We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horseback riding at it's Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granite Mountain Outfitters

Granite Mountain Outfitters
South of Poncha Pass, Hwy 285 & Dorsey Creek, Salida, CO
+1 719-530-0480
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Trail Rides or Horseback Rides 1 hour Horseback Rides, 2.5 hour Horseback Riding, 1/2 day Trail Rides, Full day Trail Rides. "A Ride of a Lifetime" Granite Mountain Outfitters horses are gentle and are suited for beginner to experienced riders. We look forward to giving you a ride of a lifetime, experienced guides, responsive horses and fabulous country! Native mountain horses are sure-footed and allow for a western experience of scenic mountain views, wildflowers and wildlife. Horseback rides or trail rides are guided and specialize in scenic rides with personalized attention. From novice to expert we will match the horse, the rider, and the group to each rider's ability. An ideal group size is no more than 4-6 horses; however, larger groups are catered to on an individual basis. Riding helmets are available for children and adults at no charge and are ASTM-SEI approved. The rides leave at 8700ft riding to 10,000ft viewing the Sangre de Cristo's, San Lewis valley, historic Mt Ouray & the Collegiate Peaks. A short driving distance from the Buena Vista and Salida area. We ride with pride and have a ton of fun!
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horseback riding at it's Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I recently had the opportunity to take a good friend on a terrific 2 hour horseback ride in the mountain range a few minutes south of Poncha Springs, Colorado. I have been riding horses for over 50 years and consider myself very experienced on the back of a horse. I would be remiss to say that this is a must stop, if one is looking for a safe and professionally run horseback riding facility that offers both beginner and seasoned rider a great experience and beautiful views of the
mountains, valleys and on a clear day to the south the Great Sand Dunes! My good friend Bob having ridden only once before went through a short orientation on how to safely handle a horse had a blast! One last thing Sue puts her heart and soul into everyone having a terrific experience the horses are top notch! Big Thanks you and your staff! I will be back...save Harley for me. Hans

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Time, Amazing Views, Beautiful Animals..and I didn't even take a ride!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Our band was playing for the FibArk festival and we took the kids with us. We found several things to do around the town of Salida(of course) but last year we took them horseback riding and they loved it so we booked it again! Upon arrival, the horses greeted us right away by coming over to say hello…the boys loved it. Both guides made sure to go over the appropriate safety instructions and both boys (age 2 and 3) got to ride their very own horse (with me, of course, as a safety net to the side). The ride was not long, as it shouldn't be with two young kiddos, but it was just long enough for them to have and amazing time leaving them both smiling from ear to ear! When we were finished, the main guide put both boys on one of the gentle horses, and took them for a quick jaunt together through the sage brush…It was a great time. The family loved it and the guides were informative, friendly and patient. The horses were calm, manageable and welcoming. Will see them next year for sure!!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Beautiful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The horses were great and calm. Beautiful scenery and great way to see the mountains. Guide could have been more personable.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Memorial Day Weekend Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Had a great experience with this company. Myself and some friends went for the 2 hour ride and were taken up to 10,000 feet over looking some beautiful Colorado country. Before we started Sus gave us a very through safety and riding lesson. The horses were great, she even added some background info along the way of where we were and what we where looking at. The landscape was beautiful, fields, aspen forest, over looks, creeks. We plan on coming back in the fall for when the aspens start to change color. Very well priced as well, they offer a military discount also.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Helmbolt Family Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Never been on a horse,guide gave easy and very useful information the horses were wonderful and easily guided(could do the trail blindfolded the mostbeautiful view ever...affordable rates...will leave you with a memory you will never forget...Thank You Sue and company!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Granite Mountain Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granite Mountain Outfitters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.