We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean property; great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Salida

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Salida to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   785 East Highway 50, Salida, CO 81201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early-Save up to 15%
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Salida
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean property; great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

First time staying here...was pleased with the room, cleanliness and parking. The breakfast was fabulous - lots of variety, hot and cold items and fruit. Much better than most offerings in the price range. Only complaint was the internet connection - signal wasn't great in the room, and you have to enter payment information if you accumulate charges. Most hotels just require an access key to get online. I will definitely stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    52
    29
    21
    9
See reviews for
112
83
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here on night 7 of our road trip. My first problem was that they wouldn' honor the price that we discussed on the phone when I called. I had found a rate on a 3rd party site that they said they would meet. My fault not to get an email in writing but they should have given me the $9 difference in rate. Ok so we went with the rate that they insisted was the only rate they had.
Got to the room and immediately found 2 problems. 1- a pubic hair on the outside of the closed toiled seat and 2- a dirty tissue on the floor next to the closet. I called downstairs and they sent up a housekeeper. She did a nice job, asked me what I would like her to clean. I had her re-clean nearly all of the flat surface not knowing what was clean in the room. I stay in a lot of hotels and this one was one of the worst in terms of cleanliness. I have reviewed many hotels on this site and feel like I have high expectations, but am fair (I do not just bag on hotels).

The housekeeper told me that had 3 new housekeepers on staff and that they were very busy. That was evident.

We left for a couple of hours to get dinner etc. Upon return there was no message from the manager (he was on site I saw him several times), no apology, nothing to recognize their mistake.

Went to the pool which was warm and nice. Very crowded for Spring Break. The manager did come in to have some men remove glass bottles so I know he was around.

The sleep was ok, Bed were ok. No wi-fi in the rooms which in this day and age I think is just awful. People like to check their email (write hotel reviews etc.) in the comfort of their room rather than in the lobby.

The breakfast the next morning was good. The breakfast room/lobby was filthy. You could tell that dozens of people had eaten there and NO attempt was made at all to wipe off tables. There was an attendant in the room, but I could never find him to get him to wipe down tables. Nor could I find anything to wipe them down myself. When I finally saw the manager at the front desk, I went to him (10 am) I told him about our room problems, the lack of clean tables in the breakfast room etc. I told him that this was the least presentable hotel of any that we encountered on our stay. He did apologize but did nothing to make it up to us.

There are many hotels in Salida, pick a different hotel. This hotel does not care about cleanliness.

Room Tip: Stay some where else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We enjoyed our night at this very consistent Hampton Inn. The staff were friendly, the room clean, and there are always enough healthy choices at the breakfast buffet. We liked how close it was to Monarch Mountain for skiing. Even with snow it only took 30 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We checked in Monday for a 2 night stay, hopeful about our experience at Hampton as it usually provides a good experience & we had read glowing reviews about this property.
Epic fail on this property. We checked in around 5 pm Monday. Got up to room #424 & noticed we were stuck across from ice machines even tho' our profile requests quieter location.
Into the room we went..no clean hand towels, carpet not vacuumed. Called front desk & the "manager" brought up hand towels as requested, but I refused one of the towels b/c it was ovbviously soiled. Pointed this out to the manager, but he didn't return with another.
Off to Wal-Mart to get clean supplies...
Later that evening as we crawled into bed, noticed our duvet was seriously stained under the covers. Puzzled...as they leave a sticky note on the bed that says, "This duvet was changed just for your arrival" or something to that affect. Well, ours wasn't. And we assumed our sheets were either. So I called down to the front desk and the phone rang and rang...in fact it rang so long it disconnected. Called again. Same thing. Finally, I dialed the main hotel # from my cell phone and they picked up immediately! WAIT?! Not interested in serving your guests in-house once they've checked in? Yep. Exactly.
I told them about our sheets/bedding being soiled. Hold please. Picked up. Hold please. Picked up. Hold please. Finally, the guy says, "I need to get ahold of my manager but he's asleep." WHAT? Where's housekeeping? So I said, "Just bring up clean bedding & we'll change it ourselves" which we, in fact, did. It took the front desk guy 4 trips up to get the correct bedding, but at that point we were just happy someone was willing to help us.
Told the night helper to PLEASE LET YOUR MANAGER KNOW about this situation. In fact, I told him 3 times. He assured me he would & that they would take care of the situation.
Well, all day Tuesday...not a word from the manager. So around 5 pm, I walked to the front desk & told him what had happened. His response was dismal and insulting. He insinuated first that the bedding was dirty because I had a Do Not Disturb sign on my door. Um, if the room is supposed to be cleaned BEFORE I arrive, what difference would me putting out my DND sign matter at 10 pm at night make? Made no sense. So we went back & forth...and he offered to fix nothing, offered no true apology & literally let me stand there. I was SO shocked at this apathy. I suspect if I had sent my husband down to address it instead, this male manager from another country would have taken this more seriously.
So we checked out & he acted as if nothing had happened. Didn't ask about my stay, just told us to return again when we were in Salida.
Finally - this hotel is nice, just dirty and poorly run. Breakfast is powdered eggs. Cookies mid-afternoon are spartan...5 minutes worth or you're out of luck. We had 3 total groups of friends staying in hotel in different locations and NONE had warm water on Tues morning. I'm not sure how this place stays ranked positively in Trip Advisor but our experience was not satisfactory and nothing was done about it. It is convenient...but so is my car...and my car is cleaner. We will be contacting Hilton directly as husband is rewards member. Hopefully they will take this lapse of management more seriously.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have been skiing Monarch for 15 years and were so excited when Hampton built this lovely new hotel in Salida, Colorado. It is clean and well maintained. We enjoyed the nice quality breakfast buffet and the laundry room was nice as well. Also, the fitness room was well equipped and the pool looked larger than average. Excellent hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Awesome newer hotel located in a good location in Salida. Only about 20 easy minutes to Monarch Ski Area. Our time there was very limited, we checked in around 1am and checked out by 7am. Rooms were nice and quiet. Breakfast was great. Book this hotel with confidence! I am a bit surprised to see that Tripadvisor has it ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Salida. Driving the main drag, I didn't see many other options that looked better. Quality and consistency are hard to beat when it comes to the Hampton brand.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

New-looking hotel that is conveniently located on Highway 50 in Salida. Comfortable, spacious rooms with plenty of necessities stocked in the bathrooms. Very friendly front desk. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Salida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Salida

Address: 785 East Highway 50, Salida, CO 81201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salida
#3 Business Hotel in Salida
#5 Family Hotel in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Salida 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Salida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida Hotel Salida
Hampton Inn And Suites Salida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Salida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.