We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great patio” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boathouse Cantina

Boathouse Cantina
228 N F St., Salida, CO 81201-2107
719.539.5004
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 50 restaurants in Salida
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great patio”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We sat on the patio with a view of the river, which was great

Food was good. We had a burger and the carne asada tacos. Margaritas were below average. Prices were reasonable for what you got.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    122
    66
    39
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
CT
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“wonderful view!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Be sure to get a table by a window so you can watch the swimmers and kayakers coming down the Arkansas River! We ordered fish tacos and they were fine but not special.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard, Colorado
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Arkansizzling Shrimp Tacos!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Got to try the ARKANSIZZLING SHRIMP TACOS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! A beautiful setting on the Arkansas River in mid-town Salida on F Street. The Arkansizzling Shrimp Tacos and the French Dip with Gruyere Cheese were the entrees we selected. Lots of food!!!!! Just a real nice place for a meal while spending time in downtown Salida. Great service - great food - great atmosphere. It doesn't get any better than the Boathouse Cantina.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Boathouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

really nice people and great place to hangout and watch the river. the food was delicious and we love coming there every time we visit Salida.......

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Atmospheric view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I had an early dinner there the other day and left with mixed feelings about it. Our server was friendly and attentive. We were lucky to be able to enjoy a seat overlooking the river. The breeze was wonderful and the kayakers and fisherman were entertaining.
My drink, a mojito, was ok. It wasn't the worst I've ever had but it was fairly far from the best. My friend had a tap beer and was pleased with hers. The food was ok. I ordered the french fry appetizer with green chile. That was good. The chile sauce was spicy and made the french fries taste better than average. The chipotle chicken taco I ordered was fairly awful. It was evident (by the taste) that the chicken used was a combination of dark meat and 'other' parts of the chicken (no breast or other white meat). The chipotle sauce was so bland that I was unable to taste it under the taste of the dark meat. My friend did not complain about her chicken club sandwich (she said the chicken tasted good).


Overall, I would consider returning if a friend suggested it. I will not give the tacos or mojitos another shot though.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boathouse Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Boathouse Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boathouse Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.