We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Weisbrod Aircraft Museum

Pueblo Weisbrod Aircraft Museum
31001 Magnuson Ave., Pueblo, CO 81001
719-948-9219
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Attractions in Pueblo
Type: Military Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We got a personalized tour from "Mac" who really catered to my kids' ages and interests. This museum is FREE for 4 kids or less in a family who are under age 10 - awesome for my large but young-aged family! Excellent museum, knowledgeable and kind staff.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    15
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Top notch day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have been to the Smithsonian air and space museum several times. The Weisbrod holds a wealth of satisfaction for aeronautical buffs without the hectic environment of Washington D.C. The pace is casual and the on scene volunteers are knowledgeable about all of the exhibits from airplanes to historic uniforms. Most of the exhibits are indoors. The small entry fee is worthhile and helps maintain the exhibits.. A gift shop gave me the opportunity to take home some memorable souvernirs.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Museum for small city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Plan to take a guided tour. These gentleman are so knowledgeable and fun. Gvreat colkection of aircraft and an outstanding science lab for students. Dont miiss this attraction if you love planes and bistory.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Hidden treasures and well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Was a bit dissapointed with the air museum in Denver so drove on the same day to Pueblo, some two hours South of Denver. This place was completely run by volunteers of which many had seen some action with the USAF or were simply enchanted by planes and flying in general. One volunteer spontaneously offered me a tour in the museum which I gladly accepted. Amongst the planes presented indoors and outdoors, I spotted some real gems. As a regular visitor to air museums worldwide, I was surprised at some hidden treasures that were on display like the B-39, the B-47 Stratojet, the Grumman Cougar, the Lockheed shooting star and the RA-c Vigilante to mention a few. I fully enjoyed my guide's stories, the maquettes and the aircraft, of which several even could be entered.
The small fee that I paid for some two hours of enchantment were the best that I had spent in days. I can fully recommend this aircraft museum to anybody interested!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Excellent Air Museum in Southern Colorado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Pueblo Weisbrod Aircraft Museum is located six miles east of Pueblo, Colorado on U.S. Highway 50 at Pueblo Memorial Airport.

The museum is managed by the Pueblo Historical Aircraft Society for the City of Pueblo. The start of the museum can be traced back to 1972 when Pueblo City manager Fred Weisbrod began collecting vintage airplanes at the municipal airport.

The museum's collection includes about 30 vintage aircraft, displayed outside and in the museum's two large indoor hangars.

The museum also features a number of display of military uniforms of the era, arms and other relics of American Wars. It also includes a scale model of the Memorial Airport as it looked during wartime operations.

The first hangar was constructed in 2001, large enough for half the aircraft collection. The old museum space was converted to a theater, library and offices. The library currently includes over 6,000 volumes and 1,500 videos. Four years later a new gift-shop was added, and in 2010 a second hangar was constructed.

Be sure to visit the International B-24 Memorial Museum located in the first hangar, and view its extensive collection of memorabilia and information on all Bomb Groups and Air Forces which utilized the B-24 in combat operations.

The museum's collection is extensive and displays restored World War II, Korean War, and Cold War era aircraft.

The time-consuming restoration of aircraft is also done by volunteers. Their work is seen in the incredible restorations of many of the aircraft on display, such as the F-100 Super Sabre, B-29, C-131A, F-86D, F-84 Thunderjet, F-104 Starfighter, T-37 Tweet and others. More aircraft are lined up for future restoration, such as the B-47 Stratojet on display outside.

We highly recommend a visit to the museum for aviation enthusiasts, and anyone with an interest in vintage aircraft and Colorado aviation history. You'll be welcomed, and treated well, as we were during our recent visit!

The Flight Gift Shop is conveniently located onsite.

Parking is free, and a small admission fee is charged.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pueblo Weisbrod Aircraft Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Weisbrod Aircraft Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.