We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere outside but poor food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of River's Edge

River's Edge
300 West Sackett Avenue, Salida, CO
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 50 restaurants in Salida
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, Family Fare, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Salida, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere outside but poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Fun to sit outside by the river. I was disappointed in the salad I had. The lettuce was turning black and mushy at the bottom of the bowl. I ate around it, but very unappetizing. I told our waitress, and she said the manager decided to discount it only $3. With such an experience, I would certainly comp the meal if I was a manager. Won't be returning anytime soon. Also, the prices are a bit steep.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    32
    26
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“So So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We went here with a large group and enjoyed the proxomity to the river but the food was just ok and the waitress we had was kind of rude. She seemed put out when we would ask for something like dressing or ketchup. All in all not too bad.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Green chile chili and a setting to write home (and to TripAdvisor) about”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a resubmission of an incomplete review recently submitted and deleted (couldn't edit):

We have stopped at this location for years on our way through Salida, starting in the "Bongo Billy's" days. This year, we were pleasantly surprised to find the back wall of the formerly relatively small coffee house/cafe completely blown out, resulting in expanded indoor seating and a very large tiered deck/patio. An amazing transformation.
We were with dog so opted for lunch on the patio. Not only is it right next to the Salida whitewater park thus providing free entertainment--watching people playing in kayaks, SUPs and inflatables of all sizes and shapes--but it serves up great food as well. Everything ordered was very good. Two weeks later we had an excuse to be in Salida again and the chance to reorder a favorite, as well as to try some new things. The quesadillas with chile verde had been a winner the first time so that was a reorder, and I ordered a bowl of Chili. Amazing flavors--big hunks of pork and Hatch green chiles, served with a warm tortilla. Very basic. A seriously authentic dish. I'd put it in the same class as high end clam chowder on the coast, or a well made N.O. gumbo. Everything we had was delicious but, from my perspective, the chili really was something special. It should not be missed. We hope to be there for breakfast and/or happy hour/dinner/music events sometime in the future.
BTW, the impetus for this review was that our local supermarket just got in a shipment of Hatch chiles, which reminded me of River's Edge, and we're trying to replicate that dish. If anyone has any tips, please post.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, service, view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Got the recommendation from our hotel. Beautiful setting on the river. Nice variety of dishes presented. Tasty food, friendly service. Pet friendly restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great river setting but service needs improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We always come here when visiting Salida but have only had breakfast and lunch. They did a great job on the expanded deck seating by the river. However, the service this time was slow and the servers were apologizing to us and surrounding tables. It took forever to get our coffee drinks and then again to get food and they weren't even that busy. The issues appeared to be in the back, i.e. kitchen/bar, so perhaps they need more staff to accomodate their expansion. They have a great thing going with location and setting so hopefully they can get service up to par. We'll try again next time we're in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River's Edge also viewed

 

Been to River's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River's Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.