. Three of us had really wonderful salads, one had a tasty cup of French onion soup before the salad. The fourth had a great big burger with a heap of fries. Brewed ice tea was kept full and two had very a good Gewertraminer (sp?) with their salads. Not a fancy place but certainly friendly and very capable.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“special opportunity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This is a fine restaurant, The dishes are diverse, sophisticated, wholesome, and plentiful and are presented with style. The fresh, varied seafood is a special treat. Obviously the chef is gifted. Decor is unpretentious but pleasant with a charming host and attentive servers. The wine options are very good and reasonable as are all the prices. Finding this place in the Colorado mountains is a true delight. I travel through the area several times per year and look forward to visiting laughing Ladies each time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laughing Ladies Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Laughing Ladies Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laughing Ladies Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.