We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised visit! This was neat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nature & Raptor Center of Pueblo

The Nature & Raptor Center of Pueblo
5200 Nature Center Rd., Pueblo, CO 81003
719-549-2443
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 27 things to do in Pueblo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This recreation and education center offers many outdoor activities as well as animal exhibits.
Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprised visit! This was neat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Not a very large place, but the birds of prey on display were hard to beat. Close up viewing (a few feet) through screened hardware cloth made viewing enjoyable. Don't miss this place...a must see. And it's FREE!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good inexpensive outing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

On vacation in Colo Springs and went to Pueblo looking for something to do. Decided it was too hot for the zoo so we ended up at the Nature & Raptor center. The Raptor center was small but interesting. Among other things they had some eagles and owls either permanently injured or being rehabbed. We went during the week so there was nothing special going on and no one around to "educate" us. It took us about 10 minutes to walk through and look so we headed down to the nature center. There was a play ground and a pavillion. The pavillion was being used and my kids are too old for the playground so the only thing left to do was eat at the grill. Coyote Grill was okay. Burgers are probably the best deal on their menu and their curly fries are not fries but they're good. They're homemade curly chips. It was too hot to head down the nature trail so after lunch we left. Maybe during cooler weather there would have been more to do and it would have been more fun but for the most part, it was just a 10 minute raptor viewing and a place to eat. Raptor center was free (donations) and it was $3 to park at the nature center so, not a waste of money to check it out.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Raptor Facility makes it worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

You drive up to the Raptor Facility first. It's free, simple, and has some beautiful specimens. We did not attend one of their weekend shows, but they do educational presentations on the birds. A volunteer helped us to find some of the birds that were hiding as well as tell us some of the personality quirks of the birds. They are birds that cannot be released to the wild.

After that, my husband and I were not very impressed with the Nature Center. It was basically a park area with a trail and a restaurant. The memorial garden is still being set up for the spring. We didn't learn of any of the activities for the weekend until I saw a flyer in the bathroom as we were leaving. The information center/gift shop workers didn't greet us or inform us.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado USA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Wonderful place for walking, running or rding along the Arkansas River.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Relax, bike, fish, bird watch, walk, play...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

The Nature Center is a gem..there is so much happening there. Besides the restaurant, there's a playground for kids, paved trails to bike or walk on, a deck for fishing, and picnic benches all situated next to the river. It's a great place to be!
The Raptor Center is equally interesting. Kids will love spotting the birds in the outdoor area. A friendly guide told us about each bird and why it was rescued.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nature & Raptor Center of Pueblo also viewed

 

Been to The Nature & Raptor Center of Pueblo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nature & Raptor Center of Pueblo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.