We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, reasonable stay in Salida” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Mountain Motel to your Saves list
Mountain Motel
1425 East Highway 50, Salida, CO 81201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Salida
GreenLeadersBronze level
Grand Junction, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfy, reasonable stay in Salida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are clean and comfortable decorated in a kitschy 50's/60's style. Full size coffee makers (and coffee!) in every room - a definite plus! The staff was helpful with whatever requests or questions that we asked.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    39
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
45
15
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here last year, and on two occasions in the last couple of weeks. My son walked into Room #5, and said, "Oh, man, this is what I want my apartment to look like!! We loved it. Loved being able to sit out back at night. The beds were great!
Ira was a huge help and made us feel right at home. My very favorite motel!!
Can't think of a better hotel experience other than being here at Mountain Motel last year (equally good, warm, and delightful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I found this motel on SUNDAY eve, I was exhausted and in a lot of pain due to an illness I struggle with and if I don't get good sleep the pain becomes more extreme and We were traveling to a trade show in a nearby town and it been a difficult trip as we had blown out our engine 600 miles south, causing us to miss several days of the show and we had to rent a uhaul van which used twice as much gas, and cost us $29.00 a day plus .19 cents a mile, so we already had lost money on the trip and we were stunned to see the prices for small ratty little rooms in this touristy area. I was thrilled when the owner after hearing a bit of our woes came to our rescue and gave us a smoking deal on a great room with an amazingly comfortable king bed. There was a soak tub in the room, a flat screen tv, kitchenette, and a rocking chair. It was perfect in every way!! yes it was a little quirky as to the decor but in a delightful way... for example someone welded copper pipes together for towel racks and a toilet roll holder. There were pictures everywhere of the owner a former skier, and my room had snow skies, and actual skies mounted on the wall. I thought it was cool. There were beautiful flowers everywhere, a view of the mountains to die for and the owner Ira ( who judging from these reviews must be married to Irene) is just plain sweet. I know he could have gotten a lot more money for this room and he chose not to because he felt bad that we had all the travel problems. Anyway finding this room for the price he let me have it for was like a miracle. And The bed was not too soft it was simply divine, not sure if I have ever slept that well. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: I was in room six and just loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, WI
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A group of us came to Salida for 5 days of fishing. The motel is at the edge of town so a little quieter but convenient to the historic district. Each room has its own flavor and the owners are continually upgrading. The rooms are spacious with a great TV but the beds are a bit soft and the towels and bath/shower area could be better. But the hosts are very welcoming and helpful for tips on what to do and where to eat. I'll come back here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Mountain Motel has great views of the mountains. The beds are new and are comfortable. Each room is decorated with a flair. The rooms are super clean. The owner is easily reached by phone if not on site and is really friendly and helpful. The little kitchenettes are well-equipped. I have stayed several times this year with much pleasure. Each room is different, but I prefer the upstairs or the cottages, which are very popular. I am very pleased to recommend Mountain Motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my family en route to New Mexico, it's a must stay. The management was friendly and nice, the rooms we're clean and cozy, and the view of the mountains was wonderful. It was nice to have a full (if small) kitchen. Staying there was like being in my own house once again. The beds we're so comfy. Best hotel I've stayed in in the USA.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I went on a little get-away with my girlfriend, and this place was great. It is much cheaper than some of the other places in town, and they just refurbished and re-did much of the motel, so the new part is very nice, very clean, and very rustic. The beds were in very good shape, the kitchen part was furnished with the necessary accessories to help you get by, it's just a gem of a little place for a good value when normally you're either breaking the bank or staying somewhere cheap. Irene the owner was very friendly and gave us great advice about where to eat in town and what to go see. All of her recommendations were spot on, and she even offered to help us get a two for one deal at Monarch Mountain the next day.
It helped me save a lot over some of the bed and breakfast places in town, and there are good places to eat in town like Ferraro's (check the marsala and alfredo, made right).
If you're on a little bit of a budget, this place is ideal, and even if not, it's worth considering, the new rooms feel like you are in a cabin.

Room Tip: I didn't see the more cabin-type rooms, but the new rooms at the back they just re-did are reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Motel

Address: 1425 East Highway 50, Salida, CO 81201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hitchin’ Post Motel cabins, formerly known as the Mountain Motel welcomed its first guests in 1947. In 1996, six more rooms were built to accommodate the tremendous influx of visitors to the motel. The Hitchin’ Post Motel has been a family endeavor, being locally owned and operated since 1947… over 55 years! In December 2011, the owners of The Mountain Motel felt that it was time to showcase the charm and history of the motel by changing the name to The Hitchin’ Post Motel representing the by-gone era of the 1940’s, 50’s and 60’s. After transforming the office area into a lounge and reading room, the energetic owners set to work to begin outfitting the remaining nine rooms with an exhaustive inventory of Mountain Western Retro furniture, fixtures and room décor. Their vision to make the Hitchin’Post, Salida’s FIRST “boutique mote;” and reinventing an American icon – the roadside motel is coming to life!Foremost in the minds of the staff at the Hitchin’Post Motel is to provide guests with a comfortable, cozy, distinctive and memorable stay. One-size DOES NOT fit all! Each room has been reimagined to bring in the owner’s own style to make each room personable and “one-of-a-kind.” Room décor is “Mountain Western Retro” – reminiscent of properties dating back to the 1940’s, 1950’s, and early 1960’s. We consider our motel an ever evolving work of “motel art,” where updates and décor are an on-going effort. We pride ourselves on being the only local motel to bring the “boutique motel” experience to guests visiting Salida.A locally owned motel, the Hitchin’ Post Motel is noticeably different in look and feel from other hotel/motel chains – we love it when our guests are pleasantly “surprised” to find that the motel offers much more than a room to sleep.We invite YOU to share our “Mountain Western Retro” experience! Whether it be… sharing a bowl of chili on a cold day with other guests, or sipping the special “Hitchin’Post Ice Tea on a hot day… your stay at the Hitchin’Post Motel in Salida, Colorado will be a memory to share forever and keep you coming back, year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.