We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mountain Motel to your Saves list
Mountain Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1425 East Highway 50, Salida, CO 81201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Salida
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oregon, WI
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quirky but great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A group of us came to Salida for 5 days of fishing. The motel is at the edge of town so a little quieter but convenient to the historic district. Each room has its own flavor and the owners are continually upgrading. The rooms are spacious with a great TV but the beds are a bit soft and the towels and bath/shower area could be better. But the hosts are very welcoming and helpful for tips on what to do and where to eat. I'll come back here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    41
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
41
48
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Mountain Motel has great views of the mountains. The beds are new and are comfortable. Each room is decorated with a flair. The rooms are super clean. The owner is easily reached by phone if not on site and is really friendly and helpful. The little kitchenettes are well-equipped. I have stayed several times this year with much pleasure. Each room is different, but I prefer the upstairs or the cottages, which are very popular. I am very pleased to recommend Mountain Motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my family en route to New Mexico, it's a must stay. The management was friendly and nice, the rooms we're clean and cozy, and the view of the mountains was wonderful. It was nice to have a full (if small) kitchen. Staying there was like being in my own house once again. The beds we're so comfy. Best hotel I've stayed in in the USA.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I went on a little get-away with my girlfriend, and this place was great. It is much cheaper than some of the other places in town, and they just refurbished and re-did much of the motel, so the new part is very nice, very clean, and very rustic. The beds were in very good shape, the kitchen part was furnished with the necessary accessories to help you get by, it's just a gem of a little place for a good value when normally you're either breaking the bank or staying somewhere cheap. Irene the owner was very friendly and gave us great advice about where to eat in town and what to go see. All of her recommendations were spot on, and she even offered to help us get a two for one deal at Monarch Mountain the next day.
It helped me save a lot over some of the bed and breakfast places in town, and there are good places to eat in town like Ferraro's (check the marsala and alfredo, made right).
If you're on a little bit of a budget, this place is ideal, and even if not, it's worth considering, the new rooms feel like you are in a cabin.

Room Tip: I didn't see the more cabin-type rooms, but the new rooms at the back they just re-did are reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Kansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Two days prior to our trip with our dogs I called and made a reservation. I asked if arriving late was an issue because we would be getting in between 10:30 and 11pm. The owner said that was no problem, the door would be left open, the key inside and to come by the office the next day. When we got there just before 11pm the room was locked and it looked as though someone was in it. I went to the office which was luckily open but was extremely disappointed to learn that the owner I had spoken with on the phone, gave our room away. So much for a reservation. She did call another hotel that takes dogs down the road and found us a place to stay and did pay for 1 of our 2 night stays there. It was a cheaper hotel than the price of hers. It was a horrible inconvenience since we were exhausted already. Yes it panned out, but I won't make another reservation here because I can't trust that it will be there when I get there. And when traveling with dogs, it is a very scary situation since very few places take pets thus the importance of a reservation.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene A, Owner at Mountain Motel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Kim has every right to be upset and disappointed - I totally messed up on her reservation and was mortified to say the least. My system dropped the reservation sometime after 10:00PM. The weather was quite bad that evening and at approximately 10:30pm, a young gal, traveling over the mountains by herself, dropped by the motel to ask about the road conditions between Salida and I-70. As a mother, I would not want my young daughter traveling over that road at night by herself.. especially not in bad weather , so I encouraged her to find a place to stay in Salida and travel during the day. She asked if I had a room - my reservation sheet showed one room. I booked the young gal into that room. When Kim arrived later, I realized that the room that I put this gal into was the one that had been booked by Kim.

Unfortunately the room was not available when Kim arrived - it was too late in the evening and the young gal was already in bed. Being very embarrassed, I apologized, took a deep breath and started working on getting Kim into another motel. Kim was traveling with a pets so options were limited, but I was able to get her into another motel and paid for one of the two nights.

This experience was an eye opener - it was the first time something like this had happened. I learned that my system was programmed to drop reservations after a certain time. OH NO! Although I cannot go back and rewrite the two day experience for Kim, what I can do and have done is use this experience as a learning opportunity and to have my programmer change the "drop" to a "hold" category that will allow me to manually post an arrival time.

My most sincere apologies go out to Kim and her family.

Irene Allen
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was a last-minute stop as we didn't want to venture Monarch Pass in the dark and snow. At the end of a strip of chain motels and gas stations, the Mountain Motel is a gem. Irene, the proprietor, is friendly, chatty, accommodating and incredibly helpful. She is in the process of remodeling the rooms to offer charm and and a quirky Western aesthetic as well as comfort and convenience. This little motel is well on its way to becoming a boutique find.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goddard, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Prospecting the cyber sites for a place for a place to get in out of the cold and bed down, I happened upon the site of Mountain Motel in Salida. It caught my interest--nothing big and fancy like corporate hotels--but warm, cozy, and comfortable and maybe friendly. Calling on the land line to the registration desk, I talked to the proprietor Irene about the location and amenities. I decided to stake a claim for five nights. Costs of the claim was real reasonable--did not need a swimming pool or a hot tub--a hot shower would work just great. Talking to Irene was like striking up a conversation with an ol'e friend. She helped me with info and things to make to trip work which was skiing our buns off with my son at Monarch Ski Resort.
We stayed in the newer efficient room with new queen beds. Quiet, clean, remodeled with frig, micro, and flat TV. There are cabin rooms that gives a feeling of real mountain cabin. These cabins are authentic older nothing fake cabins. They are very clean, warm and cozy. I plan on staying in a cabin the next ski or motorcycle excursion to Salida. I have stayed in corporate hotels which do the job providing a place to stay, however, hotels miss the ability to extend the individual attention that a individual owner can. Individual attention is what Irene is about. This is her home in Salida. She wants the guests to feel at home at Mountain Motel while prospecting the area mountains.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Motel

Address: 1425 East Highway 50, Salida, CO 81201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hitchin' Post Motel, formerly know as the Mountain Motel welcomed its first guests in 1947. In 1996, six more rooms were built to accommodate the tremendous influx of visitors to the motel. The Hitchin' Post Motel has been a family endeavor, being locally owned and operated since 1947... Over 55 years! In December 2011, the owners of The Mountain Motel felt that it was time to showcase the charm and history of the motel by changing the name to The Hitchin' Post Motel representing the by-gone era of the 1940's, 50's and 60's. After transforming the office area into a lounge and reading room, the energetic owners set to work to begin outfitting the remaining nine rooms with an exhaustive inventory of Mountain Western Retro furniture, fixtures and room decor. Their vision to make the Hitchin'Post, Salida's FIRST "boutique mote;" and reinventing an American icon - the roadside motel is coming to life!Foremost in the minds of the staff at the Hitchin'Post Motel is to provide guests with a comfortable, cozy, distinctive and memorable stay. One-size DOES NOT fit all! Each room has been reimagined to bring in the owner's own style to make each room personable and "one-of-a-kind." Room decor is "Mountain Western Retro" - reminiscent of properties dating back to the 1940's, 1950's, and early 1960's. We consider our motel an ever evolving work of "motel art," where updates and decor are an on-going effort. We pride ourselves on being the only local motel to bring the "boutique motel" experience to guests visiting Salida.A locally owned motel, the Hitchin' Post Motel is noticeably different in look and feel from other hotel/motel chains - we love it when our guests are pleasantly "surprised" to find that the motel offers much more than a room to sleep.We invite YOU to share our "Mountain Western Retro" experience! Whether it be... Sharing a bowl of chili on a cold day with other guests, or sipping the special "Hitchin'Post Ice Tea on a hot day... Your stay at the Hitchin'Post Motel in Salida, Colorado will be a memory to share forever and keep you coming back, year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.