We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In serious need of upgrades!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ridgway-Ouray Lodge & Suites

Save Saved
You added Ridgway-Ouray Lodge & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ridgway-Ouray Lodge & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   373 Palomino Trail, P.O. Box 608, Ridgway, CO 81432   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ridgway
Colorado Springs
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“In serious need of upgrades!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here for the New Year's Eve 2012 weekend and felt compelled to offer a review. First and foremost the staff here are very friendly and have great suggestions for local eateries and attractions, however it does not make up for the lack of upgrades in this hotel. Furniture is largely outdated....80's-90's era? The bedspreads of the 1990's really really need to go and don't provide a clean appearance. Sheets were fresh and clean- a bonus! Matresses are quite awful. 5" inches of firm springy unsettled rest. Looked at these things and they look like ones I used to sleep in the military back in the early 90's. Bathrooms old, outdated aged shower heads, noisy.....fixtures worn, lamps tarnished. Don't know if I would stay here again. Price was decent for the holiday weekend but I would pay a little more for a cleaner, more updated feel. Last but not least...there is a strong smell of Febreze throughout this place that gets old. It's a convenient location to the surrounding attractions but there are better places to stay in Ridgway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    6
    6
    6
See reviews for
13
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Montana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here because there was not a room available at Orvis hot springs, which was the reason for us being in Ridgway.

I tend to pick hotels that have a sauna available. I love a nice hot sauna session right before bed...it really helps a person to sleep good! This sauna was very nice and well maintained. It appears that they have recently updated their heater and there are not any "Do not pour water on the rocks" signs on the door. Instead there is a "Wait 20 minutes for heater to heat up rocks before pouring water on them" sign...and that makes sense. Also, there is a nice area out the back of the pool area that is great for sitting outside on a cold winter night to cool down when ya come out of the sauna.
The hot tub was nice, but the chemicals were out of balance and the water was milky white and foamy. The pool was a nice temperature.
The rooms were pretty standard. It was pretty chilly when we first came in so we turned up the heat before we left the room to go to the hot springs.

Only bad thing I can say about the place is that their wireless internet does not work. There is a signal being emitted from a wireless access point, but that access point does not connect out to the internet. I brought this to the attention of the staff member on duty before we left.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the first floor at the north end of the building. It had the convenience of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Finally, a comfortable and firm mattress in a motel room. The front-desk staff are friendly and helpful. When we checked in, the woman told us about the patio outside of the pool room with great views so we did sit out there after we unpacked. Also, when I called to verify the MapQuest directions about County Road 12, she said, "No, don't bother going that way. Turn by the Conoco gas station at the light." So glad I called first!

Room Tip: One side of the lodge faces the parking lot and the other side faces the highway. If you are sensit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel. We only stayed one night. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The help-yourself breakfast was basic, but nice. Loved the raisin bread! The hotel is dog-friendly which will help out in the future. We enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub. The views can't be beat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for eight nights as we were hiking and off roading in the area . Our room had a fridge, microwave , coffee pot, free wifi and table and chairs.Breakfast was included and there were washers and dryers available for guest use. The location was very convient and the room was kept spotless by the cleaning staff .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here on my way back to Texas. I was thrilled with what this place had to offer being as Ridgway is not a big town. Seriously, after reading some of the other reviews I was a bit shocked at the complaints. No, it is not the Hilton, but for a town that size it was great. The room was very clean, big enough and the view was breathtaking. I don't know of many places this small that offer an indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. Being from Texas, I was pleased to meet the receptionist that was a fellow Texan, that said she had mved to the area several years ago. She was so friendly, not just to me, but I noticed she sincerely wanted every guest to have the best stay possible. Great hospitality! In fact, all the employees were very friendly an nice. I will stay there again iif possible and say forget the negative comments.....this place is GREAT!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, NM
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Nice place overall. Has the feel of a Super 8 motel. The rooms are pretty standard with a coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, and TV. The beds are standard innerspring and are reasonably comfortable. The pillows are so/so, and I'm glad I brought ours this time. The TV is non HD, but has a great selection of channels and the picture is fine. The room is quiet even with the proximity to 550. The swimming pool, hot tub, and sauna are all indoors and looked to be clean, although we didn't use them. They are pet friendly and have a nominal charge for the pets. The staff was very accomodating to our check in without a reservation and we really appreciated everything she did for us. We would stay here again, and we really recommend Ridgway as a destination.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ridgway-Ouray Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgway-Ouray Lodge & Suites

Address: 373 Palomino Trail, P.O. Box 608, Ridgway, CO 81432
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ridgway
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ridgway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ridgway-Ouray Lodge & Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ridgway-Ouray Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridgway-Ouray Hotel Ridgway
Ridgway-Ouray Lodge And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ridgway-Ouray Lodge & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.