We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly, great value, helpful management, and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gateway Lodge to your Saves list
Gateway Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   520 Railroad Avenue, Rifle, CO 81650 (Formerly Winchester Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rifle
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“friendly, great value, helpful management, and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

is our first time at winchester motel and we would like to thank the management and the housekeepers for keeping the motel so clean and they have a good continental breakfast a big parking space and friendly staff

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    7
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
9
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

thank you for receiving my review this motel is very clean and comfortable and the manager is very nice and good value for the rooms and freakfast was very good and the people behind the desk were extremely pleasant and helful and they have bery good rates vey clean rooms we got a very good price for two QQ for the price of ($65.93/night )and they have new beds i raely recomend this motel to stay thank you winchester motel in rifle co

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

i cant believe this place is in business, the bedbugs were horrendous. the front desk personel were worse if thats possible they told us hot water was to be used in the evenings only. when i asked for a clean bedspread they told me once a month they laundered them, oh sick. they said the bugs were only roaches sik!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! UNBELIEVEABLE AND THE SCUM PEOPLE STAYING THERE WERE OBVIOUSLY Crack freaksFORTUNATELY THEY REFUNDED OUR MONEY AND WE FOUND A CLEAN!!!!!!!!!!! PLACE TO STAY

Room Tip: stay away bedbugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurczaczeksz, General Manager at Gateway Lodge, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Reviews like yours push us even harder to make sure we do our best and improve our motel, we're under new management and want to make sure your stay here is pleasant! We hope you'll give us another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

I had a very pleasant experience staying at the Winchester Motel. The manager was extremely nice and helpful, he even gave me a ride to McDonalds, since I had a big moving truck with a car in-tow, and everything nearby was closed. The room was simple, but very nice and clean, with a comfortable bed. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offenburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Geat!
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This was the best Motel on our roundtrip through the Rockys.
We found this Motel in Rifle Douwntown far away from the Highway.
We had an nice and clean room, breakfast, and the best price, only 60 $ with AAA.
...................................................................................................................................................................
We were realy surprised

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, WY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Stayed seven nights due to work. Was given a room with no windows and extremely loud and annoying neighbors above. Dealt with being woken up numerous time in three nights then called management. I was told "they are paying customers, you might mention something to them, they have a kid". One more night went by and still the same thing. Finally given a different room with two days left. Put "do not disturb" on door and housekeeping still knocked and entered room. I worked at night and slept during day. Told management again they said "no, they have to knock". Terrible Management. Made me feel as if I were hispanic I would have been treated better.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurczaczeksz, General Manager at Gateway Lodge, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
We want to make sure that all of our past and present customers know that we're under new management. We apologize about your bad experience. Noisy neighbors are a nuisance and that matter should have been taken care of properly. We hope you'll give us a chance to make things better and make sure your stay is peaceful and enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milaca, Minnesota, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Thank you for the receiving my review. This hotel was very pleasant and comfortable. The manager was very hospitable and reassuring. We arrived late at night and left early the next morning on a long trip. He gave me a military discount which made it more economical than other motels in the area. I was also pleasantly surprised by a complimentary shaving razor in the bathroom. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Lodge

Address: 520 Railroad Avenue, Rifle, CO 81650 (Formerly Winchester Motel)
Location: United States > Colorado > Rifle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rifle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gateway Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway Lodge located in the heart of Rifle's historic Downtown area features clean, comfortable rooms at affordable rates. Close to shopping, restaurants, cocktail lounges, and a convenience store across the street. Gateway Lodge puts you at the hub of area attractions. Plus you'll enjoy the quality rooms and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Gateway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.