We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, well-run, and friendly spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Isabel Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added San Isabel Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
San Isabel Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15914 County Road 260, Salida, CO 81201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Salida B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Evanston, IL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quiet, well-run, and friendly spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were two mature couples traveling together, and the San Isabel B&B was an ideal choice for our needs. The inn is small, a total of four guest rooms, but we had a "mini-suite" with two bedrooms and a sitting area away from the rest of the house. Although the location is fairly remote, the town of Salida is only a 15 minute drive away and offers more dining choice than one might guess. Breakfast was quite good and featured fresh eggs which were gathered from the hens in an adjacent hen house.

The owners, Dick and Cam, were extremely accommodating and helped us with travel and dining trips. I would recommend this facility to almost anyone looking for an alternative to a large, chain-type motor inn in the upper Arkansas river valley. The views of the surrounding mountains are spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanisabelbandb, Owner at San Isabel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
We are so pleased to have met you and are glad to know you enjoyed staying with us! No matter where one seems to travel, there's always someone who was your neighbor within a hundred miles. . . Thanks for spending your time in Salida with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
61
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canyon Lake, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Lovely Bed and Breakfast in a beautiful setting. Cam and Dick were wonderful with us and we love their dogs. Breakfast was fantastic, gourmet style every morning, that was a real treat. We have a fantastic time. I highly recommend this cozy bed and breakfast with beautiful views and a great landscaping to anybody that is planning to visit Salida o Buena Vista, CO.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanisabelbandb, Owner at San Isabel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
So happy you enjoyed the breakfast! It's all up to the girls in the barnyard, you know. Hope you're able to spend time with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

For the first time in our almost 40 years of marriage, my husband and I struck out on an adventure with no itinerary! That found us one evening - it got late much quicker than we thought - looking with great trepidation because of the hour for a place to spend the night. We needn't have worried! Cam and Dick welcomed us with open arms - and fresh banana bread, fruit, cookies and tea! They settled us in quickly and comfortably. Breakfast and conversation the next morning were both outstanding. Their property is surrounded by incredible views that fill one with peace. We were there too short a time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanisabelbandb, Owner at San Isabel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review!! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, we certainly enjoyed meeting and sharing our home with you. Hope you return soon and spend more time!! Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This stay was very cozy! The bed was soft and comfortable and the room was clean and had everything we needed. The hosts were very kind, great conversation and helpful in finding things for us to do on our trip. The breakfast was also delicious! The views and the home itself have beautiful landscaping and lovely areas to sit and enjoy the company and the scenery!
Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: All the rooms and scenery is lovely, but if you want good views, choose the upstairs rooms! If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanisabelbandb, Owner at San Isabel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
We're glad that you enjoyed both parts of our bed AND breakfast. It's an easy task when we live in the Arkansas Valley and wake up each morning to the views. Hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at this quiet little bed & breakfast and had an outstanding experience! The owners, Cam and Dick, were very welcoming and we shared great stories and experiences from around the world. This cozy hideaway has some of the best views and is very relaxing - to include their amazing landscaping, hot tub, dogs (Zoe and Cleo), and beautiful landscaping. I would highly recommend this bed & breakfast to anyone, and I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Basement rooms are cooler and have unlimited access to the patio and hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanisabelbandb, Owner at San Isabel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
We certainly enjoyed you stay and the great conversation. It's nice to sit around the breakfast table and share stories with our guests. We look forward to your next visit! Thank you for the great recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We loved our stay at San Isabel. Dick and Cam are gracious and warm hosts (and so are their dogs!). The sunset and sunrise over the Collegiate Peaks was spectacular from their large deck and their location is perfect: quiet and peaceful, but just a short drive into Salida for some great restaurants or to the river for some outdoor recreation. We only wish we has stayed more than one night!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanisabelbandb, Owner at San Isabel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for the great review!! Cam and I have been very lucky to have had great guests like you to share our home and area with. We'll luck forward to your next visit, hope you'llbe able to stay longer. Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

San Isabel B&B is exactly what I wanted for my fiancee's birthday weekend getaway. The owners are incredibly friendly and accommodating and made us a breakfast to-go so we could get up early and climb Mt. Harvard! The property is nicely maintained with beautiful landscaping. We loved their outdoor patio, which has a new pergola that covers a cozy sitting area. There's a little stone waterfall, which helps create a peaceful, tranquil environment, as you sit outside and enjoy a good book, watch the hummingbirds fly by, or just take in the view of 14ers all around you. Breakfast was delicious...omelets with green chilis, crispy bacon, fresh fruit, and OJ. They even had pound cake and cookies on the tea/coffee station throughout the day, which was a much appreciated snack, especially have a 6 hour hike. We highly recommend this place to anyone staying in the Salida/Buena Vista area.

Room Tip: We got one of the upstairs rooms for the views. I think I'd do upstairs again, even though the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanisabelbandb, Owner at San Isabel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of some of what the area has offer. We enjoyed being able to share our home with you and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Isabel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Isabel Bed and Breakfast

Address: 15914 County Road 260, Salida, CO 81201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Isabel Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Isabel Bed and Breakfast is a log home with 360 degree mountain views. We have four rooms with queen size beds. We serve a full gourmet breakfast created with fresh eggs from our own chickens. Located midway between Salida and Buena Vista and close to all outdoor activities. We're a short 25 minutes to Monarch Ski Area and just 10 minutes to Mt Princeton Hot Springs. Come relax in our outdoor hot tub or enjoy just relaxing on the deck or patio while taking in the star filled skies, possibly catch some grazing deer or elk. You will be greeted by Lucy and Cleo our Labs maybe even by Andy our house cat. Yes we are pet friendly (call for details). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your San Isabel Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Isabel Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.