We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Sunrise Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Isabel Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added San Isabel Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
San Isabel Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15914 County Road 260, Salida, CO 81201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Salida B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Springfield, Missouri, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunrise Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We just visited San Isabel B&B September 17 and 18. We were traveling with another couple. We loved our time there. We had the entire lower level of the house to ourselves. The breakfasts were fantastic. We enjoyed the outdoor hot tub under the stars at night. We awoke early to film a gorgeous sunrise and later, a double rainbow. Dick and Cam were gracious hosts as were their two labs, Lucy and Cleo. We did have to share a bathroom that required some scheduling. We would be glad to return to this B&B if we are ever in Salida again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanisabelbandb, Owner at San Isabel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review about your stay with us. Sorry we have taken so long to thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your time here and were lucky enough to be able to see for yourselves our great mountain views and sunsets!! Hope we see you again!
Thanks, Dick & Cam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
61
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the San Isabel B&B for 3 nights and ABSOLUTELY LOVED our stay here... The property is perfectly located amid gorgeous breath taking views of the mountains and is so beautifully set up such that you cannot miss them no matter where in the house you are... Plus it is extremely well maintained, clean, and very cozily decorated. It is well equipped with a couple patios, a hot tub, a tv room, a coffee and tea station, a small library and a gorgeous living room that you are welcome to enjoy... Dick and Cam's hospitality is unbelievable!!! They are very warm and eager to help make your stay a memorable one; they know the area well and are also super helpful in getting activities set up for you if need it... and the breakfast they make is beyond delicious!!! I would steal every recipe from them if I could (and Cam was nice enough to share some with me)... Downtown Salida is only 10 minutes drive away from here and that is just the perfect distance if you want to enjoy the peace and calm but also be close to restaurants and the river... They have 2 dogs and a cat who are just delightful... We will be bringing our dog too the next time we go there... which means we will definitely be going back there soon... Seriously, I am not one of the people who gives a great review easily and I cannot recommend this place more... Don't miss out on the chance to visit this place if you have it... I assure you, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Flying Goose and loved it... But all the rooms are great and have their own special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanisabelbandb, Owner at San Isabel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
The two of you were great company! Thanks for the glowing review - hope we can live up to it with future guests. It was so easy to spend time with you, and we hope you got that extra charge to jump into your busy lives. Thinking of you and Persia and hoping you feel as lucky as she is. Hope you bring her with you next time so we can meet her and see how well the three of you get along. All the best!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We felt extremely welcomed by Dick and Cam in their beautiful home. I was traveling with my kids, and my sister's family from overseas, and they were equally impressed. We had the two rooms downstairs reserved, so we had privacy, as well as the shared TV room and the patio with a hot tub and a fire pit to enjoy. The kids loved all the animals, especially the dogs and the lamas. The breakfast was superb: Eggs Benedict made of fresh eggs from their own hens! Could not have asked for a better visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanisabelbandb, Owner at San Isabel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
So glad you were able to squeeze us in on your whirlwind trip through the west. Hope all of your destinations gave you the experiences you were looking for. We thoroughly enjoyed your company and hope you can return to the states again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscatine, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is was my first B&B experience. very impressed- even my husband couldn't complain about the accommodations. We stayed with his parents and also his brother (5 of us in the basement) Sharing a bathroom with strangers might have been a little odd, but I’m sure I could get over that. Water was always hot & linens were clean...unlike the hotel we stayed at in Salida *ahemHamptonahem*. Cam & Dick were great hosts, always friendly and never nosey. You can't get a better environment in a hotel- especially for their reasonable price. Highly recomended and in a great location!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanisabelbandb, Owner at San Isabel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to enjoy you're time here in the valley. Cam and I enjoy sharing our home and area with wonderful guests like you. We hope to see you again. Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

San Isabel is beautiful! Dick and Cam are excellent hosts, and made us feel right at home. They gave us great information about things to check out in the area - from restaurants to hikes - and they were incredibly accommodating and helpful as we had to change plans on the fly due to health challenges. The only downside is having to share a bathroom with other guests.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krum, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I, my wife, and six-year old daughter, had a tremendous experience at San Isabel B & B.
We came here two years ago for the first time, without our daughter. Having had a great first stay, we decided to happily come again, and we did not regret this decision at all. Our hosts were just sublime, helping with everything we needed, our daughter opening up to them that we were exhilarated by this, and the atmosphere of the place felt divine.
We happily recommend the San Isabel Bed & Breakfast to anyone who likes the beautiful Colorado mountain area. Thank you so much for a great stay! A+++++

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great. Upstairs you get the outdoor view, and downstairs you get more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The San Isabel b&b was a great place to stay. The scenery is beautiful and Dick and Cam made us feel at home. From the time we walked in til the time we left it felt like we were in our own home. I will definitely come back. Highly recommend.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Isabel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Isabel Bed and Breakfast

Address: 15914 County Road 260, Salida, CO 81201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Isabel Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Isabel Bed and Breakfast is a log home with 360 degree mountain views. We have four rooms with queen size beds. We serve a full gourmet breakfast created with fresh eggs from our own chickens. Located midway between Salida and Buena Vista and close to all outdoor activities. We're a short 25 minutes to Monarch Ski Area and just 10 minutes to Mt Princeton Hot Springs. Come relax in our outdoor hot tub or enjoy just relaxing on the deck or patio while taking in the star filled skies, possibly catch some grazing deer or elk. You will be greeted by Lucy and Cleo our Labs maybe even by Andy our house cat. Yes we are pet friendly (call for details). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your San Isabel Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Isabel Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.