We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hot springs around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orvis Hot Springs

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ridgway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orvis Hot Springs
1585 County Road 3, Ridgway, CO 81432   |  
Hotel amenities
Eckert, Colorado
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best hot springs around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I cannot speak for the lodge rooms, as I have not stayed In them. I can say that the spring pools are great. There are several pools and a different feel to each one. The large pond is great . About 3 to 4 ft deep . Nice and hot. I personally love the lobster pot. This pool is hot hot and small , you cant stay in there to long before you have to jump out to cool off. The people have always been great and never had any weird vibes from anyone, as this is a clothing optional place. Yes there are naked people here, they don't bother anyone and the soaking is superb .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    4
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solo/Budget Traveler from Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

There is just something magical about crawling out of a tent with a light layer of frost on it, and stepping into a beautifully landscaped hot springs in the early morning to enjoy that first cup of complimentary morning coffee while the steam rises up and directs your view to the nearby gorgeous mountains...

As an overnight camping guest at the hot springs, I really looked forward to this ritual during the duration of our stay. The early morning soaks with hardly anyone else on the grounds, and also the late night soaks after the day guests had already left were absolutely wonderful. Camping accommodations are a bit rough- we didn't reserve in advance, and got the end spot without a campfire ring, which was the only one left, but the wooden tent platform helped with comfort and provided good tie-down stabilization. The communal kitchen is a nice amenity, although we didn't make much use of it, having found an excellent Thai restaurant not too far away. The shower and locker facilities are quite adequate, and maintained with much more care and cleanliness than other hot springs I've visited.

The hot springs are clothing optional, and it was about a 50/50 mix of nude and clothed guests while we were there. As a newbie to clothing-optional soaking, I never once felt uncomfortable while on the grounds- other guests and staff were very respectful, and the one guest who was acting somewhat inappropriately in a pool area was promptly, and quietly, removed by staff. Sauna facilities were also greatly appreciated by this Finnish-American girl.

Orvis Hot Springs was overall a fantastic relaxation getaway. Since the trip ended, I've been thinking constantly about a return trip, and I can only hope that I'll be able to return soon to both this wonderful property and also the nearby towns of Ridgway and beautiful, beautiful Ouray.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

The natural hot springs pools are wonderful, especially the large one. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and well lit at night, when the big pool is perfect for watching the stars.
The property is on the edge of the town surrounded by a large fence. The room I stayed in was nice, but overpriced for having a bathroom down the hall. The campground was just a parking lot.
I enjoyed the soaking but found Orvis not quite as friendly as other similar hot springs and be prepared for some wacky rules, including a ban on reading books on the grounds if you have a Kindle or other book reader.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

based on recommendations from fellow travelers and viewing the website i had high expectations. they were not only met but exceeded. the Antique room was very comfortable and the grounds and pools lush. the staff was over the top in service. probably the most fascinating thing was being able to stay after checkout until 10p.m. it's like a free day. the staff member i commented to about that said we want you to get your moneys worth for staying with us. wow! this stop was part of a greater road trip. my next one will be as a destination even though i live in SE Arizona!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Dakota
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had a great stay. Really enjoyed the pools and the well manicured garden, especially during the times when they were closed to the general public. We were in the Americana room and found it clean and comfortable, with thick robes, fluffy towels and a great bed that passed the bedbug inspection. The window fan cooled the room adequately and we slept well. The two bathrooms in the hall (with showers) worked for us--never an issue or a wait, and we didn't find any mold. No sink in the Americana, but it did have a fridge and a large water bottle with a dispenser. My wife (the ultimate cat person) was thrilled with the visits from the resident kittens, Wayne and Garth. There is a community kitchen that was well maintained and had some ice available--enough for a drink or two, not to fill a cooler. We made the short drive to town for dinner.

Checkout time is 11:00 AM, but we were allowed to use the pools for the rest of the day, along with the robes and towels. Before leaving we used the shower rooms on the lower level and found them very acceptable. My wife liked the large counter area in the women's shower and the provided hair dryer. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This review is for the hot springs only, as we didn't stay in the lodging. I have never experienced such a relaxing pool - must be the lithium, completely soaks any aches and pains away and lifts the mood. There are a variety of pools to choose from (indoor, outdoor and two private tubs) and the gardens around the pool are gorgeous to sit around and cool off, with a view of the mountains. The Lobster Pot is the hottest pool and no-one managed to stay in there too long that I could see! We went in May when the weather was still fairly cool, but the springs were perfect temperature and it wasn't crowded at that time.

The staff are friendly and helpful and the day rate was reasonable. We used the massage services as well, which they have in the large tents (yurts) next to the pools. They yurts were cozy and quiet and the quality of the massage was superb.

We stopped here originally by chance as we were in the area and ended up going every day we were there. Very enjoyable, especially after hiking and travel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Orvis Hot Springs is in a beautiful location just at the edge of Ridgway. The largest outdoor soaking area, called “The Pond”, is fantastic and has a private, intimate feel despite its size. The other pools are okay, but not as noteworthy.

However, this review is not for the ponds, but for the lodging. My husband and I stayed in the Iron Room for two nights last year in early September. The best perk for staying at Orvis Hot Springs – either at one of the camp spots or in one of the “B&B style” rooms – is 24 hr access to the hot springs, and I have to say, the 3 am skinny dip on a clear night in “The Pond” was worth the one-time stay. Our experience, though, was soured by the accommodations. The room we stayed in had no air conditioning – only a very noisy floor fan – and was uncomfortably hot. Even with the window and skylight open, the room did not cool down until dawn. (The outside temperature at night was in the low 50s.) The pillows were skimpy and thin. Neither of us slept well. The wood paneling in the two communal bathrooms and indoor soaking tubs was covered in black mold/mildew. After noticing it, neither of us desired to spend much time in those rooms, opting not to shower the second day. By 7 am after our second night, we were ready to leave, enough so that we forewent any morning soaks in the hot springs despite having access to them for the remainder of the day.

Barring a renovation of the bathrooms and the addition of air conditioning in the rooms, our stay at Orvis will likely remain an one-time experience, but honestly I don’t know of too many other places where you can have immediate, near-private overnight access to hot springs. I certainly don’t know of any other hot springs resort (in Colorado) where clothing is optional during the day. So if you are unfazed by mold, can sleep in hot/humid conditions (maybe tent camping is a better option for late spring/summer/early fall?), and are enamored by the idea of watching the stars while you float on your back, naked, in a 4-5 ft deep hot springs pool, then give Orvis Hot Springs’s lodging try. Otherwise, it is worth a day visit.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orvis Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orvis Hot Springs

Also Known As:
Orvis Hot Springs Hotel Ridgway
Orvis Hot Springs Hotel
Address: 1585 County Road 3, Ridgway, CO 81432
Location: United States > Colorado > Ridgway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty lodging in Ridgway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orvis Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Orvis Hot Springs to your Saves list