We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great biscuits and gravy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Base Camp Cafe

Base Camp Cafe
129 East 3rd Street, Rifle, CO 81650
970 625-0374
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 33 Restaurants in Rifle
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Houma, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great biscuits and gravy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Sadly, I can't personally give you any more of a review than on the biscuits and gravy - they are excellent! However, my family regularly eats breakfast here (they are locals) and they eat a variety of breakfast foods (unlike myself) and obviously they love it here, or they wouldn't come so often! A busy little place, especially in the mornings. Definitely come have breakfast if you are in town!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Maybe not 100% "home cooking", but you get what you pay for. I do enjoy coming here frequently and like to try different things. Breakfast is pretty good, but everything else is... meh.
The portion sizes are enormous in my opinion, but that just means I get 2 meals for the price of 1!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rifle, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I love their breakfast! I'd rather come here than any Denny's or Village Inn. The prices are great too. I usually order French toast, eggs, and pancake which I love for breakfast! When I go for lunch I order a Philly cheese steak which is delicious. The beef is tender and yummy. The only thing I don't like are the fries. They're not crispy, I think they're baked. Also there's a lot of taxi derby which is kind of a Rifle thing, I guess, but it's still scary to eat around dead animals...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The service was great, and the food was down home. We had breakfast and dinner, and were not dissappointed with anything we ordered.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Pretty great breakfasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We found that they're breakfasts were really quite good and large portions. It's a small town cafe with typical small town objects of art and memorabilia on the walls. No complaints here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Base Camp Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Base Camp Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Base Camp Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.