We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unassuming delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Motel
Save Saved
You added Mountain Motel to your Saves list
1425 East Highway 50, Salida, CO 81201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$69 Fall Color Special
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Salida
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Fe, NM
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An unassuming delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here in early September of this year, after reading glowing reviews on Trip Advisor. They were oh so true. It's a small place on the east side of town, in an unassuming location alongside a liquor store. I had my doubts when I saw that, but the room was very, very clean (I am picky)and remarkably comfortable; the king size bed was luxurious, furnishings quirky and thoughtful. I am certain that every room is unique - each one a sort of artist's statement. Furnishings were found and re-purposed objects, all coordinated in pleasing and sometimes surprising ways which we found intriguing and entertaining to observe and consider. The photos on the motel's website were very accurate for our room on the ground floor of the two story building at the back (room with a tub and hand held shower!). The proprietor was helpful and friendly and readily available and responsive, We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    36
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
39
45
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thornton, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was a decent place to stay. The "cabin" room we were in was clean and well kept with a small kitchen with dishes and two queen beds.
Pros:
Price was very good, clean, kitchen with glasses and a real coffee pot, can of coffee not just a single pot pre measured packet, plenty of towels, rustic interior. Owner was friendly and offered to help if we need anything. Bed was comfortable.

Cons:
Bit of a parking issue as not enough spaces if place is full
Liquor store in what should be the main parking lot (could be a plus depending on your style)
Tiny oddly shaped bathroom hard to maneuver for a large fellow like myself
Squeaky wood floor

Room Tip: Cabin 4 was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a fabulous anniversary weekend in Room #5! Great, comfy bed, spotless room, and super-cool antique decor. Couldn't have been happier. And the proprietor was as friendly as could be! The location is fabulous, too! Easy to find, and just minutes from all of the things we wanted to do in Salida. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was traveling on a motorcycle trip when my friend and I discovered this place. We stopped because of the "look" of it. This guy (the owner) has added a few hanging plants and flowers on the small cabins. It is amazing how just a few additions can really make the place stand out. The owner allowed us to use his washer and dryer which is a Godsend when you only pack a few clothes for a long motorcycle trip. When we asked where to go for dinner the owner turned us on to downtown. And what a great downtown Salida is. It really has that “earth friendly” feel. There where people riding bicycles everywhere downtown, heck we even watched belly dancers out in front of the restaurant we ate at. Anyway, back to the motel…the room was very clean, comfortable beds, a full can of Folgers coffee and a real coffee pot, a patio area off the back with patio furniture. All and all just a great little motel for only $75ish a night (when we were there early September).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I conned Ira into giving me #2 for the same price as a single. It sleeps 5 with 2 double beds and one single bed. It is rustic and paneled with real wood, even the ceiling. I liked that each towel was a different brand and color, same with the clean sheets. 7-11 across the street with liquor store next door. Ira is a gem, but you better smoke only outside or he will be mad. I hated the sitting chair as it was too hard for my butt. Stay a couple of days and the place grows on you.

It's nice to stay some place that has some character. I have traveled all over the world and this area and motel is a classic!! Book ahead as they fill up fast.

Room Tip: Try to book a cabin, they're more fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stopped to check this motel out because of the outside details. Clean, colorful, neat and well thought out. The room was great, quality linens, outside patio, BBQ and a GOOD coffee setup. I really like the heavy mugs for my coffee in the morning. The alarm clock had a Ipod dock and the beds were comfortable. I have spent a lot more money and not gotten the quality and service I received here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for a week while mountain biking in and around Salida and it was perfect. The management couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble. The cabin (#2) in which we lived was amazing. Beautifully furnished and comfortable. There were BBQ's outside the back for client use and lots of outdoor seating/tables etc. overlooking the mountains. The bathroom is in need of refurbishment, and this is on the agenda but it didn't detract in anyway from the enjoyment of our stay here. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Motel

Address: 1425 East Highway 50, Salida, CO 81201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hitchin’ Post Motel cabins, formerly known as the Mountain Motel welcomed its first guests in 1947. In 1996, six more rooms were built to accommodate the tremendous influx of visitors to the motel. The Hitchin’ Post Motel has been a family endeavor, being locally owned and operated since 1947… over 55 years! In December 2011, the owners of The Mountain Motel felt that it was time to showcase the charm and history of the motel by changing the name to The Hitchin’ Post Motel representing the by-gone era of the 1940’s, 50’s and 60’s. After transforming the office area into a lounge and reading room, the energetic owners set to work to begin outfitting the remaining nine rooms with an exhaustive inventory of Mountain Western Retro furniture, fixtures and room décor. Their vision to make the Hitchin’Post, Salida’s FIRST “boutique mote;” and reinventing an American icon – the roadside motel is coming to life!Foremost in the minds of the staff at the Hitchin’Post Motel is to provide guests with a comfortable, cozy, distinctive and memorable stay. One-size DOES NOT fit all! Each room has been reimagined to bring in the owner’s own style to make each room personable and “one-of-a-kind.” Room décor is “Mountain Western Retro” – reminiscent of properties dating back to the 1940’s, 1950’s, and early 1960’s. We consider our motel an ever evolving work of “motel art,” where updates and décor are an on-going effort. We pride ourselves on being the only local motel to bring the “boutique motel” experience to guests visiting Salida.A locally owned motel, the Hitchin’ Post Motel is noticeably different in look and feel from other hotel/motel chains – we love it when our guests are pleasantly “surprised” to find that the motel offers much more than a room to sleep.We invite YOU to share our “Mountain Western Retro” experience! Whether it be… sharing a bowl of chili on a cold day with other guests, or sipping the special “Hitchin’Post Ice Tea on a hot day… your stay at the Hitchin’Post Motel in Salida, Colorado will be a memory to share forever and keep you coming back, year after year. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.