We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Simple” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ridgway-Ouray Lodge & Suites

Save Saved
You added Ridgway-Ouray Lodge & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ridgway-Ouray Lodge & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   373 Palomino Trail, P.O. Box 608, Ridgway, CO 81432   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ridgway
Rio Rancho, NM
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice and Simple”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Nice place overall. Has the feel of a Super 8 motel. The rooms are pretty standard with a coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, and TV. The beds are standard innerspring and are reasonably comfortable. The pillows are so/so, and I'm glad I brought ours this time. The TV is non HD, but has a great selection of channels and the picture is fine. The room is quiet even with the proximity to 550. The swimming pool, hot tub, and sauna are all indoors and looked to be clean, although we didn't use them. They are pet friendly and have a nominal charge for the pets. The staff was very accomodating to our check in without a reservation and we really appreciated everything she did for us. We would stay here again, and we really recommend Ridgway as a destination.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    6
    6
    6
See reviews for
14
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

One look at this lodge's location brought a smile to our faces as it is set in a scenic valley that is surrounded by mountains. Our suite faced the highway but we never heard a sound from passing vehicles and found the evergreen trees outside the windows helpful in shielding us from noise while offering a pleasant view when the curtains were opened. The second floor was very quiet and it was easy to bring luggage upstairs despite the lack of an elevator. The morning complimentary breakfast is lacking but is a nice touch that one doesn't always expect at private motels. There aren't many exciting eating places in Ridgway but several good restaurants exist in nearby Ouray, about a 10 minute drive. You definitely want to visit Ouray for its shops, restaurants, and hot springs pool. The little narrow gauge railway museum in Ridgway is worth a visit (it's free). Ridgway is a good overnight stop due to its proximity to Black Canyon of the Gunniston Nat'l Park, Ouray, Durango, and Silverton.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Overpriced for such very basic accommodations. Needs to be updated for sure. Clean and quiet. Plenty of parking. Friendly staff. No elevator. No luggage carts. Good location for access to Ouray and off-roading trails. We could not get the sauna to work. We love this area of CO but it is lacking in good choices for accomodations.

Room Tip: Anyone with difficulty climbing stairs needs to make sure they can book you a room on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, North Carolina
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Facility was showing it age, the room was in need of an upgrade and refurbishment. Carpet was worn, bathroom really needed a face lift. Front desk staff on check-in was rather curt. I would not stay here again, but if you are on a tight budget it would do.

Room Tip: No elevator so if you have heavy luggae stay on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stopped here for just one night on a three week road trip through the west. We arrived after a 7 hour drive and two nights of tent camping with no showers. The woman at the front desk was WONDERFUL!!! She gave us a room right next to the laundry facilities, helped with supper recommendations, and lots of other extras that these road-weary travelers really appreciated! I was worried that since the price was so low it would be a "dive" but was very pleased that this was a nice, clean, friendly place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THORNTON
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our 5 year old loved the indoor pool and hot tub. We got a room with one king size bed and were told our daughter could sleep in her sleeping bag on the floor (which she was thrilled about), but there was barely enough room for her on the floor so it got pretty crowded. Other than that, everything was very nice there. And it is not too far from Ouray, Box Canyon, Telluride, Montrose, Silverton, or the Ridgway state park. It made for a nice central location for going to all these places.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. If you have any trouble with stairs be sure to request a room on the first le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We decided to take a mini-vacation and travel to the Ouray-Telluride area. My wife booked this hotel and we weren't sure what to expect. It turned out to be a great hotel! Pool, whirlpool, sauna, what more do you want? It was the end of March so noone was there. The rooms were well apointed and clean.The desk clerk showed me some rooms they were renovating, ours was the old design and I thought it was fine. They also served some high quality bread at breakfast. The front desk was also friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we will chose it again if in the area.

Room Tip: There is probably not a bad room in the place. One set of rooms faces the road the other side the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ridgway-Ouray Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgway-Ouray Lodge & Suites

Address: 373 Palomino Trail, P.O. Box 608, Ridgway, CO 81432
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ridgway
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ridgway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ridgway-Ouray Lodge & Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ridgway-Ouray Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridgway-Ouray Hotel Ridgway
Ridgway-Ouray Lodge And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ridgway-Ouray Lodge & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.