We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy & Many Maintenance Problems” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Clarion Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Inn & Conference Center
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4001 N. Elizabeth, Pueblo, CO 81008 (Formerly Pueblo Inn and Conference Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 25 hotels in Pueblo
Colorado
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Filthy & Many Maintenance Problems”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Yes the hotel is dated, but that can be forgiven. It was the filth & maintenance problems that were inexcusable.

* Room door broken. Couldn't get it open even after repeated attempts. Walked all the way back to front desk. The desk clerk came back with me and showed me their "trick" to open it. After inserting the card key, you had to repeatedly lift the handle up & down very quickly, put your shoulder into it, and finally kick the the door open... each time. When I pointed out that this was absurd. He shrugged his shoulders, said "It worked, right?" No apologies, no offer for another room, and no timetable the fix the door. He bid me good night and walked back to the desk.

* AC was a joke. It was crazy hot when I finally got into the room. I set AC to 65F. It howled like a vacuum cleaner for about an hour and then itself shut off. Problem was... it was still at least 80F+ in the room. This pattern repeated all night.

* Tried to call front desk, but telephone had no dial town. While investigating problem, I noticed what looked like coffee had been spilled all over the phone. It was filthy and sticky (see other issues below.) Went to front desk again to complain. They said "OK, I'll mark that one down." Again, no apologies, no offer for another room, and no timetable for replacement phone.

* After washing my hands from the phone experience (literally!), I took a more careful look around the room. It was filthy dirty. The housekeeper obviously hadn't cleaned a thing in quite a while. There was a sheen of grime on the table, dresser, and window. The bathroom tiles had scum across them and the grout had mold. There were stains on the floor, walls, and bed covers. Didn't want to touch another thing in the room.

Would NOT stay here again.

Room Tip: Consider bringing your own cleaning solution and rags!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dennisyellowstone, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your comments about the Clarion. I am a little surprized that one of my staff would be so discourteous. I have included my email below if you would be so kind to send me the date and time you checked in so I can take appropriate action and correct the employee involved. Also, I inspect rooms in addition to my housekeeper so I am curious as to what room you stayed in so I can research to find the housekeeper and inspectress involved. I appreciate you taking the time for your comments. We take pride in our operation and have a 95% success rate. I want to insure we stay at that high level.

Again, thank you for your time in responding.

Dennis l. Patrick, GM
dennislpatrick4@msn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    6
    3
    15
See reviews for
19
7
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed here with my wife, three kids and a dog. THey stayed behind while I went to a meeting. The check-in was fine, but my agent said that he pre-paid and they had no record of that. They charged extra for the dog and a roll-away bed so in the end the room was more expensive than I expected. The rooms look like old motel rooms with doors to the parking lot. This was fine with me since we could take the dog in and out without going through the hallways. Strangely, the doors to the outside didn't open up with the key, so you could really only use them to go out unless you propped them open. It was very hot the day we were there and the AC struggled to keep the room cool. The room itself was clean, but standard motel variety with a small bathroom. My kids used the pool while I was away. It was large, but despite the 100 degree temps outside the pool was so cold that they couldn't use it and the hot tub was too hot for them. For travellers with dogs, they have a 'dog walk' which was a 20 foot area on the side of the curb (not fenced in) with a plastic fire hydrant. The breakfast the next morning was in a relatively spacious dining room but really only had eggs, bacon, and cereal. It was OK, but nothing to write home about. This place was fine for travelling on a budget, but maybe a bit expensive for what it offers. There are many restarants close and a K-Mart across the street. Internet was included.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dennisyellowstone, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments about the Clarion Inn. We apologize for the confusion of the prepayment. Sometimes, unfortunately, wether it is though agents or 3rd party websites, information can be left out. I assume the problem was rectified. We do advertise we are pet friendly and the extra charge is normal with most hotels. I verified the pool temperature and we raised the thermostat. We have recenly replaced the thermostat to avoid any future issues with temperature. I have personally addressed the other comments. We do carry a full hot breakfast, it may have been a time where they were in progress of replacing empty pans. Our mistake for not making the transition quicker.

Thank you again for your visit and comments.

Dennis L. Patrick, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

We had our Class reunion at the Clarion Inn. Dennis and his crew were wonderful! We had more people than we expected show up and the staff were wonderful and accommodating! We had our reunion here as it was a one stop shop. Dennis and Wade along with the staff are awesome!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dennisyellowstone, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
I also had a great time pulling off this reunion. Your planning committee was one of the best I have worked with in 32 years. It was 8 months of planning, emails and visits. It was well worth the fun. I was glad I could accommodate the "extras" that wanted to stay that evening. My staff enjoyed the group as.

It was sure fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Dennis L. Patrick, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camphill
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I try to look at the good parts of the hotels we stay at. My husband travels a lot, so we are are Corporate lodgers. I think the hotel considers us as second class. The best part of this hotel was the bed. We were there for almost 2 weeks, we couldn't get breakfast, because we are corp. lodgers. We were suppose to get a room with a micro-fridge, they said they didn't have any rooms available, to check back. I did check back, someone told me to talk to the housekeeper. They couldn't help us, finally they said they could move us to a room upstairs, instead of putting one in the room. By that time we, had 4 days left. So I said forget it. We went out 1 night and locked the inside door and went out the door to the parking lot, we couldn't get back in. they had to come and open inside door. They said lock needed batteries changed, it did not get changed while we were there. Most of the girls were not friendly, when they know you are under corp. lodging. But like I said the bed was the best thing about our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a king bed. They are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dennisyellowstone, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Please do think that we treat corporate lodgers as second class. The contact set up by your corporate office is designed to save as much money for the company. We are obligated to furnish a "room" basically. However, we go far beyond that with rooms that are far superior than the others offered in town. Breakfast is not part of the contract, however, a large hot buffet breakfast is readily available for only $5.00. considering hot eggs, bacon, hash brown, fruit, etc., it's the best bargain in town for breakfast. All of the corporate lodgers I have talked with are pleased with the rooms, large indoor swimming, hot tub, etc. On your next visit to pueblo, please look at what the 2 other corp lodge accepted hotels offer. I believe you will be amazed at the quality we offer. Refridgerators are availabe on request if available. Eventually, all rooms will have refridgerators and microwaves. Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to serving you again.

Dennis L. Patrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

We got a very good walk-in rate. Room was okay, although air conditioner was noisy. Okay bed and bedding. Reasonably good lower level chain hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dennisyellowstone, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for your response. Some of the rooms still have the older A/C units. We have gradually replaced them as we purchase new ones. We thank you for visiting us and look forward for when you pass through again. Again, thank you for taking time to write a note on Trip Advisor.

Dennis l. Patrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is my second stay at the Clarion and I was not disappointed. I always seem to have a wonderful time here with the friendly staff, efficient service and very clean rooms. Enjoyed my evening in the lounge with the great dj. Great drinks, good food, good times. I am ready to return for a third time in the near future and bring some of my friends. I would highly reccommend the inn to all of my friends and family. It is a very nice inn.

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool view are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dennisyellowstone, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for your return visit. We strive hard to insure a pleasant and relaxing stay. I am pleased that everything was to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I normally don't bother to write reviews of low-cost chain motels. They are low cost for a reason and there's no point in harshing on them for the exact values they offer. My experience staying at the Clarion for the past 3 days is worthy of comment however, because of the hotel staff's downright hostility.

First of all, it should be noted that the Clarion raised their rates to take advantage of a major sporting event that filled every hotel room in town. $150 a night is no bargain for a place that doesn't even have an elevator to get to a 2nd floor room.

The fun started when my traveling companion and I met in the bar. The drinks we ordered were poured with the least amount of alcohol I've ever seen. Using no measuring device of any kind, the bartender trickled a few drops of gin into my glass while simultaneously blasting a large quantity of tonic from the squirt gun to fill the glass. Same story for my companion, who received a 7&7 so weak it didn't show a hint of color. Trying to avoid a scene, I asked the bartender to use a jigger for the second round, which prompted her to launch into a tirade, then turn her back and refuse to speak to me. I was upset enough to file a complaint with the manager the next morning. She explained that the bartender was really a front desk person who was filling in, and that the lack of alcohol was on the direct orders of the bar manager! A couple of free drink coupons resolved the matter to my satisfaction, but if you patronize the bar I'd suggest ordering a bottled beer since by official policy mixed drinks are treated as an opportunity for extra profit.

Last night, returning to the hotel after a hot sweaty day of work, I discovered my room hadn't been serviced. I called down to the front desk, hoping to get clean towels, but got put on hold for at least 4 minutes before I gave up. I then marched down to the front desk to find the clerk outside smoking a cigarette. She said there wasn't anyone who could service my room and offered me a squirt bottle of pink fluid. I explained I wasn't interested in cleaning the toilet, just getting clean towels.

Since this was my first trip ever to Pueblo it probably won't be too hard to avoid the unpleasantness of the Clarion Inn in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dennisyellowstone, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
I apologize on behalf of the staff if you felt you did not receive the level of service we strive for. You may have misinterpreted a few things or perhaps we failed to explain correctly. The bartender the night you were in the bar was fillng in for a regular bartender who had a family member pass away. All bartenders have been instructed as to the correct amount to serve when making a cocktai which is usually 1 and a quarter short per drink which is above normal standards. We do not shorten the quality of beverages for an increased profit. This is one of the reasons our lounge stays busy. The lack of room being service or the desk person handing you fluid to clean has been approached by myself with the employees involved. We have a "runner" each night to handle such issues if they were to arise. I am receiving a story a little different but we obviously failed to satisfy your needs and again I apologize on behalf of the staff. The rates for the hotels in Pueblo is usually dictated by supply and demand. Rates were negotiated for many of the groups that had made reservations for their stay in advance.

Again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to serving you again.

Dennis L. Patrick
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Conference Center

Address: 4001 N. Elizabeth, Pueblo, CO 81008 (Formerly Pueblo Inn and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Pueblo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 hotels in Pueblo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn & Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn(R) hotel is located at the intersection of Interstate 25 and U.S. Highway 50, offering easy access to a variety of Pueblo and Southern Colorado locations and attractions including: Colorado State University-Pueblo, the Historic Arkansas Riverwalk of Pueblo, Lake Pueblo State Park, Pueblo Convention Center, the Colorado State Fair Grounds, Pueblo Industrial Park, Pueblo Motorsports Park, Royal Gorge,and Bent's Fort in La Junta and the internationally known Chile and Frijole Festival held every September.The Colorado Springs Airport is a short 30-minute drive, and the Pueblo Airport is a ten minute drive and offers daily shuttle flights to Denver International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located nearby to several national chain and local restaurants, as well as an onsite restaurant.Meeting room space is available for small and large events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Clarion Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Conference Center
Clarion Hotel Pueblo
Clarion Pueblo
Pueblo Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;