We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with great caretakers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palace Hotel
204 North F Street, Salida, CO 81201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE SUITE UPGRADE!!!
Ranked #3 of 9 Salida B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Allen, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with great caretakers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We just happen to stumble on this hotel as we were downtown. My wife went in to look at the art work as it's a gallery too. She met Fred and his wife, the owners, and after a quick view of the room we knew this was our place for the night. This old building has been beautifully restored and no detail was left out. We had two room suite with small kitchen which was a perfect size for my family of 4. I can't give 6 stars for service and friendliness of the owners but I would if I could. This place is like staying in an old friends home. It's great to be walking distance of the shops and restaurants in such a cute town of Salida. The beds were very comfortable with really nice linens. Slept like a baby as they say. Love the place and we will be back next summer. I may need to book my reservations now as word gets out about the Palace Hotel it will be full all the time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    9
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
60
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

It was great stayed in the govenors suite it was very nice quiet and well appinted so comfortable, The breakfast was nice, It was quiet with the windows closed the staff was very nice and helpfull we have stayed in slaida many times this is what Salida needed. The only marginl part was parking. it kind of came and went. We had a great time in the city and the room was a great place to go back too.

Room Tip: Get a suite it was what all suiets should be
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I took my daughter and her boyfriend to Salida for a couple nights to relax and unwind. We had heard that the Palace was open so we made our reservations online and were excited to experience this historic hotel. We asked for a late check in and everything went smoothly when we arrived. We were in room 205 which is a two bedroom suite. It was clean, spacious and perfect for our needs except for one thing. I thought it was unusual to have a two bedroom suite that only had seating for three in the living area. It didn't stop us from enjoying the space or the closeness to the river, shops and restaurants. The continental breakfast was served in the main hallway and consisted of yogurt parfaits, muffins and various types of juice. Since each room has a fully stocked kitchen in it, coffee grounds were also provided to use in the coffee maker in each room. We enjoyed our stay here immensely and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 205 is a two bedroom suite with a dining table w/four chairs, seating for three and a full kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathrop, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My sisters from Ca. & Tx as well as 4 friends rented 3 rooms for my special birthday party at the nearby historic SteamPlant on the Arkansas Rivier. Each room was stunning. The renovation is so beautiful with each room having its own personality. The bed I had was sooooo comfortable. The special treat was the pastries, yogurt & granola in the am. Couse the best part is the location right by the river. I will stay again!!!

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Thie renovation of The Palace is perfect! The owners thought of all the details from organic shampoos to recycle containers, luxury bedding and a wonderful continental breakfast. A definite high point of all our travels!

Room Tip: Overlooking the park was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This was our first stay in Salida and at the Palace Hotel. We loved it. The hotel was renovated and has been open for three months post-renovation. Our suite was tastefully decorated with antiques or antique look-alikes. It had a small sitting room, a kitchenette (with stove!), a small bathroom, and a bedroom with a walk-in closet. The bed was very comfortable. As I love small spaces, I thought this was great. The staff is very friendly. There are a lot of nice touches, like the yummy coffee in a jar with the hotel logo on it by the coffee maker, the TV hidden inside a china hutch/media cabinet (I don't like how the TV is the focal point in most hotel rooms!), the journal on the table where you can record your thoughts about your stay, the thoughtful breakfast offerings on the buffet in the hallway (yogurt parfaits, apples, baked goods, OJ, and milk), and the staff's efforts to be green. They don't use those little travel-sized toiletries. They do have full-sized shampoo and conditioner you can request, but if you are a lotion addict like I am, you'd better bring your own--they don't have any. A great place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights around the 4th of July and couldn't be happier with the choice.

The room we had 302 overlooked the park with floor to ceiling windows and European / western charm. Super comfy bed, sitting room, kitchen, walk in closet, 10' ceiling... Wow

You need to see it to understand.

The owner and staff were extrely nice and we wish we could have stayed longer but our next cycling trip to CO will be based around Salida and the Palace hotel. They have secure bike storage in te back of hotel normally due to the $ of our bikes we would not stay in a hotel that didn't allow them in the rooms but one look at the rooms and you'll understand why. Without sounding staged " This place is amazing "

I think their website is up as this is newly renovated so we had no idea what a gem this would turn out to be.

Thank you and see you again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: 204 North F Street, Salida, CO 81201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Historic Hotel Downtown Salida,The Palace Hotel is Salida, Colorado’s, premier historic boutique hotel established in 1909. Uncompromised elegance and “Old West” charm create a bastion of comfort and class deep in the heart of the Rocky Mountains. Here, vintage chic meets the modern amenities, in 14 genuinely considered suites.Located in Historic Downtown Salida, Colorado alongside the banks of the Arkansas River, the newly renovated Palace Hotel offers boutique caliber lodging within footsteps of shopping, dining and fly-fishing. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Palace Hotel to your Saves list