We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good character and food's not bad either!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of True Grit Cafe

True Grit Cafe
123 N Lena Street, Ridgway, CO 81432
+1 970-626-5739
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 19 Restaurants in Ridgway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $27
Cuisines: Southwestern, Vegetarian, Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Howdy folks! Welcome to the True Grit Cafe Established in 1985, the "Grit" as it is known has been serving hungry tourists and locals for over 25 years. We offer excellent and tasty 'Cowboy Cuisine' in a comfortable western environment with a friendly staff that will make you feel like you're part of the Grit Family. We take a lot of pride in our homemade fare including the best dang chicken fried steak this side of the Rocky Mountains. Other menu specialties include hand-pattied burgers, mouth watering Tex-Mex Specialties, juicy steaks, house made meatloaf, fresh tempura battered mahi mahi fish and chips, sandwiches and gourmet salads. For the vegetarians we offer lots of tasty choices. We are also gluten-free friendly. Our wide selection of liquors, beer and wine give you a great place to gather round with the locals and visitors alike. We have two full bars, one on the main floor and one upstairs, around which locals and visitors gather to chat or share experiences in the beautiful San Juan Mountains. Our remodeled upstairs with its large private booths will accommodate from two to fourteen people, and don't forget the deck overlooking our beautiful park. The True Grit Cafe was built to honor the filming of the academy award winning movie "True Grit" starring John Wayne. Come sit on the deck and look out at the beautiful background you'll see throughout the movie. Oh, and you'll see a lot of pictures of the great star's film legacy all around.
Moab, Utah
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good character and food's not bad either!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Fun, unpretentious gathering place. Good ambiance and service. It can get crowded and loud, but there's always a smile and a helping hand. Food is predictable and consistent, which is good. Something for everyone, and a vegetarian friend always chooses to eat here when she's in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    74
    22
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Immediately felt welcomed !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stopped in to grab a bite to eat and felt immediately welcomed, by Pam. What a fantastic bartender/waitress! She made sure we were taken care of the whole 3 hours we were there sipping wine and having a bite to eat. We happened to sit at the bar as it was a full house when we walked in. It was amazing watching Pam and the wait staff acknowledge every person who walked in and get them immediately seated. The tacos were fantastic and others were raving about the homemade tomales. True Grit's regulars were well behaved and engaged in conversations with us as well. We'll definitely stop in here again, especially after being completely ignored at the Colorado Boy Brewery when we walked in there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Original place from original movie True Grit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

For "True Grit" enthusiast, saddle up you're horse and head to the True Grit cafe in Ridgway,CO...from the original motion picture, there is numerous John Wayne memories here. They were busy but the food was hot when it arrived, service was super and every body was friendly! We enjoyed it so much, we came back the next day and checked out their gift shop. The menu is a wide display of food and can't go wrong with whatever you choose! We ordered sandwiches but it seemed everyone was enjoying what they ordered and how they ordered their food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
508 reviews 508 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
646 helpful votes 646 helpful votes
“Pleasant and fun place for a meal and the food was good also”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

It was sort of mid afternoon when we drove through Ridgway. A couple of years ago we had breakfast at Kate's place. This time we stopped at the True Grit cafe. It was too late for lunch and too early for supper so we expected the place to be rather empty. That was not the case at all although there were a couple of free tables available downstairs and I assumed the upstairs was not very full. John Wayne was omnipresent with movie posters and photos. No matter where you looked there was John Wayne who spent some time here during the filming of True Grit years ago. The wait staff woman was peppy and we ordered. The four of us had four different items and they were all good. No complaints on the food at all. Meals were normal prices- not expensive but not cheap either.
It was an attractive place with two floors and a bar near the entrance. It sure seemed to be a popular place. Did I mention that John Wayne was featured in the decor? Fun place with good eats. My wife was intrigued by the place since she taught the western novel True Grit for several years to her 8th grade English classes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Love the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

It was a busy night for them, but they got us in and the food was awesome. They had John Wayne decor based on the movie. The service was great even though they were super busy. I will go back when we get there again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed True Grit Cafe also viewed

 

Been to True Grit Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage True Grit Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.